We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
Ranked #193 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel is horrible. Myself and my husband rental a room in this hotel from a private owner it was old and ugly. I am not a real particular person but this place was horrible. Also even if you only stay for one night the owner charges you $75.00 cleaning fee. I would never return or recommend this hotel. Take my advice stay away.

Room Tip: do not rent from private owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience.
As you know we are a hotel condo, its sad to know that you had a bad experience during your stay.
We invite you and your family to stay with us (the hotel), we are pretty sure that you will have a different experience with us. Consider staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Despite poor reviews I gave it a shot. My room and the hotel overall was dated, however, it was spotless , no dust behind TV or anything of the sort. Housekeeping was slow it runs 11:30-6pm (no doubt because of needed ACA and the need to stay competitive. Within 6 blocks there's plenty of eateries, a supermarket banks and so on. The staff is pleasant and is accommodating when possible, wifi was fine, beach literally 60 steps from back door. Pool was clean and adequate, not heated. Valet parking was $5 more than the public lot a block away and well worth it. If you are looking for clean safe accommodations this is it! If you are looking for 5 star service, go to the st Regis in bal harbor for $1000.00 a night.
That being said if you are needy, entitled, and snobby, this isn't your place. If you are realistic and understand that you get what you pay for, stay here! It's worth every penny!
Ed
New Jersey

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Ed07093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your experience about our hotel, you are definitely right about what you mentioned.
Our priority is to give our guest our best.
Please consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I was booked at the sister Hotel and Up grade it here, It was really nice stay , I was also given free valet , really nice also , staff was pleasant and respectful, the view to the beach was beautiful , place was outdate but clean.

Room Tip: Beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudiaTobon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your review.
We feel very happy that you had a good experience with us.
We are working to improve our property, please consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel isn't wonderful and needs some serious updating but saying that everyone was really friendly and the location was great. Miami is fab tho will defo be going back. If it's a cheap and cheerful place to stay then this place will do

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank so much for taking the time to review our hotel and staff.
Our team wants to extend an invitation to you and your family to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booking my vacation consisted of 3 things. The price tag, the amenities and the reviews of people that had recently been to that hotel. When looking at the casablancas website i noticed it had all the amenities and was in our price range. The pictures looked nice also. The only negative were the reviews. After taking weeks of trying to plan the perfect vacation i took a chance and booked at the casablanca on the ocean. Our plane getting to miami was way earlier than expected and our hotel room was not ready yet. They held our luggage until our room was ready and we went to lunch at the restaurant located down stairs and layed by the pool. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. The staff are very friendly and willing to help with any needs you may have. I very soon figured out 90% of the reviews i read did not pertain and i was so glad i booked anyway. This hotel is in walking distance of many stores and restaurants. Theres just a gate seperating you from the ocean and they provide a key so you can come and go as you wish. My fiance' and i have 3 days left here before our vacation is over and we couldnt of asked for a better place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirstenshae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Our priority is that you had a great experience.
We are a hotel condo, sometimes people comments are from the condo and negative reviews affect us directly, but this matter only improves our team to give you the best experience ever.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Myself and three friends stayed at Casablanca on the Ocean from 13th - 18th Feb. and arrived following our cruse at 10am to be greeted by very friendly reception staff who said that our rooms where ready. The rooms where clean, beds comfortable. Pool and sun bathing area is well maintained with good access to the beach. Hotel itself is a bit tatty around the edges and restaurant hit and miss. it would be good if we could have taken drinks to the pool area in plastic cups, but all in all we found the staff very nice and helpful and had a really good time. If people want 5 star accommodation there is plenty available in Miami at 5 star prices. Celia

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank celia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us. I’m glad that you have shared your experience. It Is great to know we fulfilled your expectations, please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Despite the negative comments we read, we have had a wonderful stay on very short notice, and we extended our stay without problems. We booked online during airport winter chaos and once we reached our hotel we realized we are on Miami beach with private access, the rooms are clean, modern and bright, the staff are friendly. The location is central with a 7-eleven right across for snacks and sundries. Even though they are undergoing renovations which proves they up-keep the building and property, they don't start until 9am, which is very reasonable. The only recommendation are to bring your own toiletries as they do not supply any. The pool is warm and clean and pool towels are supplied on request. Compared to Key West rates, half the cost and twice the value. We will be staying here again, and we are VERY picky, we do our homework. If people complain about this hotel, they are just generally spoiled.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tomwthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene M, Front Office Manager at The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. . It Is great to know we fulfilled your expectations, We are working to improve our property and we will love to have you with us again. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#101 of 212 in Miami Beach
974 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#147 of 212 in Miami Beach
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#172 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mimosa Hotel
The Mimosa Hotel
#163 of 212 in Miami Beach
529 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
The New Sixty Sixty on the Bay
The New Sixty Sixty on the Bay
#178 of 212 in Miami Beach
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel

Address: 6345 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141-4614
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#118 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £70 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a private apartment, fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca On The Ocean
Casablanca On The Ocean
The New Casablanca On The Ocean Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing