We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNIQUE BOUTIQUE HOTEL”
Review of Sagamore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagamore
Ranked #78 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
“UNIQUE BOUTIQUE HOTEL”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I have been travelling with my family in many luxurious hotel in the US and around the world and am usually very keen to try out new places. Sagamore is one of the few exception : I am faithful to the superb, unique, service and charm of this boutique art hotel. Ideally located and decorated with taste and class, the hotel is managed by an always helpful and friendly staff.
I would warmly recommend the suite, spacious and of very good value. I have been staying in most of the hip and luxurious hotels of South Beach : the Sagamore is my favorite, and I am anxious to come back for my blissful sunny stay in this FABULOUS hotel.

Room Tip: The suite for a family with 2/3 children are perfect, very spacious with separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valery g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Velery G,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review of Sagamore. We are delighted that you continue to choose Sagamore for you and your family when traveling to Miami.

We take pride in our large number of repeat guests like yourselves and it speaks volumes for the hard work and dedication of all of our team members.

Once again thanks for your terrific feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us. We hope Sagamore will be your hotel of choice here for many years to come!


Best regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    505
    227
    100
    76
See reviews for
554
609
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We chose the Sagamore because we found the large size oceanfront suite appealing for the around $600 a night price. The room was very awkward. There is a 20 foot hallway from door to living room.... yet next to nothing for closet space. Clearly a design flaw. The hall was useless as you could get through the suite via, bathroom, bedroom on to living room. There was very little closet/drawer space. No where to put belongings. They did cram an out of place old wooden chest of drawers, narrow and tall, into a small nook in the bathroom, you could use this for toiletries, undergarments... I've included some lovely photos of this room. Keep in mind this is the best they have to offer next to the penthouse. The room felt odd and cold. I am a huge art fan. I love to go to galleries and try to fill my home with original art. This hotels art collection was not impressive and actually helped in giving it the cold feeling hotel has. Pool is extremely small and there are very few chairs around pool area. We had a four night stay booked. We left after one night, we lost an entire nights cost as penalty for canceling our reservation early. We moved to the W.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizabethBrown1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
ElizabethBrown1218,

We would like to thank you for sharing your review with us after what was obviously a less than favorable experience here. We appreciate hearing constructive criticism as it can be an important tool we use as we strive to make Sagamore one of the best properties around.

We apologize if you found that the oceanfront suite was not suitable for your needs as it is one of our more popular suites. Perhaps you may have been more comfortable in one of our two story bungalows or two story oceanfront bungalow which provides both great living space as well as stunning ocean views.

Our art collection is quite unique and at times it may not appeal to everyone. Again I want to thank you for your feedback and would love the opportunity to speak with you directly about your stay. I have provided my information below for your convienence.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Had a great 4-night stay at the Sagamore which included our two-year old twins. It was exactly what we were looking for: chic, intimate, quiet and kid friendly. From the looks of the hotel, you would never guess that it would be so, but there were more than a few families there. From what I could tell, everyone seemed to co-mingle nicely. (Certainly families were in the minority - and the kids were on good behavior.) I'm sure some of the big hotels have more kids activities, but for parents who love South Beach for its chic eclectic vibe and want to bring their kids, this may be the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
DCJP,

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review after your time here with us. Our large suites make Sagamore a great place for both couples and families alike. Our zero entry pool is especially kid friendly and our intimate pool area can be enjoyed by people of all ages.

We are happy that we were able to provide you a great experience for you and your family and we look forward to you making Sagamore your home away from home when traveling to Miami.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Lovely hotel on the ocean, next door to the Ritz. The bungalows are wonderful. The regular rooms are lovely too. The art in the public spaces is fantastic. The poolside area is very beautiful and there always seems to be enough space for everyone. It's a private collection and the hotel is privately owned. We stay here every year with kids and we are always made to feel welcome. I've never eaten at the hotel because there are so many other choices around on Lincoln or Espanola Way.

Room Tip: call the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaforadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Mamaforadventure,


Thanks for your review on Sagamore. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time here and love to hear such positive feedback about the property.

We urge you on your next visit to schedule a guided art tour with one of our docents so that you may learn even more about our wonderful art collection. We also encourage you to try our restaurant whether it be lunch at the pool or perhaps a nice dinner in the evening on our terrace.

We thank you again for choosing Sagamore and hope to see you again soon!


Best regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

First time writing a review on TA! This review is for a trip to South Beach from Nov 16th through the 21st. My wife and I started our vacation by flying out of Chicago midday and arriving in Miami late. We had decided to celebrate our 10th anniversary at the Sagamore Hotel. We were tired from the late flight in and decided on checking in and then grabbing a nice dinner and calling it a night. We checked in and were pleasantly surprised to find our room had been upgraded from the garden view suite to the bungalow suite and that comp bottle of champagne was on ice. In the past, I’ve never had my room upgraded, or comp champagne waiting in my room so right off the bat our vacation was going great! All the rooms at Sagamore are suites, but the upgrade gave us a very unique room, basically a floor plan we probably wouldn’t have considered in our past trips or the current one. Glad we were upgraded to it though as the room was fun, and very spacious! It had a spiral staircase that connected the upper and lower rooms. The bungalow worked out well, as I spent many of the nights up reading and normally, the light would bother my wife but since I was in another room on another level she slept uninterrupted. The hotel location is right off of the beach and at the northern tip of south beach, imo a very good location. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the concierge Richard.
We contacted Richard before our trip for help with dining, and nightlife suggestions. We knew his name before we called from all the positive reviews on TA on him. Don’t believe me? Read a few pages of reviews on this hotel, and I would be shocked if his name doesn’t come up with positive reviews on him. Anyways, weeks before we arrived in South Beach, we had a long conversation with him as he discussed with us many dinning and nightlife options. In truth, it felt like I had picked up the phone and contacted an old friend. He was easy to talk to, friendly, and genuinely wanted to help. It felt like he was really looking forward to meeting us once we arrived. More on Richard later…
Like I said earlier, we arrived late our first day and decided to get dressed and head out for a stroll and some food. We found a killer bathing suit for my wife in one of the local shops, and leisurely walked up and back down Lincoln Street taking in all the restaurants choices and their friendly attempts at solicitation. We ate and went to sleep.
The next day we had breakfast, and went to the beach! Ok, even on what appeared to be an off season time to go to South Beach’s beaches… there still was plenty of talent lying out, and the European topless attitude was in full swing! Had lunch, and scheduled some work to be done at Sagamore’s spa. The spa was small, yet was able to accommodate our requests comfortably. My wife had her hair done, and I took in an after sun moisturizing wrap. Afterwards we stopped by the concierge’s desk and planned out the rest of the day and night.
The first time we met Richard it was by coincidence. We were at the spa, and we called him, to say hi, but also to let him know we would be stopping by after our treatments. We were on the phone for a while, and afterwards he stopped by to formally greet us. After our treatment we stopped by the concierge desk and planned out some fun things to do. We did this for every day of our vacation; it worked well for us but to each their own.
Each day we fell into a fun but predictable routine; breakfast, beach, or pool, plan our night activities with Richard, lunch, shopping, lol lots of shopping, nice dinner, and nightlife.
The only bad part of the trip is when it ended.
Before the trip we came on to trip advisor to read reviews about SoBe, and possible hotel accommodations. We read many positive, AND negative reviews about sobe and figured we would keep an open mind. We called multiple hotels in an effort to get their best possible price, in other words, we didn’t settle for whatever price we found on the internet, you should do the same. If you are looking for a cozy hotel with great customer service definitely give the Sagamore a serious consideration. Richard, as mentioned in many other reviews is top notch. He will spend as much time as needed to ensure your stay is exactly what you want, and that you are completely satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Sam F,


Thanks for your terrific 5 star review of Sagamore. We are very happy to hear that Richard our concierge made such an impact on your stay.

Judging by your review its safe to say that Sagamore certainly exceeded your expectations and that is truly our goal each and every time for all our guests. Being a smaller property we are able to provide a much more personal service to our guests and the experience that you had with Richard is a perfect example of that.

We thank you again for sharing your wonderful experience and we hope that you will continue to stay with us whenever you travel to South Beach. I will be sure to pass along all your good praise to Richard!


Best Regards,
James D'agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Usually when we plan family holidays abroad, I am in charge of the bookings and reservations, hence our recent success. This time however insisted on doing it herself and I have to admit, not least successful. The welcome was nice and the room too. Classy with actually two rooms, a living and a bedroom. In the living room the staff made the sofa into a large bed for our two kids. Perfect. It even had a little kitchenette which i always found reassuring when travelling in the United States. The lift was out of order most of the time, but alas, there was another one at the far end of the corridor and a stairway as well. Breakfast...well yes it was there...including the real American transparent coffee...the pool area nice and the staff again very friendly and uncomplicated...even funny at times. You can order small dishes at the poolbar and you get a fresh towel every time you dried a tear or something from your cheek. The pool is great...our daughter learned to swim there and the beach is the beach as you expect it to be in Miami Beach. Before we left we wanted to make additional reservations for when we came back a week later. "Yes we still have rooms, but it's cheaper if you book it over the internet instead of with me at the reception!" Oh dear! But we sat down in the lobby and made the reservation over the internet as we had done back home, walked up the the reception again to confirm it and alas it had worked. 20% cheaper rate than if we had booked it in the hotel! Thy only thing that upset me was the prive for the valvet parking: 30$ a night...i returned the valvet ticket and parked our rental car in a red zone....20$ per night!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Launcelot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Launcelot77,


Thanks for your recent review of our property. We are happy to hear that your wife was as successful as you usually are when making accommodations for traveling.

Our suites are definitely the perfect size for a family of four and the kitchenette adds the extra convenience usually needed when traveling with children. I apologize if you were not able to make your future reservation at the desk, as there seemed to have been a miscommunication which led you to have to make your reservation online.

We are happy that you decided to make a return stay with us after your first visit and we hope that you will do so in the future whenever you choose to spend your holiday in Miami. Thanks again staying with us and we look forward to next time!



Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

i highly recommend this hotel. Went in May the week before memorial day weekend (which i was told to AVOID MIAMI MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND AT ALL COSTS!) anyway, THE HOTEL WAS AMAZING! we stayed in the penthouse for 2 nights, ocean suite for 1 night and then they gave us a studio room the day we checked out so we had a place to put our stuff so we could hang otu by the pool until our flight left at night. every room was beautiful as well as the whole hotel. pretty decent prices for the location beach front, on collins ave, just blocks away from ocean dr and 1 block from lincoln rd. STAFF WAS GREAT, EXTREMELY FRIENDLY! well worth the money! great pool bar, very safe, need a room key to get you to your floor of the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Ashley F,

We appreciate your great feedback of Sagamore. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in our magnificent penthouse.

Our penthouse can help make for the perfect stay in Miami, with its massive terrace and stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. We are happy that our staff was able to accommodate you with an additional room so that you may get the most out of your last day in the sun here on South Beach.

We hope you will return soon and we thank you again for staying with us!


Best regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,220 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,379 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shelborne South Beach
#60 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,637 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,761 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Property: Sagamore
Address: 1671 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach, Florida
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing