We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #20 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Arundel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

"The Hotel" is a very nice place, things just did not go well during our two night stay. Having been shown to our room after checking in the first thing that hit me was that it stunk of cannabis (as did the corridor)! The member of staff didn't say a thing but once he had left the room my wife said exactly the same thing. We tried not to think much of it, opened the window which seemed to help and then went to the pool. On returning we had the same problem; it was so strong. To cut a long story short, the corridor and our room again stunk of cannabis when we returned from dinner. I told the member of staff at the desk and, whilst not being rude, said a room change would not be possible. She instead sent security up to our floor. Moving forward, in the morning the room still stunk. This time my wife went and complained (to a different member of staff) who moved us immediately. My wife was not in the best of moods having not slept at all. The smell didn't help but also the room above us had incredibly creaky floorboards (this was apparent when we were moved up to the 3rd floor). You could literally hear every step the people above were taking and they seemed to be up all night! Luckily I can sleep through anything but it was very loud.

After being moved we had a much better 2nd night, although noise was still an issue. We were positioned opposite the elevator door: not good. Could hear it going up and down and when people were chatting it felt like they were in the room with us.

I imagine that we were just very unfortunate during our stay at "The Hotel". It is a beautiful building, the pool is great and, on the whole, the staff were very friendly and helpful. However, I don't expect to stay anywhere that smells like a drug den and the noise was an issue throughout. Would I return? I would be tempted to give them another try but the first experience didn't leave a great impression.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Luke1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    516
    116
    52
    25
See reviews for
147
937
104
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

we stayed this past weekend from a cruise and we checked in early, the service staff was very friendly and gave us good tips on where to eat and where to go visit. in particular David and Daniel are the two people who were outstanding and very helpful. The front desk guy who worked saturday morning ( can't remember his name) was also outstanding with the ease of checking in early and back out. They held our luggage for a few hours while we wait for our late flight. My only complaint is that it could be a bit quieter at night but in the hotels defense it was a sat night in south beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Everything was perfect. I had such a good weekend. The room was gorgeous, seconds away from the beach. Everyone is so sweet and helpful, I swear compliments must have been included in the room price. I felt like royalty all weekend. Adrian, at the bar was wonderful. John, the concierge really hooked it up with the whole Miami experience, and Danny was super sweet and helped me save a little money, too. It was my 21st birthday and they really made me feel special. Thank you all so much! My only complaint would be that the walls are very thin and you could hear just about everything going on in the rooms from the hallway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endlesssssummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The staff (and especially Dan) is very helpful. The rooms are big, bathroom is small but when you take turnes, big enough. From the pool on the roof you can see the Atlantic Ocean. The internet is rather slow. Maybe this was the case because the hotel was full but I think it is not expensive for the Hotel to expand the bandwidth. The Hotel offers as an extra service chairs and towels on the beach. It is a bit of a shame that the umbrella is not included and we had to pay $15 for it. The concierge desk (John) is very good. Besides booking a tour John also provided us with good restaurants in the evening. The Hotel is in the middle of the Art Deco District and only one block from Ocean Drive and the beach.
If we would stay in Miami Beach again, we will come back to The Hotel.

Room Tip: windows of the rooms are good to keep the noise outside. The hallways are more noisy. Make sure not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggles75Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Cozy, causal, & classy hotel. The staff is awesome. Friendly and helpful. Great location & comfortable atmosphere. I would definitely stay there again & recommend this hotel for friends and family. Only minor improvements would be the elevator appearance & a little more lighting in the hallway. They may be aiming for a romantic atmosphere. Pleasantly pleased overall. Enjoyed the stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you are an Art Deco fan this hotel is just the place to stay. They managed to preserve several of the original features, it's perfectly located in the mids of the Art Deco district, close to the beach and restaurants. The pool on the top floor is a nice touch: not to big, but nice for a swim in the afternoon and brilliant to watch the sunset over the ocean.
The room we had was on the 4th floor (highest where they have accommodation). Simple but nice. The bathroom was on the small side, but it did have nice Art Deco features. Two things bothered me: the vanity mirror in the bathroom was dirty (stained by water drops?) on the day we arrived and it was not cleaned throughout our 5-day stay; we like to take an afternoon nap and on two occasions it was impossible because of the rather loud chatter of the cleaning personnel.
What distinguished this place for me was the friendliness of the front desk staff and waiters - so incredibly helpful and kind. Loved the place and would warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The lobby area is no where near representative of what the room I was given looks like. As soon as the elevator doors opened I walked into a dimly lit hallway and to my room which reminded me of a dorm. The carpet is buckled and there are lots of visible stains on the fabric on the ottoman in the room. I didn't realize I needed shower shoes for the shower, which was a walk-in and had ants in it. The walls are also paper thin, so I could hear every conversation in the room next door and in the hallway. It is very close to the beach and the roof top pool is nice, but I had a better experience at Epic over the weekend at the same rate. Luckily I only have one more day here...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZakiaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing