We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A difficult one to summarise but not good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #134 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A difficult one to summarise but not good enough”
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

I am doing this review in detail because I see that the management of the resort puts comments on each review and I want to make sure this is honest and fair.
The bad news. This place is not really in south beach. It is about a mile north of the real centre of south beach. There are very few shops or restaurants in the vicinity. We had a difficult job finding it because of that. The apartments are very "tired" and ours smelled a bit. The carpets are very old and not good to look at. The apartment had not been painted for years and the appliances and furniture were all old. Having said that they did all work. The corridors and stairwells are not in good shape. The pool is tiny. We did not even go in it.
For time share accommodation the quality is sub standard. I am glad I am not a member at Westgate if this is what their resorts are like.
It is a shame because the building could be nice if they spent some money on it.
The good news. It is next to the board walk which is great. The board walk is beautiful and a great place to run or walk and a great way to get to south beach. The other really nice feature of the resort was the garden which is lovely with cabanas and hammocks as well as sun beds. Parking was ok. $10 per day but it is right next door.
My summary would be that there are much better places to stay in the area and closer to south beach. If they refurbished the apartments it could be a good resort.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipJepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your review of our property, Westgate South Beach. You’re correct; we’re not in South Beach, just two miles north. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Our resort is currently undergoing several renovations. We do have in perspective, this year, to complete a carpet exchange, and a new color concept to all our units. Also, we’re installing new appliances. We do appreciate, very much, your kind words describing our garden as “lovely“. We certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you in the future. We truly appreciate your “honest and fair” comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    98
    58
    32
    28
See reviews for
143
82
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Nice little resort right in the middle of South Beach. All you need for the family vacation is right there: pool, playground, beach, etc. Building is old but they are maintaining it well and doing lots of renovations right now. The stuff is friendly and helpful. Pool was cold (it was not really a "heated" pool as advertised, and the ocean was much warmer in the beginning, but the pool warmed up at the end of the week).
AC in the room didn't work but was fixed fast (and broke again on the very last day). Bed and furniture are good and bathroom is spacious. The kitchen has everything you need. Mini-market on site is very helpful. Parking is right next to the resort. We had a good time, and may come back again at some point.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for your review of our resort. Our apartment style units provide everything needed for a family of 4 or 6 to vacation at South Beach. We are always improving our building and adding new amenities, for example, we are currently adding new pool lounge chairs, private cabanas, new summer kitchen (New grills and fire place), and we are also adding a new fire pit. I would also like to apologize about the pool temperature during your stay, we had an issue with our pool heater; and had it fixed right away. Again, thank you for your review of our staff; we love hearing kind words such as yours. We look forward in hosting your vacation again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here for 6 days in early March 2013. On check-in, the front desk did not give us any information regarding services that the resort provided ... we asked for this the next day and received a package. The front desk staff were friendly and rather incompetent. The cleaning staff were hopeless: one day they would take the kitchen trash and not the bathroom trash; the next day they would do the opposite. Finally by day 3, they realized that there were 2 trash cans!! That good service did not last ... by day 5, they weren't removing any trash. Fortunately, they did provide fresh towels daily and there was one day when they actually did a cleaning!! Basically, the rooms are tired and in need of updating. The best thing about this Resort is the location: right on the boardwalk and a 20 minute walk to Lincoln Ave.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuoTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your input of our property. You are correct; our ocean front property is located in the heart of Miami Beach; which is only 2 miles from Lincoln Road. On the other hand I want to be the first to apologize for the service you received during your stay. Our goal is to provide a quality vacation experience that exceeds all expectations, and in your case it looks like we didn’t full-fill your expectations. Our property’s housekeeping service offers fresh towels on a daily basis and one full service cleaning during your week. Unfortunately, since we are a timeshare resort we do not remove the guest trash on a daily basis. Again, I would like to apologize if we didn’t meet your expectations. And hope you would give us the chance to correct our mistakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We are new owners to this property and had read some unfavorable reviews so we were prepared, but it was fine. Our room had not been remodeled yet and some things could have been better but we understood - they are in the middle of a big remodeling project. Beds were fine, flat screen TV’s and ceiling fans in each room, all the appliances worked, even the coffee pot (get your coffee packs from the front desk). We heard little if any construction noise. Slept great except the last night when a cold front came through and the air-conditioning stopped working because is was colder out side than it was inside.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The grounds and pool were in great shape, short walk to the beach and boardwalk. They have a mini-market on site, which has great sandwiches and a breakfast wrap. They also carry beer and wine but if you want the hard stuff you have to walk a few blocks north.

We will not rent a car again when staying here. Parking is $10 per day and the lot is public so you never know if you are going to get a spot or not. When you drive to a restaurant you have to pay for parking there too! Next time we will take a cab/shuttle/limo from the airport and then use public transportation, which is just across the street. We took the bus to just about everywhere we wanted to go, downtown Miami, Lincoln Ave, Ocean Dr and the boat show… $2 per person each way, they also have a daily pass for $5, bring one’s as the bus does make change.

We had a great time and look forward to staying in a remodeled room next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate South Beach and for referring to our staff as “friendly and helpful”. We are glad that your accommodations were great, and that you enjoy our outdoors, and mini market. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we are excited that you are looking forward to your next visit. We’re working very hard to have all the rooms remodeled this year. We can’t wait to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We have a unit at this Resort every 2 years for 1 week that we purchased 10 years ago. As always weather was great with a perfect position to walk along the boardwalk to Starbucks at Ocean Drive, this starts our day well. There seems to have been a change in the front desk team since our last stay, for the better. The building is being renovated and the side is being re-painted, made it look a bit tatty when we parked up on arrival. Every time we stay there is some form of renovation taking place, we see it as good thing. Overall another good experience.

Room Tip: Front unit , second or third floor overlooking the boardwalk. Watch the world go by from your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mywinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate South Beach. We are currently renovating the resort to have a more vibrant look, and to enhance the vacation experience. We’re adding beach tennis as a fun exercise. In addition, we’ll have a fire pit, a fire place, and a snack bar available. Thank you for choosing Westgate South Beach as your vacation destination. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next South Beach vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, ON
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Aside from the expected construction noise, our stay with Westgate went very well. Stayed for a week in early January - had nice weather.
The room was a little tired looking but were told that their room renos were going to be done in a couple of months.
There was construction noise as early as 7am and as late as midnight on some occasions. The walls and windows are paper thin so all things external could be heard; we always heard the people above us moving around at 5am as well as the people next door chatting away.
Upon arrival, our toaster and coffee maker were not working - despite telling staff on several different occasions, they never got fixed/replaced while we stayed there.
Staff was very friendly and cooperative.
Shame that the pool is in the spot it is in - it is almost always shaded.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate South Beach, and thank you for choosing our Resort as you vacation destination. Our oceanfront location makes the resort the ideal place for a Miami South Beach vacation experience. I apologize about the noise, and the lack of response to your requests. Our daily mission is not only to meet guest expectations, but to exceed those expectations. We are undergoing renovations/construction, and yes it needs to be done, but as transparent as possible. I like to thank you for describing our staff as “very friendly and cooperative”. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to be your host in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I've stayed at multiple Westgate properties. This property was clean and under a lot of renovations while I was there. They were updating many of the rooms as well the common areas outside. This was not mentioned during booking but I was only there for a few days so it wasn't a huge issue. The room was clean (which is my biggest thing when traveling). The access to the beach is great! The location is nice in that it's not in the heart of South Beach bars, but not out of South Beach atmosphere either.

All together, I'd stay there again minus the construction.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms! I peeked into one as they were finishing up and they looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEW_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate South Beach. Our beachside location and spacious accommodations make our resort the ideal place for a Miami South Beach vacation. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority, so we appreciate your kind words describing our “clean rooms”. We’re working very hard, and trying to be as transparent as possible, during the renovation period. Our property is going to be awesome once it's completed. Thank you for choosing Westgate South Beach. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to exceeding your expectations again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Miami Beach
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#104 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
#91 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#7 of 208 in Miami Beach
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort

Property: Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Address: 3611 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4009
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#66 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort in beautiful Miami Beach, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home along with abundant onsite amenities, including beach access and a heated outdoor pool - all within minutes of South Florida attractions and walking distance to many area restaurants and specialty shops. Westgate South Beach offers something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate South Beach Miami
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing