We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel but noisy on Fri&Sat nights” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #19 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but noisy on Fri&Sat nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Our start at this hotel could not have been better – we were upgraded to a suite free of charge simply because there was one available for the 2 nights we were staying there. I’m not sure that I’ve ever had that type of service from a hotel – even in Las Vegas the suite upgrades are never free! Mojitos by the rooftop pool were the next port of call and we were not disappointed here either – excellently made and with a view of the ocean while you’re sipping them, what more could you want from a hotel??

Well, the answer to that, because we are no longer in our twenties unfortunately, is “A good night’s sleep”. We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the main street and Friday and Saturday nights in Miami Beach are lively enough to keep you awake into the early hours of the morning, if you’re a light sleeper. If this is something that’s important to you when staying at a hotel, then it would be advisable to ask for a room in a quiet area of the hotel (I’m not sure that there is one, but you never know?).

On the other hand, if you’re the type of traveler who will be partying into the wee hours of the morning, then this hotel cannot be faulted. Great location, good value for the area, excellent service and the bonus of a rooftop pool with great mojitos! Welcome to Miami!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    512
    113
    52
    24
See reviews for
146
926
102
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

The Hotel really should be called THE hotel. It's location is perfect - seconds from the sea, seconds from Collins and Washington and an easy stroll to Lincoln. We stayed in the annex above the uber trendy News Cafe right in the heart of South Beach with a terrace and sea view and a great place to sit and watch the madness that is Ocean Drive below. The hotel itself has a wonderful roof top pool for the day and a deliciously lit and furnished bar at night. Dinner at the Wish Restaurant was amazing - perfect fusion food is a flood lit garden n- mmmmmmmm! The staff are all so friendly and attentive, helpful and full of good ideas of things to do and places to go. A special mention goes to Richard who made our stay all the more enjoyable! Thank you

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReillyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

I chose this smaller hotel because it's modern, newly renovated, has a balcony, ocean view, and very fast access to the beach, strip, and rollerblading trail. I liked it's separate smaller entrance and lobby on ocean avenue (the main hotel is 1/2 block west on Collins)--although we accidentally "missed" the front door often because it's adjacent and identical to the entrance of the News Cafe--which is one of few restaurants on ocean ave open 24 hrs a day. I was on the 2nd floor. There was great people watching from the oceant front balcony--spent several hours there with friends sipping cocktails and just watching everyone stroll by. But don't stay in the ocean front rooms if you have young kids or require silence for sleeping. Although I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was with the balcony doors shut--there were a couple annoying hours around 5am when I heard folks eating and chatting 6 feet below. Thankfully I'm a heavy sleeper.

Richard the concierge/desk person was absolutely lovely--very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Sent us to a great sushi place but I forgot the name...

The room was spacious and comfy--LOVED the cushy bed with soft pillows and crisp white sheets. Coffee in a.m. was very strong which I liked. The bathroom was large--but I'm surprised they didn't slip a pocket door into the design of it--would have been nice if the toilet were private. I missed having a nice big bath tub but the shower was huge w/ a waterfall head and a bench seat. The room and bath were extremely clean.

Breakfast downstairs at the News Cafe is fantastic (I'd go elsewhere for lunch & dinner) and the little convenient store came in handy when we got a chocolate craving and wanted to buy playing cards. We spent little time at the main hotel because we prefer less people. The rooftop pool area looked like a nice place to chill, but we preferred the beach (we used the hotel-provided chairs and umbrella which was crucial in the hot Miami sun). Checkout was very easy as we did not have to go back to the main hotel. I'll likely go back to The Hotel in South Beach.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brownie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Great location just a block or so back from ocean drive. Nice art deco exterior which doesn't disappoint once inside the lobby and communal areas - the rooms are good too and there's a great little roof-top pool that was clean and in keeping with the hotel and area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

We have stayed at The Hotel 3 times in the last 6 months and have had a great visit each time. Our first trip ever to Miami Beach was in June of this year and a friend recommended this hotel to us. She is quiet demanding when it comes to travel and service, so I wasn't worried that we'd enjoy our time. But it was even better than we expected. The staff is incredibly nice, the rooms (especially the new rooms on the Ocean Ave side) are comfortable, even if not overly luxe. The location is amazing. The new part of the hotel is right above News Cafe on Ocean, which is right in the heart of the craziness of SoBe and right across the street from Lummus Park Beach, which is awesome and never overly crowded. If you want a more low-key sunbathing experience, you can just head to the roof deck pool which has food/drink service and the most amazing frozen mojitos. Our stays have included free continental breakfast, which we usually eat on the roof looking out onto the ocean (see photo for view). We keep threatening to try one of the bigger hotels just to compare, but we keep coming back here.

We've only eaten once at the hotel restaurant, Wish. The entrees were quite good, but be forewarned: the portions are huge. In hindsight, I would have skipped the apps and just had entrees. News Cafe for bfast is only so-so, but they make a mean burger if you want a snack for the beach.

If it's your first trip to Miami Beach, check out the scene on Ocean Dr at night just for fun. Have a drink at the Delano and lobster beignet during their brunch. Have a romantic dinner at Casa Tua on the patio. Grab a drink at the Fontainebleu hotel lobby and dinner at either Hakassan or Scarpetta (wonderful spaghetti-butter in the sauce). Check out Lincoln Road. Oh! and i almost forgot. If you sign up for the Gold Club on The Hotel's web site, you can get 10% off food/drink at the hotel and discounts on rooms or upgrades.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csfbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Where do I start? I cannot boast enough about The Hotel of South Beach! I checked many reviews on here before booking it, and like most, I was not disappointed! The Hotel is well located, and in the heart of EVERYTHING! You can feel the pulse of SoBe right outside your door, but yet, still feel like you're in your own little cove once inside your room. The staff is friendly and oh-so-wonderful: John, the concierge, is THE MAN! He would answer our questions before we even uttered a word (a psychic too, perhaps?). As for our room, it was clean and well-maintained twice a day. The rooftop pool and deck offer a great view and a nice place to lounge and relax, and their Spire rooftop bar is great for drinks at night (though expect to pay $15 per drink!). With ample stores right next door like Victoria Secret, Armani Exchange, Aldo and more, and Ocean Drive one block away, how could one not want to stay here???? We will definitely go there again! one to remember. Cheers!:)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsOrellana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We had never been to South Beach before so we really lucked out in choosing this hotel. The location is great - a block from the News Cafe and beach and also in the heart of the shopping district. Immediately, the staff made us feel very much at home and gave us lots of information on the area and good restaurants and bars to go to. The staff was so friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was clean and well decorated, but they don't have many rooms with 2 beds, and unfortunately those rooms have frosted windows. Still, the room got a lot of light and cut down on noise. Noise is a problem in this hotel however - probably b/c its of old construction, but the elevator bells and neighbors did wake us up during the night. Still, overall, we were very happy with our stay. The rooftop pool and bar are AMAZING. We spent a lot of time up there. There is also a nice fitness room, and a shower and bathroom if you have to check out before its time to go to the airport. Free lounge chairs and umbrellas at the beach save you $40 a day and are so comfortable you could sleep on them! All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. The price can't be beat for this type of accommodations. Just bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camdenroad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#37 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing