We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“........one of the best on the beach”
Review of Sagamore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sagamore
Ranked #91 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sagamore hotel for 6 days in middle of May. The entire staff is really friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect, very clean, great size and layout and while in a hotel it feels like your very own apartment. We had a perfect view of the pool area and the beach. Every day we had a delicious buffet breakfast at the hotel, everything was fresh and exactly what you need to start the day. We also ordered room service from the lunch and dinner menu and that was also delicious with wonderful fresh flavors. After a day at the beach it was a perfect time to have a drink or snack at the pool bar, the appetizers were my favorite. The best mojito in town, YOU have to try it. All the drinks are made with passion. The Sagamore hotel is a perfect size, while being large enough to have everything you need, it is small enough to feel as if you are personally catered to. Definitely one of the most family friendly hotels on the beach as well as couples and singles, younger and older. The hotel is close to Lincoln Road if you want to shop or try the restaurants. We always felt very welcome here and were always greeted with a smile. We highly recommend the Sagamore hotel during your stay in Miami, it truly is one of the best on the beach. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are huge. If you prefer a balcony, garden view rooms and bungalows are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Mia a,

Thanks for your recent review of our property. We greatly appreciate hearing of your wonderful stay here and your terrific feedback on the overall property and restaurant.

It sounds like you definitely got the full Sagamore experience and were able to take advantage of all the amenities our great oceanfront property has to offer.

From our mojitos to our homemade pizzas, the Whitehall restaurant here at Sagamore is just part of what adds to our overall charm. We thank you again for sharing your review and hope to have you back with us again soon.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

959 - 965 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at the Sagamore in the beginning of May and have nothing bad to say about Miami Beach or the Hotel. After a long flight and a difficult travel to the hotel (long customs queues and cab break down) we arrived at the hotel and were greeted in the most welcoming and friendly manner by the reception staff. We booked a suite and were given an outstanding one on the penthouse floor which was very spacious (Room 608). This suite, as well as the entire hotel, was clean, well kept and beautifully decorated with art. We actually walked around the different areas of the hotel and took pictures to show back home. After dropping our bags we explored the garden, pool area and beach and continued to be impressed with the hotel and its close location to a beautiful stretch of beach. The pool and garden area was so nice that we probably spent as much time in the sun here than on the actual beach. Overall the location is outstanding, Lincoln Road mall is just a few steps away and we even could walk to Ocean drive and the art deco district of south beach.

The staff at the Sagamore is in our opinions of excellent quality. Every member of staff, from the concierge to the cleaning lady we passed in the corridors, was most friendly and genuinely concerned if we were having a good time. Especially Denia and Tasjana from the reception and Richard from the concierge made our trip special due to several great insider tips! We had a travel guide but the best things we´ve done were based on tips from one of these guys. We always felt we could ask for anything at any time and the best effort was made to satisfy our wish. So if you stay here, don’t hesitate, it will always worth to ask. One reception member even used personal contacts to try and sort out Basketball playoff tickets for us.

All in all we highly recommended the Hotel to our friends and family as we just had an amazing time and wish to say a thank you again to the staff at the Sagamore and particularly to the above mentioned individuals.

Room Tip: Mention to reception your preferences and they will do their best to accomodate these
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewe_goldmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Lewe_goldmann,


Thanks for your terrific 5 star review of Sagamore. It is wonderful to hear such positive feedback, especially in regards to our individual staff members. I believe the front desk agents you are referring to are Dailin and Tatsiana.

I am glad that they provided you with such a warm welcome and from the sound of it, our concierge Richard seemed to have continued that trend during your interactions with him as well. Our great staff truly is the backbone of this great property and we are thrilled that you were able to see that first hand.

We appreciate your recommendation of Sagamore to your friends and family and look forward to the next opportunity to wow you again on your next visit. Thanks again for staying here with us!


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

For the price we paid for our Bungalow suite, I would have expected a little more from the hotel. I'm used to having a few extra "perks" at hotels in this price range, but everything at the Sagamore seemed just average. The shower clogged and the beds were semi-uncomfortable. The pool area was great, however, and was the perfect place to lay out with a good book and get some sun. The cocktails were also delicious.

Be forewarned with the meals, however. We found in two of our bills that the waiter/waitress had actually increased the price of the meal (for example, our $4 plate of fruit turned out to be $8). Also, we were told by one waiter that if we were to order the buffet, the fruit, bacon, cheese, eggs etc. were all extra - what??! I think this is largely due to the fact that tip was included, so they were trying to jack up the prices to receive larger gratuity.

All in all it was a fine stay - although completely average. The only thing above-average was the interesting display of art.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueslady442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Blueslady442,

We thank you for taking the time to share your review. I apologize if your stay was merely average as that is certainly not what we look to achieve with all of our guests experiences at our hotel.

We definetly try to keep our prices competive with our competition and ouir bungalows can actually be one of the better values in the area when comparing rooms of that size at other surrounding properties. I apologize if there was any discrepancies with your restaraunt checks as the buffet is a flat rate price and the items you mentioned are indeed included in it.

I would like to opportunity to discuss your stay with you more and have provided my contact info below to reach out to me at your convienence. We do thank you for choosing Sagamore and hope that we will see you again in the future. I do look forward to the opportunity to speak with you as well.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed at the Sagamore for 10 nights. We felt like we were at home...
We had a toddler with us which changes everything.
Our room had the best view on the 3rd floor and it was VERY spacious ! Smartly designed to the point that we could easily hire a nanny and she can roam around freely even though our daughter was sleeping.
The staff is extremely friendly and attentive to detail. Every morning everyone knew that we were the “family” that needed the high chair, extra towels in our rooms and that special sun chair on a semi shaded area.
The art in the hotel is fantastic ! makes us dream what kind of art we could bring home !

The hotel is located one block from Lincoln road. Which was just perfect !
The board walk was also an extra bonus....just very pleasant. We rented a bike and went for sunset walks..

We just felt that the hotel was very intimate and personalized and that’s what we liked about it.

Not too big or too small...
We had a wonderful vacation and had a hard time leaving !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cannes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Cannes101,


Thanks for your review of Sagamore, The Art Hotel. Ten nights is the perfect amount of time to spend here in south beach as it gives you plenty of time to experience the many wonderful individual places here within this beachfront paradise.

We are in fact a very toddler friendly hotel and we also cater to couples on romantic getaways and the business traveler as well. It is our wide variety of clientele that is one part of what makes Sagamore special and that coupled with our tremendous staff can make a long stay here seem like a stay in someones home.

We thank you for your terrific feedback and look forward to welcoming you back with us again real soon. Thanks for choosing Sagamore for your extended vacation!


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We've enjoyed many boutique hotels on multiple continents and cities, and Sagamore did not measure up. In the first place, when we checked in, we were told that they were expecting us one night earlier, and we would have to pay the additional night, even though this had never been our intention or plan. The person at the desk was quite firm on this. We were traveling with a small group and had arranged several rooms. Thankfully, none of the rest of the group had that hurdle to climb, and we eventually with considerable effort had the error corrected, but not before being made to feel that we were in the wrong. Secondly, our parties were given rooms on the front of the hotel -- you get a great view of walls and windows about 15 feet away from yours, so you can't even leave the curtains open and do not get an ocean or Miami cityscape view. Again, management would not budge despite the fact that there were open rooms. Onward and upward.
The rooms are somewhat spacious, but the appointments seemed to have been chosen so that the Sagamore would achieve 'boutique' status. The hallways were overly dark, dank and stuffy - it seemed like there was no air-conditioning in the hallways.
The in-room air-conditioning was deficient as it was located over the door and the two-room configuration did not make for good air flow. We learned after the first night to crank the A/C wayyyyy down and leave the toilet doors open to get some circulation. My husband didn't sleep so well that night because he got to listen to the headboard banging the wall in the next room. Twice.
We did not avail ourselves of the dining. Travel companions said that they had one mojito at the front bar and it was good, and one mojito at another bar in the hotel that was terrible.
There is random art on the first floor and a lower level area that was kind of interesting and left me feeling that the owners wanted a venue for art more so than satisfied clientele that would give raves and return. Meh. We won't return.

Room Tip: If i figured things out, the higher the room number, the better the view. You stand a better chance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travel4Thyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Travel4Thyme,

We sincerely apologize for your experience that you had with us as you obviously left with a less than favorable impression of Sagamore. I apologize for the mix-up you had with your initial reservations and am happy that ultimately it was corrected.

I also apologize if you were not happy with your room type but can assure you that our front desk team would definitely tried to accommodate you with something more to your liking had we had the availability. I would like the chance to speak with you directly about your stay and hope that you will contact me at your convenience.

I have provided my information below. I thank you again for your feedback and look forward to the oppoprtunity to speak with you.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
James@Sagamorehotel.com
305.728.3224

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

We had a short three day stay in Miami before our holiday. Booked through Hotwire so was very apprehensive. Arrived six hours late due to Air Canada "issues.". After a very long, trying day arrived at the Sagamore tired and cranky. We were met at the front desk by Linford and changed the whole mood of trip. He was so kind, thoughtful and accommodating.

Hotel was great, beds were comfy and room was spacious. Pool was so warm and easy access to ocean. Ordered pizza and mojitos one evening. So good. Best pizza ever.

We stayed with our two teenagers and they loved it. Recommend and definitely stay here again. Location was excellent and staff were a delight.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H0neybeethree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Honeybeethree,

We are thrilled to hear that one of our team members was able to instantly help turn your mood from the moment you arrived here at Sagamore. Linford is definetly a great asset to our staff and is just one example of our employees making that extra effort neccesary to ensure our guests enjoy their time here.

I will be sure to pass along your praise to him and we hope that you will continue to choose our property in the future. Thanks again for your review.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Great clean room!!! Went we friend over the weekend overall we had a awesome time because the location that this hotel is located...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Lalocadr19,

It is obvious by the number of reviews that you have submitted that you are a very well seasoned traveler and it is a great honor to hear such kind words from you about Sagamore.

We hope that we will be your choice again the next time you travel to Miami. We wish you well on your next trip, wherever that may be, and loook forward to your return.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,427 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#45 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,527 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
SLS South Beach
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,220 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Address: 1671 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £165 - £545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach, Florida
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing