We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #20 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My mom and I stayed at this hotel for four nights. It is a great value for the area, perfect location and the staff was great. Room was small but clean and unique with art deco style. You are a block from the beach and receive free beach chairs for staying at the hotel (super easy/convenient). Easy walking distance to bars/cafes/restaurants on the beach strip. Also near many other fun restaurants, movie theater and shops--blocks away. Would go back. There is a restaurant on the property that we did not try, but heard it was good and a rooftop bar and pool. Very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Italy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    516
    116
    52
    25
See reviews for
147
937
104
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed at The Hotel with my husband for 3 nights back in October (part of our honeymoon) and we were very disappointed. I'm confused by some of the reviews for this hotel since our experience was quite different.

Problems we had:

A significant leak in our room which soaked our luggage (we were moved to a better room for the second night).

There were NO WINDOWS in our room. Well, there were sort of windows. They were covered with an opaque plastic so you couldn't actually see the outside world or open them.

The food at the restaurant was terrible and overpriced. I mean, actually inedible.

The staff was consonantly trying to sell us tours and other services to the point of which we would deliberately try to sneak by them when entering the hotel.

The bill at check-out was completely wrong. Only one item out of four was correct.

FIND A DIFFERENT HOTEL FOR THE MONEY!

Room Tip: If you choose this hotel spend more to get the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We chose this hotel for the location and rooftop deck and pool. Both were great, but we also loved the constant service, whether we were looking for a cool drink in the garden mid-afternoon or a taxi to the airport, the attentive staff were always anxious to help us out. We had a great time walking everywhere, to the beach to watch the sunrise, or out to dinner on Ocean Drive, or people-watching on Lincoln Road. We also hopped a bus just across the street to visit Bayside. The hotel reminded me of Europe in that our room was tiny (with no view, thanks to a frosted glass window facing the building next door) with a mini-bathroom to match, but the variety of lounge areas more than compensated. And we were very pleasantly surprised when we realized we could watch the New Year's Eve fireworks display from the roof. A real pleasure all around.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbyBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at The Hotel for a couple of days in Mid January 2012.

The staff (especially Esteban and David) were fantastic.
They had great recommendations for appetizers/drinks, lunch, dinner, etc. Every time we walked into the hotel, we were greeted with a smile and a hello. Location for the hotel is a bonus as you are just blocks from everything.

The rooftop pool is awesome.
We hung out at the beach for a couple of hours ... and then relaxed at the rooftop pool for drinks in the late afternoon.

The rooms are small (which we were prepared for by reading other reviews) but the bed is comfortable and the bathrooms are very nice. The walls are a little thin, but not overly bothersome for us.

For the price in south beach (which can be extravagant), this was definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickmc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Hotel was so nice, enjoyed my nights here. Pool was nice with a fantastic view of Miami Beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooz2757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

First time we've ever been to Miami Beach and found this hotel to have solid reviews and a decent price (for South beach). The location was great - easy to get around walking or with a short cab ride.

The hotel room was very clean but also very small. The location or your room is key, we ended up in the older section which had a view of a parking ramp next door. The biggest down side to the hotel was the noise. We could hear the neighbors very easily and because you are in South Beach, they neighbors come and go all night.

The staff was fantastic! From the desk to the bar, we had fun meeting and getting to know them. I highly recommend having a few drinks at the bar prior to your night out. They had a great happy hour special and the staff helped us pick out restaurants each night.

The pool was closed during our trip which would have been good information to provide when we booked but the beach more than made up for it. The hotel sets up chairs and towels for you. We rented an umbrella and had a great day - lots of fun people watching, etc.

Overall, if I ever went back to Miami Beach I would stay here again. Very close to everything and it was the best pricing I could find for 2 nights that close to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the beach side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

If you are looking to stay near south beach, this is it. Great location, two short blocks from Ocean Drive, and easy walks to restaurants and shopping. The staff was very friendly and the room was nice as well. Comfortable bed and small but nice bathroom. The rooftop pool was fabulous with a great view of the ocean.

The in house restaurant was pricy, but right around the corner was The News Cafe. Open 24/7 with great breakfasts and awesome view. Could sit for hours people and car watching.

If you are looking for some nice restaurants, avoid most of Ocean Drive, the staff hammer you as you walk by to come in. Walk up a few blocks to Espanola Way or Lincoln Drive. Lots of great choices on these blocks.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,614 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing