We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #21 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was absolutely blown away by the hotel. Its right within walking distance to all of the landmarks, including a stones throw from the beach. I was on a budget, so I had to go with a pretty modest price point (which the Hotel provided). The food was excellent, the drinks were even better. The roof top pool was incredible. But, we really appreciated the friendly and accommodating staff - all around. Everyone here was a joy to be around! Would definitely stay here again over and over!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel of South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

First time to South Beach and found this hotel online. I wasn't sure what to expect in terms of hotel noise, street noise etc. So lucky to have landed here. I asked for a quiet room and I got a very quiet room. There was construction going on outside but I wasn't in the room during the day. The Hotel is a stone's throw from the beach - it has great roof deck with pool and view of the beach and palm trees. And it isn't right on the strip - so all the night club bar noise and late night party people are far enough away. It is pretty pricey but it is February :) and frankly I didn't care since I needed to get out of frozen New England.

GREAT service - super nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We booked our room in September for being in the Miami Marathon in February and got a great rate. The accommodations were wonderful and the staff was outstanding and professional. Everyone was so friendly and knowledgable and gave us superb recommendations of surrounding restaurants and things to do. So many good places to eat and drink and be entertained close by. John, our concierge, was phenomenal and a valuable asset. Our room was small but acceptable and kept quite clean. The pool was wonderful and the rooftop sun was outstanding.Went to the beach everyday which was a convenient short walk.We love South Beach and would stay here again. Highly recommend interested parties check out their website and give them a chance. You'll have a good time and the location is in the heart of much to do.

Room Tip: Our room did not face the ocean so if you want that view please ask. We were on third floor and it...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunPartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Hotel of South Beach was fantastic - the location is perfect (a block away from the beach and within walking distance to restaurants/bars/clubs) and the service is awesome. They (very smartly) give each guest a complimentary drink- their very own "Spire" which is so delicious I ordered it at the lovely hotel bar at least once daily thereafter after my free sample.

Esteban- the concierge- was incredible and made our trip. He is jovial and friendly and helped us pick out restaurants each day; his recommendations were impeccable. He also recommended & booked a tour of Miami for us which was fantastic. He always greeted us with a smile and was beyond helpful. He is the crowning glory of this hotel and he truly made our trip go from okay to amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed two nights (Wednesday and Thursday) in one of their oceanfront suites. I had been for drinks at the Spire bar before and the beautiful pool area enticed me to finally make a stay of it.

The construction along Collins made getting there difficult, but the front desk staff was friendly. Getting self parking at the local garage was easy and close by. The walk from main building on Collins to their latest addition on Ocean was quick. The only issue is not having a more direct route within the building to do so, but that's impossible since an alley divides the two buildings. There was a second front desk person and the door is locked at night, which is reassuring. We were celebrating and there was champagne in the room, which was such a nice touch. The room itself was large, by SoBe standards, well appointed, sporting the Todd Oldham designs; however, two of the lights were burnt out and weren't replaced during our stay, but I hadn't mentioned it to anyone, so it would appear that the cleaning staff doesn't make it a common practice to check for these things.

Although called Ocean front, the room faces Ocean drive, but during the day, you can see the beach and ocean in the distance. You should note that on the corner units, the balcony lights stay on without automatically, but the black out drapes are as welcome to blunt some of the street sound as the sunrise that your room faces. I am a heavy sleeper, so the weekday noise (which is usually much much lighter than weekends, even with News Cafe right below) didn't bother me.

We didn't eat at Wish, but a bite at News Cafe was very convenient, standard fare, and fun people watching.

On this trip it was raining quite a bit, so we didn't get to enjoy the rooftop bar like we'd plan or the complimentary drinks we were offered on arrival.

In all, having been at other Ocean drive hotels, this has been a perfect mixture of boutique luxury and prime location. If you're going to splurge on the ocean front suite, ask for a high room if you're a light sleeper. Other options on Ocean might give you more luxury, but you'd be farther up near 14th with a partial view; or perhaps a smaller room w/out a view, or perhaps in one of the taller buildings with a view, but none of those have the beautiful rooftop pool and bar.

Room Tip: If you're going to splurge on the ocean front suite, ask for a high room if you're a light s...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bongo_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel is well located on Collins Avenue. It is not a beachfront hotel, but rather one of the classic small art deco hotel properties that line the avenue. This hotel has a very beautiful rooftop pool. The rooms are average. Tastefully appointed (apparently designed by Todd Oldham) but quite small and they bleed a lot of noise from the hallway. My room faced the hotel next door, so there was a high level of AC and construction noise if the window was open. Also, the windows were frosted - presumably to block the unpleasant view of alleyway dumpsters or whatnot. The front desk staff were friendly and polite and the valet was not unreasonably slow. The wireless internet in my room would only work if I was in close proximity to the door of the room, which was annoying but not the end of the world. All in all it was a pleasant stay and is probably one of the better options if you choose to stay in the art deco district. Definitely one of the most beautiful pools in the neighbourhood though!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Collins Ave or the side street, avoid the other two sides of the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KilgoreTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

As part of a photography workshop, we stayed 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed this unique hotel. Though not with an ocean view, our room, the Atelier , was spacious with deco decor. Kudos to our bellman, Jean Paul, for toting our luggage to the annex part of hotel in torrential rain. The rooftop pool was so nice and atmospheric. Delicious complimentary cocktails upon arrival. We'd gladly return.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are in the annex on Ocean Blvd.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#26 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,305 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 210 in Miami Beach
501 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 210 in Miami Beach
479 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#13 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £118 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing