We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Nearby Hotels
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
US$441
US$425
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Chesterfield Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$277
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$221
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$345
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
US$241
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Gale South Beach(Miami Beach)
US$244
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dream South Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$276
US$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$272
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Red South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$247
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$604
US$417
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
113
103
61
33
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
103
61
33
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharebbq areavolleyball courtbeach chairs and cabanasfire pitsouth beachfull kitchenbeach barthird floorup to dateliving areaan umbrellathe general managerart decopartial ocean viewspring breakupon check
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2010

This hotel had some bad reviews before I went there, and I would say they were not all correct.
The room I stayed in was clean and well taken care of. The hotel staff was very helpful and a pleasure to talk to. The only think that I could say wrong was that it got to 50 degrees at night and the room was cold on the first night. There was plenty of covering on the bed to get over the cold. Everything in the room worked fine from the jacuzzi to the fridge.
A lot of people did get tickets on their cars because you have to change permits by noon everyday and that was a problem for some. Parking at $8 a night was also not bad compared to other big cities parking charges. I would recemend to anyone going to South Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HWiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015

Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back to stay with us again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

I had the pleasure of staying in this fine hotel recently. I had a room on the second floor which came fully-equipped. It was a two-bedroom meant for a family. The showers are enclosed and luxurious. Excellent kitchen with everything and bar style seating.

The salt-water pool was heated, warm and clean. The beach was located directly behind the building and has a boardwalk that runs from here to South Beach.

Staff is professional throughout and a new cafe makes an excellent addition. You will not need to rent a car if you stay in this hotel since you can take the "J" bus directly from the airport to save nearly $100.00 in round-trip cab fares.

One minor drawback: you are actually in North Beach. This will keep the noise factor down but does necessitate a 2 mile walk or bus trip down to Ocean Drive. All city buses are very close.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NooYoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015

Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back to stay with us again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The location was great because it was in great proximity to the beach. However, I found the decor and the structure inferior to other Westgate properties, especially the ones in the Orlando area. The structure was attractive at all.

The parking was free but you had to circle and wait on several occasions for a parking space. The Westgate should purchase a specified number of parking spaces for their guests.

The staff were not all bilingual. I don't have a problem with people coming to this country for better opportunities but I have a problem when I am not able to communicate in an English speaking country. The staff needs to be trained that the customer is the cause of their pay check. Wi Fi was not free in the rooms but you could get a free signal in the lobby. I was there for an hour and the front desk personell kept the TV on Spanish stations and over 5 men who appeared to be staff congregated in the lobby and they were loud.

There was no hot tub or excersise equipment. However, the pool area was attractive. ALso, the hammocks were great for relaxation.

All in all, I would give this facility a 31/2 star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1knowing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015

Thank you so much for your review. We have made many improvements since you last stayed with us and hope that this experience does not deter you from staying at any of our other Westgate Resorts.

Best Regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

i recived a call form the staff as soon as my plan landed. which was great. we checked in and the room was very nice 1 bd suite fully stocked.. the jacuzzi in the room was to big though it takes 3 hrs to fill.. And dont try to fill it @ night virtually impossible.. we had to use all the pots and pans to boil water and then it still toke 2 hrs 47 min.. Yes i was counting.. The staff was great very helpful and they did seem to make sure we were having a great time..

Now what i did not like is that I asked on wendesday to have the sheets changed they said we had only been there one night and they will change them on thursday.. OMG gross.. I did have male company and would like to lay on clean sheets.. But other than that.. I liked it there alot..

oh wait the parking they did not tell us upon check in that we were paying for parking.. they gave us a parking pass and said make sure you get one everyday.. So i'm like ok.. parking for our 5 days was 30 bucks and the beach chairs was 10 each and 10 for the umbrella.. So get your own..

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tqb804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015

Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back to stay with us again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Traded this for my timeshare in Las Vegas. As others have said, this is definately not 5 star. Staff very friendly but there is a lot of noise if you are not on the top floor. We were on the ground floor which suffered from noise from anyone walking in the corridor on our floor or the one above. Also if you were in the shower when someone ran past in the corridor the toilet moved. Went to complain but was told that there are always complaints about noise as this is an old hotel. Told by the duty manager that we should lobby the owner, David Siegel (many cheezy pictures with celebs in the corridor) to refurb the hotel. Parking a nightmare but only on the weekends. fine Mon-Fri. Location good as bear Ocean Drive and next to the beach. If you can get a good price then put up with the adverse comments (noise, decor, parking). If you are expecting 5 star then think again. I would personally not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strasmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015

Thank you so much for your review. We have made many improvements since you last stayed with us and hope that this experience does not deter you from staying at any of our other Westgate Resorts.

Best Regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews