We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel”
Review of Sagamore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sagamore
Ranked #90 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We went to Sagamore in Jan 09 to celebrate my fiances 30th with a group of friends... and it was a very BAD experiance. The service was horrible and the room was dirty. The hotel staff were not doing their job, they were just minding their business.....When we checked-in, the front desk was not friendly at all, one person working the counter. Then we went up to our room and noticed that there was no plasma TV's as advertized online. We then found a dirty towel in the bathroom. We called the manager, and after 30 min of talking they put us into a smaller room, which also had broken lights, safe wouldn't lock, and not cleaned properly....
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Last year we went to Lowes and had the best service, the best room, the best time ever! The staff at the Lowes is AMAZING and will never experiment with any other hotels such as the Sagamore.

The hotel was dirty, dead and disgusting!!!! Do not go!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,333 - 1,339 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2009

First of all, THANK YOU to all those people who wrote all those negative reviews on the Fontainebleau--you saved us from making a big mistake!! We booked The Sagamore at the last minute and got a great deal on their website. The hotel is located right in the middle of the action--right next to The Ritz Carlton and a few doors down from the Delano. It is smaller than hotels on the same strip, and has less amenities, but is quiet, clean and our room was FABULOUS. We were in an ocean front 2 story suite, which had 2 balconies with amazing views. The suite was nicely decorated, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely-and spacious. We walked on the jogging path every day--which is right in back of the hotel, and downtown South Beach was an easy 10 minute walk. The pool is on the smaller side, but very nice, and the outdoor seating was very comfortable. The minuses would be that the food is just ok (terrible coffee) and turndown service was not reliable--we actually called for turndown two nights in a row as we were going out and they never showed. But if you are looking for a quiet, lovely boutique hotel, this is the place to stay. FYI, we did hear that the Sagamore is being bought by an Italian group and they will take over in February, so I don't know what changes they will be bringing.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BNSCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Don't book Room/suite 518. Shower leaked on the floor; water faucet wouldn't go hot; double bed too small for the two of us: "We never should have booked two people there." Continental breakfast (you pay extra for it) is from the world's smallest continent. What do you expect for $440 ?!

But..the South Beach location is dynamite...the rear garden/ pool is gorgeous...lunch was delicious. The art/pseudo-art on the walls is diverting. All the personnel extremely friendly and helpful. Robert out front quickly retrieved luggage we'd left at the airport (!!)

We'd definitely go back..but with a little more foresight.

nyvoice

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank nyvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

My 16 yr old Daughter and I had an unbelievable time at the Sagamore. The fun began as we stepped out of the car in front of the hotel. Just being in South Beach is such a happy feeling, so there's nothing worst then not being happy with the hotel. Well that wasn't the case here....the guys at the door were so friendly and helpful. Jessica checked us in and was so nice and very plesant. She couldn't do enough for us, it was so refreshing to see such a happy, nice sweet person. She gave us an unbelievably gorgeous mini suite, we were so happy!!!!! Then Madeline the concierge set us up in all these great resturarant's. She was so nice and very accomadating. And it didn't stop there........Tatsiane and Fernando helped us out with all our other needs and litterally helped with any other requests. They really made us feel like kings. The wait staff at breakfast couldn't do enough for us....even when we showed up late for breakfast, they still served us. I really can't say enough about our wonderful stay and being in the Resturarant buisness for most of my life, I definitely appreciate great service......Thanks Sagamore!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank libra1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

My boyfriend surprised with a trip to the Sagamore the weekend before Christmas. We wanted to be be near the center of the action in SoBe but still be able to have a laid back environment.
The highlight of our visit was our private tour of the incredible art with the hotels art docent, Nicole. The collection is diverse from emerging to better known artist - but her knowledge of the history made you appreciate you were in the finest SoBe Art Hotel. We also appreciated the service from the manager of Desires (concierge) - clever term from showing us around the hotel upon arrival to recommending a great restaurant OLA. Our suite was spacious and chic in design with the bathroom amenities being H20 and a more upscale touch. Remember to bring your IPOD for the radio sound is ok. The suite is large compared to other south beach hotels. Continental breakfast was good with the homemade croissants to die for. Make sure to look at the art in the stairwells - very cool and check out the lobby bathroom. Bizarre but memorable. The mushroom art above the reception area takes you aback. Location was great - being close to the Delano but not the party hotel. chic, sophisticated and convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JudyMakaryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My husband and I passed by the hotel during Art Basel week to view the featured artist at The Sagamore Hotel. The art was incredible and there was a nice buzz in the lobby bar. We were greeted by Nicole at the lobby bar who was very friendly and invited us for some drinks and appetizers. She gave us some wonderful suggestions on places to go out after the Sagamore Hotel. Jack, the bartender, kept the drinks coming. We will definitely be back again!

Stayed: December 2008
Thank lperdomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We came for 10 day stay in the Sagamore and we so loved it! The rooms are fantastic. They are only suites, so you have a bedroom, a livingroom with a little kitchenette, a bathroom (with extra toilet!) and balcony if you choose ocean side. Request a room as high up a possible - the views are amazing! The breakfast is ok - there is a continental breakfast for the guest. You pay $10 per day for this including the deckchairs on the beach and wireless internet, which is great and can be used even on the beach! The staff makes you feel welcomed and all of them are very friendly. We loved the interior, the art (video instllations everywhere, just crazy) - unfortunately the hotel restaurant and bar in the eveing were deserted, but it was somehow quiet betwee thanksgiving and christmas. The pool area is great for lounging, but you have to be early to get the best chairs. We had some "discussions" over them - the best way to avoid it, that you go to the beach. We have choosen the best hotel ever in Miami beach - we have a 18month old son, he loved the hotel, the room (nothing to breack there), the staff loved him, he could run in the garden, the beach puts out little sandplay toys for kids - the pool is warm - the location was absolut great for him and for us! I can recommend it to anyone with small babies.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,430 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#45 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,529 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
SLS South Beach
#41 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,226 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Address: 1671 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £164 - £543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach, Florida
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing