We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
Ranked #191 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Despite the negative comments we read, we have had a wonderful stay on very short notice, and we extended our stay without problems. We booked online during airport winter chaos and once we reached our hotel we realized we are on Miami beach with private access, the rooms are clean, modern and bright, the staff are friendly. The location is central with a 7-eleven right across for snacks and sundries. Even though they are undergoing renovations which proves they up-keep the building and property, they don't start until 9am, which is very reasonable. The only recommendation are to bring your own toiletries as they do not supply any. The pool is warm and clean and pool towels are supplied on request. Compared to Key West rates, half the cost and twice the value. We will be staying here again, and we are VERY picky, we do our homework. If people complain about this hotel, they are just generally spoiled.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tomwthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. . It Is great to know we fulfilled your expectations, We are working to improve our property and we will love to have you with us again. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,763)
There are newer reviews for The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived early and were given a room straightaway by a very efficient and friendly Cuban young lady on the front desk. The reception area is quite gorgeous, with its pillars and wide staircase and has been a beautiful building in its time - apparently is has recently changed hands and is being done up gradually.

There wasn't a balcony, but the room was a reasonable size and comfortable enough. We had a twin bedded room, and it had a mini kitchenette with microwave, full oven, fridge, sink and eating/cooking utensils. Handy for that first cuppa on a morning! The room was clean, the beds comfortable. There was a large closet and a decent bathroom. It was clean and had decent bedding.

The pool area was a functional and had pool beds with pool towels being available from the front desk. Access to the beach was through a locked gate, across a narrow sandy path and through the sea grass. It is a wide, long beach - did not see any seashells but it looked as though you could have walked along it for hours. Beach chairs etc. are available for hire.

The hotel is on Collins Avenue, with a variety of shops and restaurants within walking distance and a bus service that went through to Miami South Beach south, the Aventura Mall north, among other places.

When reading some reviews, after booking, we were pleasantly surprised. We have stayed in 5 star and zero star hotels all over the world and believe in reviewing accordingly. Please, don't slate a cheap hotel for not having 5 star facilities. Maybe we were lucky but whilst we would not book a full holiday ther,e we would happily stay for 2 or 3 nights again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us. I’m glad that you have shared your experience. We hope to have you around with us again. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We rented a room that was privately owned. Everything with the room was perfect, very clean and had a great view of the ocean. But the wi-fi of the hotel does not work at all, and the valet parking always took a long time, one time almost half an hour. They lost all the keys on my keychain, and they told me my keychain broke and fell off but they didn't pick it up…..So now I get to buy all new keys. And my favorite keychain is gone forever. Front desk people are rude and lie to the guests about fixing the internet. The gate from the beach doesn't open and I was trapped outside for a few minutes. Other than that, great location but not many restaurants nearby. 7-11 right across the street saved our lives.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chapin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to communicate with us. Our most sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations with the valet parking. We always try to help everyone with any kind of situation but the internet is part of the condo and we always report to them any kind of issue so they can solve it as fast as they can, sometimes its out of our hands. We apologize for the inconvenience, and we invite you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The only good thing about this hotel was that it was inexpensive. The room service is horrible, the rooms look nothing like they do in the pictures, and the pool is cold and dirty. We called the lobby asking for an extra blanket three separate times; the first two times, they said they had no extra blankets, and the third time they said they were sending one up but it never came. Our room was cleaned two times out of the six days that we stayed there. The room was so dirty that I had to put shoes on to go anywhere. The staff was lazy and incompetent. Basically, my advice is DO NOT STAY HERE. It's worth the extra money to stay in a nicer place. This hotel ruined my vacation in Miami.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

We apologize for the multiple inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. Your comments have been shared with the Department Head for follow up and corrective actions.
and feedbacks like this will only double our efforts in achieving the level of consistency we lacked during your visit. Our most sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Got kids? Got allergies? Like to relax in a nice hotel room after a long day on vacation or a business trip? Don't book your stay at the NEW casablanca on the ocean.
There are wires hanging from the ceiling and sticking out of the walls , probably with power on, at a great height for kids who loves to explore the world and touch things. The halls of the hotel reminds you of a horror movie. The elevators looks like they were dragged out of a dump and mounted with a sledgehammer and never washed. And the rooms are rediculously bad in standard. They reek of chlorine, the windows are so dirty you can't be sure if it's sun outside or not, it's extremely dusty, we found breadcrums many places in the kitchen, and if you wipe your finger over the top of the kitchen cabinets... Let me rephrase.. Don't think about wiping your fingers over the kitchen cabinets, you'll have to go to the decontamintaion chambers in the hospital. My list could go on and on, but by now, you get the picture.
I've got allergies, and i coughed like a maniac and my eyes started to itch.

We went through several rooms, but they were all the same. And when we asked if we could get a room in the " renovated " part, they were all " booked ". The face of the people in the reception told us; we really dont care, we dont give a damn and get the f out of my face.

When i mentioned mynroom was dirty, they sent a cleaning lady with yet another load of chlorine and a rag, she wiped the areas that i pointed at just to show her an example, and left. My point is, if it's like that in obvious places that you can see without moving anything, how does it look in places you dont see at first glance. It gives you the feeling thst this place is dirtyer than you know.

What shows is that people who work here, especially the management, does not care about the guests and their experience on the hotel. It's a complete an utter failure. Should be closed down and demolished. It's rediculous how little they care actially, and how everything is worn down to the utter point of breaking.

Don't spend a minute in here. Buy a tent.

Room Tip: Rooms are terrible. I dont know about the " renovated " part though. But chances are, you...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

I’m glad that you have shared your experience with us. Direct feedbacks from our customers, both good and bad, are the most valuable advice we can receive.
We apologize for the multiple inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. We can assure you that we are committed to improve all aspects of our guest’s experience and we are working to improve our property and that includes new A/C units, new kitchens, and the appearance of our hallways.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

All-in-all it was a good stay. Not as clean as I would have expected for the price. Big ugly stain on the rug, with a little "Resolve" and elbow grease, I know the stain would disappear. Bathroom was small, noticed way to many hairs on the floor, which were not mine nor my husbands. The bed was very comfortable and the view was magnificent! I'd stay again. It's close to everything and anything you'd want to do.

#1--Gigi was a breath of fresh air. She knows her job and it seemed no matter what, she kept on smiling...

Room Tip: My tip is, do not stay in room 1042 as it is too close to the elevator, which you will hear all day...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us. I’m glad that you have shared your experience.
We apologize for the multiple inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. We are working to improve our property and we invite you to consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The room had a nice little kitchen with utensils. Bathroom was a little too small. Awesome pool with nice bar and restaurant. The hotel is well connected with the beach and there is a walkway that connects you directly with the beach. Public parking in a nearby park. A lot of nice food places around.

Room Tip: Beware of some renovation going on in the whole building. Make sure to checkout their specials on th...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinayak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#101 of 210 in Miami Beach
967 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#170 of 210 in Miami Beach
4,712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mimosa Hotel
The Mimosa Hotel
#159 of 210 in Miami Beach
528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#148 of 210 in Miami Beach
400 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Atlantic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel

Address: 6345 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141-4614
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#118 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £67 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a private apartment, fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca On The Ocean
Casablanca On The Ocean
The New Casablanca On The Ocean Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing