We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, great staff and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #19 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
tetbury
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great, great staff and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

2 days spent at this hotel just before christmas was not enough. From arriving at the front desk to leaving in a cab, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Service was attentive without being overbearing, with each member reliably enthusiastic. John on the concierge desk seemingly knows everything and everyone in Miami and always had a great suggestion for any query.

Only minor gripe was the small room (103) which did not have an opening window or view, however, the room was well equipped and acceptable for an overnight stay.

Overall a really enjoyable stay at a lovely hotel made great by the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, preferably above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djbTetbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    512
    113
    52
    24
See reviews for
146
926
102
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at The Hotel for three Christmas days coming from New York and Key West before returning to Norway. The Hotels staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. We were actually smiling the entire stay. Especially thanks to David at the front desk and the surprising upgrade we received up on arrival, and to Concierge John whose interest and knowledge made our smiles even wider. The Penthouse on the 4th floor was privately placed next to the rooftop pool and the small, but efficient gym. Fantastic location. This is a no brainer, we’re definitely coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just a short one-night stay, prior to heading to Key West the next day. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, and we got upgraded us to a quiet room, which we appreciated- as we enjoy South Beach more for the art-deco design than the all-night partying. Enjoyed the rooftop deck with the complimentary signature drink, after dark, which can be quite romantic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for my birthday vacation with my baby daughter 2 yrs old , we were greeted upon our late arrival by Daniel, who was very helpful and actually helped us get a more comfortable room with a king size bed since we had a baby.
Our overall stay at The. Hotel was very pleasant, the staff was so kind and sweet with my little girl , she always wanted to go to the lobby to see her friends David, Daniel, John, and all the other guys.....Thank you so much ,
They provided me with a crib for my daughter and helped me with baby needs as well, nothing seemed like a problem for them.
The pool is very nice as well for relaxing or having a drink, fresh towels, water and a nice view.
We felt at home after staying there 9 days..... And my daughter really had a good time and knew the staffs names , as they were so friendly with her.
This does not happen too often in many hotels

I definetely would recommend this Hotel for all these reasons and for it's awesome location.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eveandsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Hotel has a great location one block from Ocean Drive and the staff are very friendly/helpful. The rooftop pool is ok with views of the sea. This is only a small basic hotel which served its purpose for our 48hrs stay, but it could be a cracking boutique hotel if they spent some money on the interior. Hotel lobby and dining/bar area lacked atmosphere, the rooms were basic and the furniture dated, room safe archaic but functional.

Not sure we would stay here again but based on the amount of times individual hotel staff asked us to review them on Tripadvisor, I have no doubt it will keep improving. Consequently I would recommend for short stay only based on strong location.

Room Tip: Only a four storey hotel with a single penthouse on the 4th floor. Book this for some views if budge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I recently stayed at The Hotel in Miami Beach, I was traveling home for the holidays and had to make it somewhere warm quick. I booked in the morning and I checked in at noon. Great experience booking and checking in. I had a few hours to kill before my flight the next afternoon, got some good advice from the concierge and made my way for some last minute shopping. Following the short stroll to the shops spending the last of my Christmas money on presents for the family I returned to the hotel.

Received a voucher for a welcome beverage on the roof, enjoyed my beverage watching the sun set with the cruise ship departing. It is a nice place for a night cap, I'm sure it is a great spot when it is busy.

After having a shower I got some advice from the staff for the best steak house, again just a short walk from The Hotel. The shower was slow draining and the curb less shower started flooding the bathroom. Not a huge problem for me but it could cause a concern for some.

I would suggest they upgrade the in room safe. I didn't feel very safe about the condition of mine. All and all my short stay was a great stay, no complaints from this guy.

Kudos to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed it tremendously. Hotel is in a great location in South Beach (8th and Collins). The beach is a block away, nice restaurants and designer stores are within walking distance. It is a quite spot in a middle of a really busy, touristy area in Miami (Ocean Drive is a block away). Gym and pool are a highlight and are located on the roof with great views, which is the 4th floor I believe so it is not a tall hotel. If you are seeking a large, bustling, resort style hotel with many restaurants, more than one pool, a big lobby, etc., than it is best to go elsewhere. We had breakfast at the on-site restaurant one day and liked it in comparison to nearby cafes and was a nice change, although generally we have had better breakfasts as it is a big deal for us and would consider the food here average (although difficult to find anything better nearby). Staff were very friendly as testified by other tripadvisor members, and did go above and beyond. Concierge services was spot on when we booked a couple tours. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to friends and family

Room Tip: We had a Designer room on the third floor overlooking the court yard restaurant below. It was large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sohail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#37 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing