We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "Artist Hotel"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sagamore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagamore
Ranked #76 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The "Artist Hotel"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Sagamore is known as the Artist Hotel; at the heart of the Sagamore Miami art deco hotel is the Cricket Taplin Collection of contemporary art. There is art everywhere you turn; quotes by artists, murals in the stairwell, videos in the garden and other artsy installations throughout the hotel.
Situated within the historic Miami Beach Art Deco District at the crossroads of the Lincoln Road Mall and Collins Avenue,the Sagamore is an easy walk to anywhere you want to go.There is a stunning breakfast room, a poolside grill, and a great bar, where you can watch the sun go down. At the time we were there the Sagamore did not have a dining room, but they say there are plans to open one in 2015. The Spa offers "deals" to guests, so ask when you check in. The swimming pool and its environs are extremely relaxing, with chaise lounges, thick towels, waiters who will take your drink order and other amenities.

All in all a wonderrfully inviting experience. My husband and I stayed in one of the comfortable and modern studio rooms the week before Christmas last year and have already made reservations to return the week before Christmas this year. The difference in price between the week before Christmas and Christmas week is considerable so plan carefully when you want to be there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Jopyxis,

Thanks for taking a moment to share your review of Sagamore. We are glad that you got the opportunity to truly enjoy the Sagamore collection as there truly is no other hotel around with such an extensive array of artwork. Our collection rivals that of many museums and we are very happy that you truly appreciated just how special it is.

Our location is also second to none, as our proximity to Lincoln Road and the surrounding shops and cafes makes Sagamore a perfect place for our guests that want to explore the local area and see exactly what South Beach has to offer.

We are very happy to hear that you plan on returning again this Christmas and we will be sure to provide you with an experience even better than your last. Thanks again for choosing Sagamore and we will see you in December!

Best Regards,
James D’Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    501
    221
    97
    73
See reviews for
546
603
50
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, Nevis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Lovely staff & great art. The rooms and the pool area needs an upgrade. Great location. But it did not give us the wow feeling we were looking for. Not much charm either. Overall ok. It's so many of these kind of hotels in South Beach, so it's hard to know wish one has been upgraded and wish has not. I would probably try an other one next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Hedda W,

We appreciate your feedback after your stay with us at Sagamore. We are sorry that your experience here fell short of your expectations, as we never want our guests to leave with a negative experience.

We are happy to hear that despite your displeasure with the facility, our staff was able to do their part to stand out as a bright spot of your visit here. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with a better experience. We thank you again for choosing Sagamore.

Best Regards,
James D”Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel was the worst hotel on South Beach. The bar was closed through out the whole week of our stay. When asked about this we were told that due to the end of the season everything was slowing down but there was no mention of this in the brochure. There are only a few sun beds around the pool and every day 8 beds were reserved by the pool attendant on the instructions of Kevin the manager regardless of whether the guests were at the beach all day,when asked about this we were told they were returning guests and this is what happens,even though we had to sit on chairs for the day. We complained and the managers' idea of resolving the matter was to reserve 4 beds for us and put our room number on the beds for the other people to see even though we had not asked for this nor would we have wanted this . Check your bill thoroughly before you pay it as there were 2 amounts we did not recognise and when we pointed this out they were taken off the bill. We asked for a late check out when we arrived and was told the hotel was not full and this should not be a problem but when Kevin was asked on our final day he told us the hotel was full and we had to be out of our room at 2pm. We checked with reservations who told us there were plenty of rooms available. We questioned Kevin who was rude and abrupt and put the phone down on us. We proceded to call the manger over Kevin who apologised and gave us a room until we left for the airport. Never will I go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were told we had an ocean view. All we saw were the palm trees right infront of room with a side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 396Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
396Lisa,

Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us here at Sagamore. We are very sorry to hear that your experience was not up to par as you will notice from our many wonderful reviews that this is certainly not a normal occurrence here at Sagamore.

We always do our best to make sure that all our guests experience the service they are looking for and it’s unfortunate that you left with such a less than stellar time. We hope we do get the opportunity in the future to host you again and provide you with a true “Sagamore experience,” and show you exactly why Sagamore has become one of the top hotels here in Miami Beach.

Thanks again for choosing Sagamore and please feel free to reach out to me directly when you would like to return. I have provided my contact info below for your convenience.

Best Regards,
James D‘Agostino
James@Sagamorehotel.com
305.728.3224
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great vacation one of the best time in miami beach. The hotel is clean, good food, nice pool, lovely staff!!! We met Louissaint, a very nice person and very professional!!! He made the sofabed for the kids and talk to them very nice! Give them all informations about where to go, where to do good shopping! We had a child with physical problem and Louissaint was so nice and patient with him!!! We will absolutely comeback!!! Thanks Louissaint.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louvens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Louvens C,

Thanks for your terrific 5 star review of Sagamore. We are thrilled that you and your family had such a great time here with us.

It is obvious that our staff went above and beyond to make sure all aspects of your stay were flawless and Louissaint seems to have especially been a part of this.

We hope you will indeed comeback soon for another “dream vacation.” Thanks again for choosing Sagamore!

Best Regards,
James D’Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Love this hotel! Have stayed here a few times. The hotel is very modern n features different art all the time. The rooms r incredibly spacious. What I really love is that this hotel is very well priced for being located on the beach, with a great pool n fab bar with awesome bartenders! Love the energy of south beach n this hotel is right there, but still private enough to feel removed from the hustle.
U will not b disappointed with the sagamore!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wildwilezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I so wanted to like this hotel based on reviews. The hotel itself is quite pretty and ideally located. Additionally, you are steps from the beach. But the room itself and service were awful. First, my friend and I were booked into a disabled room without our request. So no whirlpool tub to relax in ... only a roll in shower. And the room had not a single hanger in the bathroom to hang a towel, bathrobe, etc. Not sure if this disabled feature (but even a disabled person might want to hang things in the bathroom). Worse, the service was awful. Despite finishing a roll of toilet paper the first day, housekeeping wouldn't leave an extra when they cleaned. And despite a coffee maker in the room, housekeeping never restocked coffee and supplies for it. I finally had to call and ask for coffee and TP (and eventually resorted to stealing TP from the pool area restroom for our room). Not sure I'd go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityNikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
CityNikki,

We appreciate your feedback after your stay with us here at Sagamore. We are sorry to hear that your experience here was not up to par as it is obvious that there were several areas of your stay in which we as a hotel fell short. Great customer service is something that Sagamore has become known for and it is unfortunate that you did not receive the proper experience while here with us.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you directly about your stay here so that we may be sure to correct these issues moving forward. Please feel free to contact me via telephone or email at your convenience. Thank you again for choosing Sagamore and I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you soon.

Best Regards,

James D’Agostino
305.728.3224
James@sagaomorehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I would give it 3 1/2 if I could. Here's why I'm indecisive. Staff is great! Big thumbs up to Zoran and Gregory at the pool. Front desk and valet were as well. We asked for extra towels and a robe. Barely a five minute wait. Location is good and there is a restaurant called Maxine's a block or so away. Great breakfast, 5 dollar mimosas and open late if not 24 hours. I live liquor is cross the street, and the Delano two doors down for night time lounging. The down side is a few things that are important to me and others could care less. Nightlife here at the hotel is non existent. The bar never had people in it. Room service ends early (10pm) and no late night dining options The rooms are a bit worn. They are cleaned daily and are clean in general. The couch in our bungalow had very large dirt marks on all cushions and it's a sofa bed. We think there was a frame or something missing from around the patio door (holes were evident where there were bolts?) and there is a fragrance they use in the hallway that is obnoxious/overwhelming so you exited and entered quickly to escape the smell and not let it in the room. Also you wouldn't think a bungalow would be on a second floor and not accessible to the pool. So now to the pool. Nice but small. Hotel wasn't that full and it was crowded. No music and lots of kids. You had to use chairs in the back man made sand area of the pool. Hello!?! That means guest are dragging sand in the pool, around the pool, etc. if you want sand, you would go to the beach. Speaking of which it is very close, for Sagemore guest only, and nice chairs. I enjoyed it and I'm not a beach person. Again great service by staff and Zoran out there. I might return but there are so many options for different preferences in south beach. I definitely would not tell someone to not come here just understand what this is and isn't. Read the reviews in detail not just the overall ratings (good or bad).

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lcrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#41 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,300 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shelborne South Beach
#61 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#32 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Property: Sagamore
Address: 1671 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach, Florida
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing