We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place for welcome drinks !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #22 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cool place for welcome drinks !!”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We booked our welcome drinks for the night before our wedding at the Spire Bar. We have never been there before so our decision was based on the reviews we found. We were very happy we picked this place, the event organizer Joe from the hotel did an awesome job and Michael (if I remember well) ran the bar and service wonderfully! We had about 70 people and we all had a great time! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    524
    116
    54
    26
See reviews for
149
951
107
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The Hotel's newly renovated rooms are in a great location only if you are into walking out into the midst of hundreds of people. To go in and out of the newly renovated wing you have to walk through the News Cafe. Despite this drawback we never heard a sound from the outside, though inside we did hear doors slamming, heels clicking and housekeepers talking loudly in the hallways. Our room was beautiful, contemporary, done in perfect taste, clean, well appointed, terry bathrobes, slippers, a sufficient amount of towels and a large well lighted bathroom, front desk service was super nice. Every single staff member was smiling and helpful. The original hotel's rooftop bar and pool are great looking, their restaurant is lovely though we didn't have the chance to try it out. This place is great for guests who are not squeamish about weir & crazy/scary people lurking right around the corner from their hotel. I would recommend going during the week and definitely not during a holiday or on the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thymetoparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Friendly staff, excellent location, funky art deco hotel. However, if you are thinking of a good night sleep, forget it about it. Just as well, we were so jet lagged for the 3 days that we stayed there, it wasn't too much of a problem. Couldn't sleep anyway.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay at this newly found gem. From the moment we pulled in to checkout, our experience was top notch. Great location, very helpful staff/perfect service and reasonable rates make this a hotel we will use again. Make sure you join the gold club to take advantage of selected discounts while you are there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorgasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We had a wonderful vacation in South Beach and it was truly because of this amazing hotel. The service was like nothing I have ever experienced. From the moment we arrived Jim was grabbing our bags from the taxi and gave us many options before check in time. The entire staff, Estaban, David, Jim treated us like they had known us for years and they were there only to make our stay amazing.
The Hotel is impeccably clean and stylish. Great clientele, fashionable yet friendly. The room was spotless and perfect. The shower was to die for. You could fit 3 people in it and we loved the rainshower head. The central air was a big plus.
Honestly we have been coming to South beach for 5 years and this was our best trip. We didn't go to the beach as much because we love the rooftop pool, bar and cabanas. I just can't say enough good things. We will return every year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsCecile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This is my 4th stay in SoBe and I finally found a hotel I can come back to! We booked this based on the location (Collins Ave.) and the pictures. I am very particular about my bathrooms and I must say this room exceeded my expectations. I thought all the SoBe hotels for around $200-$300 were just worn down but not this one. Very happy with the service, location, room and overall experience here.

We will come back.

Only concern was they had the beach towels on the beach in a small hut which was kinda hard to find since it didn't say the hotel's name. Also, they never had anymore beach towels or chairs available for us. This was annoying since we were on their hotel guest list and I left my towel at home to save space in my bag.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinky08Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonymous
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

First the concern. The management attempted to shunt us into a room in another building on Beach Ave. This was an inferior room away from the ambience of the main hotel, and was never mentioned in earlier correspondence. To their credit, this was quickly altered after my complaint. Avoid this 'annex'.

The hotel itself is a classy take on the Art Deco theme for which the Beach is famous. Our final room was very spacious. Unfortunately it was on the busiest corner, and we were entertained by an inventive variety of noise until the wee hours.But then, one doesn't go to SoBe for the quiet.

Great food in the house restaurant 'Wish'. Unbelievable good, complimentary 'continental' breakfast. Wonderful coffee and the best croissant I have ever had, but I won't give it all away. Exceptional night time rooftop bar nobody seems to know about.

The staff is generally very friendly and helpful.

Best possible location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaquesspratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing