We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally...Genuine customer service in South Beach”
Review of The Sagamore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sagamore Hotel
Ranked #94 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I just stayed here 2 nights after Memorial Day in a 2 story bungalow. The service was excellent - the bellman, pool & ocean attendants, restaurant staff, etc. The hotel is decorated in classic all white minimalism with art work everywhere. Classy and clean.

I thought the room was a great value for the size (900 sq ft). It even surprised us with a slight ocean peak from the balcony. The room was is good condition and has a slightly warmer feel than the hotel lobby which I liked. Be aware you have to walk upstairs to use the bathroom. This was fine for us, but seniors or handicap persons should take note.

The pool was clean and well attended. The beach chairs were super comfy and made for a great nap in the ocean breeze. An umbrella and 4 chairs are included with your resort fee.

The location is my favorite. On the beach, 2 blocks to Lincoln Rd, 3 block to Ocean Dr.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booth4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at The Sagamore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Booth4two,

We appreciate your great feedback after your recent stay with us here at Sagamore. We are delighted to hear such wonderful feedback about our entire staff as they seem to have impacted your stay in a positive manner.

Our staff is always going out of their way to ensure our guests leave with an experience such as yours and truly can be the difference between a good stay and a great one.

We hope you will return to Sagamore in the future and thank you again for taking the time to share your review. See you next time!

Best regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 1,925 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been apart of the hospitality industry for almost 15 years and I can truly say that this team by far is welcoming, genuine and very pleasant! From the moment that we walked into the lobby we were greeted by Linford who took great care of us! We arrived early and needed to sort out a few things on our end and while we did Linford arranged for us to check in early! (After and early morning flight the last thing you want to do is kill time while you wait until an afternoon check-in) The hotel is beautiful and well maintained!! In addition we had a great experience with George at the pool! He took very good care of us even after the pool was closing for the evening, by providing us towels for the next day when we wanted to go out for an early morning stroll on the beach! Once we got to the beach Corey took great care of us by providing us with attentive customer service on the beach. I travel and stay at hotels at least 5-9 times a year and I truly wish that this team was at every hotel that I stay at in the future because they truly made our stay A++!
The hotel its self is a great choice! It is close enough to everything to walk if you want to be apart of the "south beach" and :ocean drive" scene and yet far enough that once you get back you are in your own private oasis!
If you are looking for a hotel filled with art deco and easy on the eye with great hospitality than this is your hotel!!!

Thanks So much!!

Zena from Pa

Room Tip: Go for the 2 story bungalow on the ground level!! Especially if you have 4 people!! The perfect amou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at The Sagamore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Zena H,

Thanks for your excellent 5 star review of Sagamore. We are very pleased that you had such a great experience while here with us.

Our staff truly is the backbone of this property and is one of the main factors in our overall ranking here on trip advisor. From the front of the house to the back, each and every team member here knows the true meaning of customer service and does their part to ensure every guest that leaves here does so with a great overall experience. We will be sure to share your great praise with Linford, Corey as well as the rest of the team here who made your stay so wonderful.

Thanks again for choosing Sagamore and we will see you next time!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I wish to share the great experience that my wife and I had during our recent trip to South Beach. We have stayed at about 15 different hotels over the 20+ years we have been traveling to South Beach but the experience that we had at the Sagamore was the best yet. From the doormen at the entrance to the front desk, concierge and housecleaning, everyone was friendly and helpful. When my wife informed the front desk that it was our fourth stay at the Sagamore, she cheerily upgraded our standard room to the wonderfully secluded privacy of the Bungalows. Our room was the size of an apartment with two stories and a ocean view patio on each. The pool staff was very service minded without being intrusive on our relaxation. While not the newest property on the beach, the Sagamore definitely set the standard for those that followed, with the chic, artsy decor looking every bit as fashionable as when it opened. A great location near shops and restaurants completes the picture. We look forward to our next trip to South Beach and a stay at the Sagamore. We only wish we could return sooner.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a great bargain and large by South Beach standards, but the bungalows are a super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Sagamore was a good choice-off the noisy strip but walkable to it all! Beach front property (which is why we picked it) and nice pool area. The staff was very accommodating to any request and pleasant. Room was very clean. We enjoyed Mickey at the pool bar, who made great drinks and was very friendly. The lunch at the pool was also very good. Enjoyed the whole Miami beach scene. We also went to the Everglades, which was only 45 minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

When we arrived at the Sagamore we were impressed by the clean, white and artistic feel of the lobby. We were also expecting a big room according to the description on the website, but were even more impressed how huge it was. Room was facing Collins Ave. and we were afraid it would be noisy during the night, but it wasn't. Bed was very comfy and we slept well. The design / furniture in the rooms was nice, however you could see the evidence of past years intense usage on the white couch, the table, the tiles and the drawers. Just another evidence that white furniture in hotels look great the first year or so, but not much longer. The room also had a kitchenette, but we could barely use it, as there was neither cutlery nor any cups or plates.
Pool area was very nice, had good food but we preferred the beach (just 2 minutes walk away), where there was also very friendly staff preparing the comfortable beach chairs and provided drinks and food to your preference. Staff was in general very friendly and helpful.
A very special thanks goes to Tatsiana, the concierge, who provided as with excellent recommendations for dining and sightseeing.
Overall, we enjoyed the stay at the Sagamore very much and would choose it again for our next stay at Miami Beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lancaster
1
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very friendly staff, well positioned and clean. Initially given room at front of hotel which was not as nice as we had expected from the website photos it was looked onto Collins ave which produced so much street noise at night that none of us could sleep. We asked next morning to be moved because of this and were moved to one at the side of the hotel which although it had no view to speak of was much quieter and of the standard we had expected. The staff were very prompt in sorting out our complaint. We had booked the room for three and paid the resort fee but even so we were only allowed 2 Sun pointers on the beach and were told we would have to pay extra for the third one which seems unfair also the sofa bed our daughter slept on was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I usually dont write reviews but I said if this hotel lives up to my expectations I will. The Sagamore surpassed my expectations. I stayed at this hotel with two of my friends and we had a blast! The staff was super friendly and it was write on the beach. We literally layed on the beach all day (beach chairs and umbrellas came with the room) and had drinks brought out to us. Amazing! Oh and not to mention the fab decor of the hotel made for a great photo op for my friends and I.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoyallyCurly .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#38 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,514 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#49 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,584 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#36 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,314 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#18 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,998 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sagamore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore Hotel

Address: 1671 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £168 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sagamore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sagamore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach
The Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing