We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #21 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in South Beach”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel must be the best in South Beach, which I havent stayed at them all, I can not The Hotel at all.

We were visiting South Beach as part of our honeymoon, and all the staff were welcoming and helpful. Ben remembered our name and would greet us by our new "Mr & Mrs" names every time we saw him. Nothing was too much trouble.

Neil upgraded our room to the Atelier (for a discounted price) and it was amazing. Huge room, amazing shower, and dead quiet at night. I was a little alarmed when there were ear plugs on the bed side table, but they were not required! We stayed over a weekend and didnt hear any music or going ons outside at all. I am a fussy sleeper, and this room was just perfect for a good nights rest after exploring Miami beach.

The pool is amazing too. The photos make it look a bit small, but really it is just perfect. Nice a warm too, and a great view of the ocean from the rooftop pool.

I will always stay here if we return to South Beach again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for one of the rooms on ocean drive. Dont be put off by the possible street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    524
    116
    54
    26
See reviews for
149
949
107
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

As my headliner says, this hotel is located just off Ocean Drive at South Beach. Large and clean rooms. Typical Miami art style. Parking is really bad though. I had to use the Valet parking service. Doesn't cost much though. Worth it. Nice staff!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipcider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monongahela, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have been taking vacations to South Beach every year for about 20 years. This was the first time staying at The Hotel! It proved to be a great change.
I arrived on July 4th and was given a free upgrade on my room because I have a Gold Card.I chose a spacious room on the second floor in the building on Ocean Drive. The bathroom was large with a rain shower. Continental breakfast was also included on my Gold Card reservation. My king bed was very comfortable. There was some late night noise because my room was across from Wet Willies, but that was to be expected.
Viewing fireworks from the rooftop pool deck was fabulous. I enjoyed the barbeque and music while watching the fireworks.
The Hotel is in a great location and is an easy walk to restaurants on Ocean Drive, Espanola Way, and Lincoln Road.
The entire hotel staff is helpful and courteous especially JP for being so friendly and helpful.Lares does a great job taking care of everyone at the beautiful rooftop pool and is also very friendly. Alexa was very good at the front desk and Louis Joseph remembered me from our days at The Park Central. He gave me a very nice welcome.
The Hotel will be my new home away from home when I visit South Beach again!

Room Tip: Take advantage the benefits of their Gold Card!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorenzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel of South Beach for seven nights beginning July 1, 2014. We had previously stayed at a hotel on 10th and Ocean for ten years each summer and found ourselves a little apprehensive about the change. We could not have been happier about the change. I have tried to think of one negative thing to say about the Hotel of South Beach but cannot. The staff was friendly and helpful yet in no way overbearing. Our room was small but clean, very comfortable and very quiet. We asked for a quiet room on the third floor and that is exactly what we were given. The staff at the beach where we had our beach chairs were also friendly and accommodating. We will be back next summer for a longer stay!

Room Tip: Third floor on Collins and 8th Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel of South Beach, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you SO much for such 5 star review!
We are very glad you had a good time while here with us. Changing a 10 year routine involves a lot, we know... So thank you for choosing us and taking a chance. Our hotel and staff takes a lot of pride in providing good memories to our guests!!
It will be amazing to have you next year again!
Please let us know directly of your future dates. As a repeat guest you have many advantages...

You can contact me directly or email our Reservations Team at reservations@goldmanproperties.com

Have a beautful day!!

Sincerely,

Nara Azevedo - Sales Manager - The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I absolutely love this hotel. The staff was very courteous and helpful from the time we arrived til the time we left. The location is right in the middle of it all. We had a rental but there was no need for it. It is only a short walk to the beach, nightlife, restaurants and shopping. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and we were not disturbed by nightlife noise. I will definitely stay here next time I visit Miami!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meagan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights break. It was our first trip to Miami and the location of the hotel was so central- as it walking distance to resturant, shopping and of course the beach. We loved every minute of our stay in the hotel. The staff were awesome and so friendly. Would definitely stay next time when we take our children to Miami beach. It was not easy to decide on a hotel as we read all the reviews before we booked this one but I am pleased that it was worth for the money we paid and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nfamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Let me start off by saying this hotel was awesome!!!! From the staff, to the rooms, to the food, to the location.....and let's not forget all of the amenities! I read reviews about the noise level...and while they give you free ear plugs....there is no need in using them! We were actually over top of a store, and the most noise we heard was the music playing at the clothing store beneath our room...and even still that wasn't bad. The location of the hotel is perfect! Oh...and let's not forget the rooftop pool. They offer free chaise chairs at the beach everyday during your stay. I would recommend this hotel with 10 stars! I am planning my next trip already and we just got back in town yesterday!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeketaWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing