We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #21 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bentleyville, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place, great location”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel was Average because there were a few negatives. The positives were: great location, could walk to everything, you are halfway to Lincoln rd shopping, a few steps away from ocean drive and the ocean/beach, and then halfway to south pointe beach area. The hotel was clean, roof top deck with cabanas was really nice- the only negative about that was people were constantly smoking up there. That ruined the clean environment. Everyone was nice except the guy who checked us in.
Negatives: smoking allowed in all common areas outside- ruins the rooftop pool area, if the people around you are noisy then the hotel will be noisy for you. There was someone above us who throughout the middle of the night sounded like they were constantly moving furniture making it hard to sleep. One of the biggest disappointments was we were celebrating our 10th anniversary and I wrote this in the comments. I kind of thought that they hotel would do something since they are not just your average hotel. When we checked in we were told we could get a room upgrade for $30 more per night. I would have expected this to be a free upgrade considering what I wrote in my reservations. But no. So this really disappointed me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraBentleyville_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    525
    118
    53
    26
See reviews for
150
957
109
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed for 2 nights. Room was comfortable and quiet. Only noise was at 6 a.m. When people were coming in from the after-hours clubs and music festival. Room was clean. Small, but clean. Miami was very busy due to an international music festival. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Concierge gave me an excellent Italian dining suggestion. Bellmen were so accommodating. One block from South Beach and surrounded by excellent dining options. I was on the second floor facing the busy street and I did not find the street noise to be disturbing. Rooftop pool was clean and pretty. Only downside is the treadmills in the gym looked old and rusty and I was afraid to hop on. I paid $230 per night and it is not an outrageous price considering the location. Other properties were much more expensive. Breakfast was overpriced, but hotels generally charge more for food and beverage. I would come back for the value and location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just arrived back from 6 days staying at The Hotel South Beach Miami. We arrived during Urban Beach Week so there were an extra couple of thousand people in town parading along Ocean Drive. We had a room in the back part of the hotel on Ocean Drive, the main part of the hotel is on Collins Drive. Ocean drive was barricaded so that cars could not go down due to the crowd.

This location is excellent you are right in the thick of it, with News Café downstairs that is open 24/7. Once we were in our room we could not hear any noise, even with one of Miami's major weekends going on , on our doorstep. The Atelier room that we had was spacious with a great bathroom, very clean and modern.

The concierge staff on our side were excellent and so friendly, big shout out to Caesar who recommended great restaurants.

The main part of the hotel is where the Rooftop pool and bar are. This is a great place to hang out and have cocktails or food, with great music and ambience and a fantastic view of Ocean Drive and the beach.

If you do want to go to the beach each room has access to 2 beach chairs. The only downside is you did have to pay for an umbrella.

Miami beach is one of my favourite locations in the states and this is now my favourite place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section it was only renovated 2 years ago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We wanted a short excursion and packed a bag and headed for South Beach. We found The Hotel almost by accident.

Beginning with the Valet, everyone, truly everyone, showed kindness and concern for our enjoyment of our stay. We were given excellent advice for meals and entertainment on Ocean Drive.

The hotel was a tranquil area in high energy SoBe. The decor had numerous delightful surprises and is well thought out. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

We were able to check out in the morning and have free use of beach chairs if we wished until 5 pm as well as facilities to shower and change.

Thought not inexpensive, the value for the room rate was excellent and we will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecilyAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We came half way across the world from the UK on a flight to Miami, on a weekend, carrying our heavy suitcases without a clue where we was gonna stay. It was like 10pm.

After trying ALL of the hotels in south beach and ALL of them being filled apart from a horrible grotty vile hotel I forgot the name of.

We used trip advisor to find The Hotel.

And long story make short. It was very clean. The staff were polite. It was in a good secondary location, just a short 1 minute walk from the main strip of south beach. The price was HIGH and the rooms decorated very basic. But like I say, clean. So that's fine.

If this hotel was $100-$130 a night I'd say it was a bargain. But at $230+ it seems EXPENSIVE.

Would I recommend it? Nope. Unless you can't find anywhere else and you've just come off a 10 hour flight at and arrived at 10pm :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattwantingtoexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed at many hotels all over the world and I have never been treated so well! The entire staff was very friendly and efficient. They would do all they could to make you feel as though you were a very important guest! Great location near South Beach and The News Café. Also, complimentary lounge chairs with towels provided.. make your trip to the beach even more pleasant. Concierge was always willing to help in any way, as they would go above and beyond to offer their services. They gave wonderful tips on where to eat and what to see and were more than happy to make any arrangements for us. The pool was very relaxing with a lovely rooftop view of South Beach. Our room was clean and decorated nicely. I would most definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenC122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Hotel was amazing!

It was our second visit to Miami’s SoBe and the Hotel exceeded our expectations.
Hotel is split into two buildings and located a block away from the Ocean. We have stayed 6 nights in the property faced the Ocean Drive.On our arrival, we have received the complementary drink vouchers. The Sparkling wine and fruit platter were delivered to our lovely room as the Anniversary treat! Very beautiful touch and surprise!
Our room was spacious, decorated in the art deco style, very clean, with big bed and modern bathroom.
We used the beach access once only as we preferred the beautiful roof pool area, perfect place to relax, the ocean view was stunning, and the sun loungers were always available. We even used the gym.
We enjoyed breakfasts and dinners served in the News Café .

Overall: Great Location and excellent staff which make you feel welcomed! We wish we could stay longer.
Would definitely recommend this beautiful property and we would like to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeLecq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 208 in Miami Beach
403 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,746 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
249 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
455 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing