We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #21 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
preston
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“too noisy!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

First impressions are great as you walk out of the heat into the cold air-con in the stylish lobby. But the Designer Room in the old block has a weird frosted glass window so no natural light and it's poky- not enough room to store cases. Worse still, the walls and ceiling are too thin- any noise from fellow guests travels right through including during the night. After 4 nights of interrupted sleep we finally complained enough to get ourselves an upgrade to the superior new block on the corner of Ocean Drive. This was much better- spacious and comfortable. But what kind of 'suite' is it that doesn't provide in-room coffee and tea making facilities? Staff are fine and there's free internet. For dining, try Washington Avenue (Grazie, Bolivar, Oh! Mexico, Austens are all recommended) rather than the mediocre food, drink and service on Ocean.

Room Tip: Head for the new block if you can afford it, avoid the old block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robatleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    532
    120
    53
    27
See reviews for
153
973
111
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We traveled to South Beach for July 4th and decided to stay at The Hotel. It is a very nice property, great location convenient to everything. We had a great time!! The room was clean, and surprisingly quiet given the location. Pricing wasn't bad for where we were staying. The pool is small but very nice on the roof of the building.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Atelier room, the building had an entrance on Ocean Drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krazykake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had high hopes for The Hotel as we had heard it was good from reviews- so we paid the extra to stay here and it mostly didn't disappoint. Although the initial welcome we got from the receptionist when checking in was poor- she couldn't seem to use the credit card machine and seemed like she didn't want to be there- But once we saw our room we were happy - the rooms are an adequate size with lovely features such as a big window seat (which makes up for no balconies) and the wetroom is small but decorated superbly and the comfiest bed we have probably ever stayed on! I think its worth staying here if you want to be in the thick of it- however if we went again we would choose the bigger hotel chains with balconies located higher up the beach near the W Hotel etc as it looked a nicer, quieter stretch of Miami beach

Pros-
One of the only roof top pools in Miami- its fairly small but when we visited it was quiet so lots of sun loungers and views of the sea
Perfect location on 8th street right by the beach, bars, bus stops, ocean drive, restaurants etc
Very clean everywhere and cleaner visits twice a day- once to fully clean room then again later to offer clean towels and a turn down service

Cons-
It seems if you weren't paying the $15 each+ tip at the pool bar for an average cocktail they weren't interested in you just wanting to drink water
Abit pushy on selling you the day trips- we just wanted to relax and we ended up trying to avoid certain people by the end of the holiday as we couldn't say no to them!
The restaurant menu is tiny and over priced! We heard the 'Wish' restaurant was award winning but all we saw were average looking burgers and chips when people ordered food at the pool- so we didn't eat there once- that was disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JANE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Location wise The Hotel is perfect. Service generally good, apart from a little glitches when the ber man was also doing room service, which meant I was waiting at the bar for 10 minutes.
My room was spot on, and great value for money. Love the wet room.
I can see why guests rave about the roof top pool, which has a small fitness room attached to.
Just be weary if you're not looking for a late night partying. Was regularly woken up by drunken inconsiderates returning at 4 am.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I have stayed here at least 10 times, the staff is very professional and welcoming. I am a gold member and treated as such. They remember me each and everytime I come and they know I will return every year. I love it so much, I am willing to relocate just to become part of
"The Hotel" family. I have traveled with kids and traveled without kids and the treatment is the same. I am preparing to return the week of 6/19/12

Room Tip: Ocean Dr rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Great Hotel, great location, great service, pleasant people, awesome staff!
Right in the middle of everything! Beach right down the street.
The room was eclectic (especially the bathroom, open space, bright and colorful). Room was a great size and comfortable bed.

Rooftop pool and bar a plus.

Would definitely recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukiri00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Ok, I have stayed at this hotel at least ten times. It's consistently good and the location is fantastic! It's a sexy, adult gem right in the best part of South Beach. Most of my trips have been in off-season. My advice, bring your partner and leave the kids at home to stay here. They take kids, but why would you bring your kids to South Beach?!?!?!?
So, the best part, the rooftop pool! It's very laid-back and sexy. It's "European" or "Miami" or whatever you want to call it. The bottom line is that you can wear whatever you want or don't want here (topless). The pool is run by the bartenders and they are great! Especially Martin (that's Mar-Tin, with the accent on the last syllable). They make great drinks, and do whatever to make you happy. The pool is generally not too busy depending at what time of the year you go. Please, ladies, take your tops off at this pool!! It makes everyone else more comfortable and you're in Miami! LOL...
One other thing to know about the pool: they lock it up at night but there's a back stairway that takes you up there 24 hours. Great for midnight skinny-dip ;-)
The rooms aren't spectacular here; they are small but very functional and well designed by Todd Oldham. They have been exactly the same for the last ten years, but that's okay; they still work. The beds are comfy and the showers are great! Besides, who wants to hang out in your room? You're in Miami, Trick!!!!
That said, get out and play! The Hotel is a central location to see all the fun of SoBe. My advice, you won't need a car here. Shopping, the beach, restaurants, bars, etc. are just a few blocks away. Just walk or cab; it unless you want to head up to Haulover Beach (Miami's nude beach, which, BTW, is the best nude beach I've ever been to). You can take the bus up A1A to get there ..... but that's another review.
So, leave the kiddies at home and stay here for a sexy Miami getaway...

Room Tip: The best rooms are the one's that overlook 8th Street on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunNudists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 208 in Miami Beach
429 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
465 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,387 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
270 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing