We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok...just...ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #133 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok...just...ok”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

First trip to Miami Beach, I would have to agree with the previous reviews, the "resort" is not really close to south beach so they should really change their name to Westgate Miami Beach, also the afternoon receptionist dude was so inept and lazy, every time I came down I had to wait for him to come out from the back, he had to ask me the same question multiple times like he wasn't listening to me, and when I came down for towels he informed me that I would have to deal with housekeeping in the morning , which is not very good for customer service, secondly they nickel and dime you on everything, they have chairs on the beach with their logo on them but apperantly its a rental company which charges you to use them, can the "resort" not afford some chairs and offer them to their guests? They offer a buffet foe tours which is great but people who are spraying there have to pay for a hotdog, really?. They are attempting to fix up the run down place which is great, the outdoor place is very nice but two things to say about that, if you are doing construction work be considerate of your guests and tell them ahead of time, construction workers really don't care if you are laying out so I'm not surprised about that. And they really need to remove that nasty carpet everywhere and use tile, its easier to clean and it looks better. Oh and lastly they have a "manager" there that drives an infinity g35 or g37 grey coupe, and he really enjoys parking on the handicap spot next to resort , when I saw that I felt diagusted , not only was he rude, he never greeted us, he never asked if we were doing well, he just stared at my wife when we were around the "resort", but he abuses the system and parks his car in handicap spot and those poor people have to find another place. This place could be a great place to stay if they got rid of their incompetent employees and not nickel and dime every little thing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imreallypicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. All of our staff is there to provide you with a customer service experience unlike any other. The experience that you have shared in your review falls far below the standards that we have set for our staff to follow. We sincerely thank you for bringing this to our attention. Your comment will be shared with the appropriate resort management. We hope that the experience that you had with these particular team members will not keep you from staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    98
    58
    32
    28
See reviews for
143
82
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was our 8th trip to the WestGate.And we were pleasantly surprised with all the upgrades in furniture outdoors.There are beautiful new White Cabanas with Curtains,new loungers, a fire pit.We had a 2 bedroom this time and the whole family enjoyed.The location is unmatched.The new coat of paint outside and the upgraded front desk give it a nice upscale look.The buildings around are under construction and will make the area really sparkle.

Room Tip: Always ask for ocean front or ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavlina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
We love that your family had a great experience with us at Westgate South Beach! We are thrilled you noticed all the hard work we put into the resort, we are here to WOW you! We hope that you will continue to stay with us year after year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

On arrival, two things are immediately apparent. Firstly, it is not located in South Beach, and secondly, the staff is not very personable.

Unfortunately it doesn't get any better. The building is old and unimproved, the hallways are dark and dingy. I understand the Art Deco culture but the fresh coat of paint on the outside does nothing on the inside.

Although there is an attempt to maintain the room neatly, the grimy carpet, sloppy bathroom with the few shelves sloping towards the floor so it pointless to place any items on them cancel any effort. The mirrors are oxidized from years of water splashes and humidity. But the worst thing is taking a shower.

Water temperature and pressure are unpredictable and as the water drains away the most disgusting odor overtakes the entire room. The 4th time we reported this problem, we were finally moved across the hallway to another room.

This one had its own problems too. The smoke detector's dying battery caused non-stop chirping in the wee hours of the morning. A call to management resulted in its removal. Luckily we did not need to be alerted to smoke in the living area during our stay. The foul sewer odor was just as bad in this room but the front desk responded with, "This room has never been known to have an odor problem!"

One positives- it is actually located on the beach.

Clearly the management here is in denial. This could explain why the mood of the front desk staff is so glum.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geeacee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you experienced and for any inconvenience they may have caused. Your review will be shared with management including the housekeeping and maintenance departments to ensure that this doesn’t happen again. We appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention. Currently, we do have ongoing renovations, which is sure to enhance our owner’s and guest’s vacation experience. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was our first time staying at this Westgate resort and truly enjoyed our stay. There were a few incoveniences (Ongoing resort renovations and toilet that would get stuck, having to pay for resort parking), but the positive far outweighed the negative. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The beach is practically right outside your door. The mini mart within the resort had some excellent coffee and pastries. We had a rental car and were able to easily get around the South Beach area. The best place to go and enjoy excellent shopping, dining, and entertainment is the Bayside Market Place. There is an abundance of shops and a Hard Rock Cafe as well. The Mojito Bar at the Market serves the best Mojitos I've ever had. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for the current renovations at the resort. Please understand that we do work very hard to minimize the impact of such things on our guests. We are really excited about our renovations, which are sure to enhance out owner’s and guest’s vacation experience. All of our staff is there to make you feel as comfortable as possible and we are glad to know that you experienced that. Our resort is suitably located on the beach and very close to shopping and dining. We are excited that our resort mini mart was able to provide you with your wants and needs. We look forward to your next beach vacation with us! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Overall, staying at the Westgate South Beach was NOT a good experience. This was due to two things. Poor sleep and location, at most, is merely okay.

The room's walls are as thin as rice paper. There can't be much insulation in the walls or the ceiling. As I sit writing this, there is a lady singing and talking right outside our door. I can hear her as if she's standing in our room. I can also hear the traffic outside on Collins Ave, which runs in front of the hotel. During the night, we can hear the vacationers in the room above us walking around in their room. All of this constantly keeps waking us up, resulting in being exhausted in the morning.

The location of this hotel is somewhere between true South Beach and North Beach Miami. The fact that this location is quiet as far as people and partying go, isn't an issue. The real issue is that the immediate area is undergoing a lot of construction and renovation. It's not very pleasing to the eye looking at tall empty hotels in different stages of disrepair. It feels like we're in the middle of a town that has been visited by a hurricane. If we travel to the more popular areas of Miami beaches, it's much more pleasing and less third world country.

One last thing about negatives. I'm sure that all of Miami Beach is this way. Even though we are staying at a resort adjacent to the beach, we still had to pay to have beach loungers and umbrellas on the beach. This is managed by a private vendor who gives a 50% discount to Westgate Resort guests. So, two umbrellas cost us $18, cash. Beach loungers are $5 a piece. Double those prices, and that's what you pay if you're NOT an owner at Westgate. Like I said, I believe this is the norm for beach areas here, however, if you prefer beach service, beach chairs and a palapa/umbrella included in your stay, you may or may not be disappointed here.

Some tips:

Purchase the Easy Pass bus card to get around. It's $26 for a week. We bought ours at Walgreens. Had to walk a little less than a mile to get there, but it's been worth it when we considered how much a taxi would cost or how much a rental car with parking fees would have been.

Eat at The Tropical Beach Cafe. It's less than a mile walk and the food is reasonably priced and good. I recommend the Picadillo, the Miami sandwich, the chorizo with scrambled eggs and their fresh juices.

There's a little market next to the hotel. They have a few groceries and a fresh food counter. They will make sandwiches, breakfast stuff, and it seems they have a dinner special, as well. The prices are reasonable and the food is decent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank daboss911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to make our guests and owners as comfortable as possible. We are sorry that you experienced any challenges at all during your stay. It is true that our own resort and the area are undergoing renovations. We are actually very excited about the coming improvements but apologize they created an issue during your stay. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the area and our marketplace deli. We hope to see you soon at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights the last week of April 2013. Are room was on the second floor overlooking the beach. We had a beach view from our living room and bedroom. Their are only 4 rooms that have 2 windows overlooking the beach. Two on the second floor, two on the third. They have a very nice courtyard area and pool. The boardwalk is right out front on the beach. The boardwalk runs all the way to the tip of South Beach. We did not have a car and used the public bus system with no problems. The cost is only $2. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We could rent chairs on the beach for $5 per chair. We also had free WiFi in our room which worked well. We will stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank todd7251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the view from your room and the location of our resort. Our property has easy access to the boardwalk and it is actually very close to Lincoln Ave making it a great spot when visiting the area. Thank you for your review of our staff; we love hearing kind words such as yours. We look forward in hosting your vacation again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Recently stayed at the Westgate Resort on Collins Ave Miami. My friend booked this reservation on a special deal offered by the hotel. I am a member of Interval International and was unable to get reservations due special promotions offered by the hotel to the public.
The property is small but clean. We were given an ocean view room that is newly renovated. Thanks to the front desk staff who was so friendly and accomodating in securing this room for us.(sorry I forgot his name)The hotel is easily accessible to the beach and board walk. There is a store and cafeteria where guest can order food for breakfast and lunch.Fresh empanadas and fruits.Reasonable price. The pool is small and not a lot of amenities but this will do if you are not planning to use the pool esp the beach is your backyard.
On our first night, we were unable to leave the hotel because of the rain and flooding outside and we were afraid that we might get stuck on the road. The front desk staff was nice enough to help us with a take out Cuban food. Our plan was to go to a Cuban Restaurant anyway. The food was delicious and cheap.
We took a shared ride van from Fort Lauderdale Airport to this hotel which cost us $21/person.There is car for $75 from Fort Lauderdale Airport. Cheaper if there are 4 person in your group. Flights from Fort Lauderdale is cheaper by at least $150 compared to Miami International.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite on the top floor preferable beach front. Befriend the front desk staff for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lagingpasyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review. All of our staff is there to make you feel as comfortable as possible and we are glad to know that we were able to accommodate you and provide you with one of our newly renovated rooms. We are thrilled that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location. We hope that the next time you are in the area you will stop by again and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Miami Beach
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#104 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
#91 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Faena
Casa Faena
#54 of 208 in Miami Beach
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#7 of 208 in Miami Beach
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort

Property: Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Address: 3611 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4009
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#66 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#90 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort in beautiful Miami Beach, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home along with abundant onsite amenities, including beach access and a heated outdoor pool - all within minutes of South Florida attractions and walking distance to many area restaurants and specialty shops. Westgate South Beach offers something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate South Beach Miami
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing