We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hakuna Matata”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #20 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hakuna Matata”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My friend and I just returned from Miami today. We stayed at The Hotel of South Beach and couldn't have been happier with our selection. They have everything you need to be comfortable. The rooms were clean and cozy. The staff was super helpful and friendly. The food was amazing.

Lares the rooftop bartender was so nice and handsome. He made great drinks with a smile. He recommended the steak and eggs to us for breakfast one morning. It was spot on. The rooftop pool is awesome. You can see the beach and the action from the streets from the roof.

The location of the hotel is prime real estate. You are in the center of everything. Wet Willies and Mangos is only a block away. This was great for us, because we hung out pretty late into the night. We didn't need a car or cab to get anywhere and the streets were lit up at night around the hotel so it felt very safe. With all the partying going on around the hotel it was surprisingly quiet once you got into the hotel. Our room was super quiet which was great for us in the morning as we needed to recover from the night before.

Oh! The rooftop has a bathroom and shower that can be used by all guest before, during, and after check out. Dan "The Man" was our bellman. It is our understanding that he usually works in the corporate office during the week but he was there to help out this weekend. He was so pleasant and ensured our bags were safe after we checked out of our rooms. Our flight left at 6pm and check out was at noon. He also called our cab so we didn't have to worry.

I have stayed in many hotels and private rentals in Miami. This is by far the best hotel. I will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    516
    116
    52
    25
See reviews for
147
937
104
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel staff were all very friendly and professional. They were willing, able, and capable to go the extra distance to make your stay extra special. A great value for the class, location, rooms and amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel of South Beach, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for such nice words! Our entire staff thanks you!!
We are now waiting for your future stay with us! To assist you in creating more pleasant and unforgettable memories!

Please let us know of your next visit. Contact me or our reservations team directly at reservations@goldmanproperties.com

Have a great South Beach day!

Sincerely,

Nara Azevedo - Sales Manager - The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a great place to hang out. The mojitos at the rooftop bar are amazing - very refreshing on a hot July day! Rooms are beautiful and worth the price. If you're in Miami and didn't book this hotel, go in and check it out. If you stop at the front desk, they will let you go up to the bar to check it out. I guarantee you'll want to stay here next time you visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel of South Beach, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We really really appreciate your 5 star review!! Thank you very much!!
We are glad you got to experience our Frozen Mojitos.. One of our specialties!!
Once more thank you for your referral, we are also sure anyone that sees the roof top pool and amazing view, among other things, will also want to stay with us!!!

Please let us know of your next visit to South Beach. We would love to have you back!!
Contact us directly at reservations@goldmanproperties.com or through me. It will be my pleasure to assist.

Have a beautiful day!!

Sincerely,

Nara Azevedo - Sales Manager - The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I needed to pick a hotel for a block of rooms for the night before my sons wedding on a cruise ship and chose The Hotel of South Beach by reviews and pictures, and I I'm so pleased to say, it could have not been better. Guest rooms were roomy, bathrooms and amenities were great, we loved the rooftop pool and bar, even with the rain we were all able to gather in the cabanas and enjoy the company and the cocktails. The entire group relaxed on the spacious porch and was never without someone asking us if we needed something. Which brings me to the staff, kudos to everyone of them, front desk, bellman, bartenders, housekeeping, reservations, concierges, and a general manager who should be very proud. I'm so sorry in all the craziness of a wedding I didn't get names except for John Durham, an outstanding concierge, whom was my lifeline during planning. Again thank you all for a wonderful experience from all of us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel of South Beach, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Your 5 star review to our hotel and staff is amazing!!! Thank you SO much!! We loved to read that, because we all love what we do... It was indeed a special moment for your group, and knowing everyone had such a great time and created such incredible memories remind us of what we are here for! For our guests and for those superb lifetime memories!!!

You have my direct contact, please dont ever hesistate to contact us for any future stay, of yours or any friends and family!!
We are here for you!!

Have an AMAZING day!!

Sincerely,

Nara Azevedo - Sales Manager - The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a romantic getaway and where very pleased with this hotel. The hotel staff was so nice and always greeted us with a smile every time we were coming or going. The hotel provided comfy beach lounges and towels at the beach which was only steps from the hotel. Location was amazing.... right in the heart of the action of south beach but still had a quiet getaway feel. I can't wait to go back to South beach and stay at The Hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel of South Beach, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Jessica, thank you for this very nice 5 star review! We are so pleased to know you've had a great stay while at The Hotel of South Beach..
You are absolutely right in mentioning the lounge chairs and towels at a secured spot on the beach... It really makes a difference when all you want is relax and enjoy the beach.
Not charging Resort Fees adds to such advantage!!! All in a great location...
We agree with you!

Thank you for staying with us, and please let us know of your next visit to South Beach. We will again take very good care of you!!

You can contact us directly at reservations@goldmanproperties.com or through me. It will be our pleasure to assist.

Have a GREAT day!!

Sincerely,

Nara Azevedo - Sales Manager - The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel and it was awesome. The hotel is a hidden gem. We've both visited Miami beach several times and agreed this hotel was the best. The staff is great; both funny and friendly. We were made to feel welcomed from the time we arrived until the time we left. The most remarkable part is that despite the hotels location, you cannot hear any noise from outside. I gave the room a 4 because I heard more noise from the hallway. The room was very chic and well kept by the hotel's staff. The rooftop deck provided a great view. We will be using this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luv_lei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel of South Beach, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review!!! We are always so glad and happy to learn that our guests have a great time at The Hotel...
Thank you for mentioning our great location and the fact that our rooms are quiet... They do have sound proof windows which definitely blocks off the noise from outside,,, We sincerely apologize for the hallway noise inconvenience...

Please let us know of your next time visiting South Beach, we are here for you.
Contact us directly through reservations@goldmanproperties.com or through my email.

Hope to see you soon.

Have a superb weekend.

Sincerely,

Nara Azevedo - Sales Manager - The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel must be the best in South Beach, which I havent stayed at them all, I can not The Hotel at all.

We were visiting South Beach as part of our honeymoon, and all the staff were welcoming and helpful. Ben remembered our name and would greet us by our new "Mr & Mrs" names every time we saw him. Nothing was too much trouble.

Neil upgraded our room to the Atelier (for a discounted price) and it was amazing. Huge room, amazing shower, and dead quiet at night. I was a little alarmed when there were ear plugs on the bed side table, but they were not required! We stayed over a weekend and didnt hear any music or going ons outside at all. I am a fussy sleeper, and this room was just perfect for a good nights rest after exploring Miami beach.

The pool is amazing too. The photos make it look a bit small, but really it is just perfect. Nice a warm too, and a great view of the ocean from the rooftop pool.

I will always stay here if we return to South Beach again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for one of the rooms on ocean drive. Dont be put off by the possible street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing