We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few problems but okay ”
Review of Hotel18

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel18
Ranked #129 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The room was pretty cosy and had a decent kitchenette area. The room had a full size fridge however, this did leak. The staff were all friendly but the door to our room was left open by cleaning staff whilst we were at the beach. This wad pretty disappointing as we had valuables in the room. Was also charged $25 for accidentally breaking a small carafe to later find out it costs $10 to purchase. Overall we enjoyed our stay but the combination of these minor issues would probably prevent us from staying again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jj1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel was selected as a last minute choice, because we decided to stay one more day in Miami Beach. We did not find any problems to make the reservation and the manager was very nice! He offered us two options of rooms and we selected the one on the second floor (the other one was good as well, it was just because we have to decide for one...). The room has a small kitchen, large room with a good couch, good bedroom with a comfortable bed and a good restroom. Hotel also offers you a parking lot (you have to pay for it). It is close to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Would say the hotel itself is ok ,the grounds are very nice and also are the rooms.The bathroom needs somewhere to put things on when taking a shower like a shelf.Asked for a wake up call in which I never received ,thank you Hotel 18.Jorge did a good job.My biggest problem was the noise outside of my room till 2am,people would not shut up in the courtyard,complained once but didn't work.The staff need to keep the people under control after 11pm. I probably would never stay here again for that reason........

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich88BuffaloNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments here. I truly apologize for your not leaving here happy and satisfied with your entire stay. Missing your wake up call is unacceptable and for that we are reviewing our procedures once again. As well we have revisited our overnight security and will taking steps to prevent other guests from disturbing the overall peacefulness of the hotel and courtyard.
Again I appreciate your feedback and please know it is taken seriously and very much appreciated.
Thank you for your patronage.
Karen Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

room very small , bath room whit bloked window so a lot of damp. thin walls , so alot of noice during the night ( all the night the television swich on by the near room!! ). the window of room on the corridor so no privacy !, any hall, wait to chek inn... price very high for the quality, parking extra cost .

Room Tip: go to other hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank filofilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and wish these items could have been addressed during your time with us. We would have liked to have had the opportunity to make your stay a more enjoyable one.
We do appreciate your business and hope that we have the chance to welcome you back again.
sincerely,
Karen and Hotel18 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed for 4 nights during the Ultra Music Festival, booked quite late as another hotel let us down. Great location, 1 minute walk just off Collins Avenue, so your close to plenty of bars, restaurants and the famous Miami Beach.
Staff were super friendly and helpful.
the 1 bed apartment style room is great, decett size bedroom with a sofa bed in the living area. We moved to a twin-single bed room and this is pretty cosy but doubt people going to Miami will stay in the room that much - the place parties 24 / 7.
Hotel is quiet and clean. We had an issue with no hot water for a couple of days - NOT the hotels fault as it was gas supply, but we were compensated by a free nights stay so helped accept the inconvenience.

Room Tip: 1 bed apartment sleeps 3-4 easily and in comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We appreciate your patience and understanding during the crazy WMC/Ultra weekend. And for your special patience during the hot water issue. We are happy to say all has been fixed!

We like to think of Hotel18 as a quiet little spot in the heart of it all - it's nice to rest off the beaten path when the time comes. We hope to welcome you back again.
safe travels
Karen and Hotel18 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is noway cheap and doesn't have any breakfast or dining services. But the location almost next to the Lincoln Road Mall is excellent. It is also almost right next to the Convention center and beaches.

Rooms are tiny, but who comes to live in a hotel room on a Miami Beach vacation anyway?
Rooms have small fridge and mini kitchen and utensils. There a good self service laundry also.

Other guests seemed to spend good time reading in the hotel inner yard. The only problem being them smoking there, but the smoke didn't come inside my room.

There is very limited parking space. So call them beforehand if you come by car.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank z0range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Hello Gang
Well, this was my second stay at Hotel 18. Stayed for a week in February 2013 and just stayed another five days last week. It has a great location (under five minute walk to the beach-just off Collins and 18 in South Beach- and in the middle of everything).

The front desk staff was wonderful, but Jorge was the best, thought he was the owner/manager…smiles, great eye contact, solid handshake, and when we needed something it got done now. Arranged taxis, let us have a late check-out, happily stored our luggage when we arrived early.

The room was a small suite with a kitchenette and it felt like home (which is why we went back this year). However, when we arrived my wife and I took off our shoes and walked across the floor and we had black feet in one stroll across the floor. That wasn't the worst part. When we asked for the floor to be cleaned, the housekeeping manager and a housekeeper showed up and both had a bad/angry attitude. I explained that the floor needed to be mopped and she said that it was already cleaned. She was clearly angry at us. It was quickly evident why the floor was dirty. The housekeeper used an old broom to quickly sweep the floor and then used a mop to give the floor a quick cleaning. She never wrung the mop out, and only spread the dirt around quickly. She was obviously angry as well. There was no sorry, only irritation. Maybe they both were having a bad day?

That night, the room remained strangely hot, as it was the second night. I informed the front desk and they had a technician there in five minutes, who told us the AC was broken. However, they moved us into another room with a great air conditioner in less than 15 minutes and offered to help move our things. So, our fault for not mentioning the AC after the first night.

So, overall our stay was good. Plenty of towels, courteous desk staff and other housekeepers except for the floor debacle when we arrived, and they had free umbrellas and beach towels. But, at $250 night we thought that maybe they should have had a continental breakfast as some places in town do, but we knew that going into it. And they should have a shelve in the bathrooms over the sink to put things. The only problem is that the housekeeping manager should have been nicer and maybe they should change out the mop water with each room. Will we say there again and recommend it, most likely yes, but if that floor is dirty NEXT year….:)

Room Tip: No swimming pool or restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigJimmy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#109 of 212 in Miami Beach
223 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#141 of 212 in Miami Beach
151 reviews
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#127 of 212 in Miami Beach
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Paseo Hotel
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
404 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#69 of 212 in Miami Beach
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel18

Address: 230 18th St, corner of James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2008
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center , Nautilus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: £82 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel18 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel18 is a serene apart hotel, located in the heart of South Beach. We're a friendly environment is always at your disposal by way of reserving any of our clean and comfortable standard studios, deluxe studios or one bedroom apartments. All of the apartments are set around a courtyard setting that leads to a private guest entrance facing James Avenue. Hotel18 also offers free WiFi, beach towels, communal laundry facilities, self-parking (reservations and fee required) computer station and printer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel18 Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing