We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for us, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #20 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for us, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

We stayed at The Hotel over the Thanksgiving weekend. The hotel was very nice, I would highly recommend asking for a room on the third floor away from the elevator, I read this in another review, did so and it worked out for me. The alley behind the hotel is loud in the early mornings with delivery trucks for area restaurants; I don’t think there is much anyone can do about that but it was a little annoying. We loved the location; you are a block away from the beach, great restaurants, souvenir shopping and mall shopping (Gap, Victoria Secret, etc.). About a block away is the best Walgreens I have ever experienced if you forgot to pack anything or are looking for beach stuff, etc. We ended up running out of time and never dined at The Wish for lunch or dinner but it looked really nice. The pool on the roof is great but no shade if you like to lay in the shade at times; we spent our time at the beach (which they provided chairs, umbrella and towels). If someone from the hotel reads this, please send me the brand and anything else you know about the shower head in room 308, I would like to purchase one for home and I forgot to look.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen_goodier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    516
    116
    52
    25
See reviews for
147
937
104
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

My wife & I spent 3 days at this hotel, after researching a few on South Beach. The Hotel makes very few lists of the top hotels on South Beach, but honestly, we were quite pleased by the hotel and I'd recommend it.
Service was excellent. We were not familiar with Miami and needed taxis a lot, so interacted with the desk and concierge often. All were very professional and helpful.
The hotel was well appointed and maintained and quiet for a wonderful night's sleep. As well, the location, at 8th and Collins in 1 block from Lummus park and the beach. its a bit far from Lincoln Road shopping (which we'd heartily recommend for great dining and people watching), but otherwise is very close to all you need in South Beach. The pool atop the building is nice and cozy.
tips: you are entitled to a beach chair and umbrella from one of the vendors at the beach if you ask at the desk, so be sure to spend some time at the beach.
Sign up for the Gold Points club the hotel offers. You get a free breakfast (an otherwise pricey meal), and a discount on the room rate. We did not eat at Wish, but it looked good too.
Decent workout room on the roof level too (and i don't believe that's advertised on their website). they also have 2 computers for guest use if you don't bring one.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relambjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

I've stayed several times at The Hotel. They have a great rooftop pool (although it can be a little over-heated at times), good location, clean/updated rooms. The property is consistent; you know what you're getting, and it's priced reasonably for S Beach. The only negative might be the noise level which can happen a lot in these boutique hotels.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NycSonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed here for two nights on the back end of a five day caribbean cruise. South Beach is always such a joy and an amazing hip scene and this hotel fits right in. We loved the special details in the decor, like the tile in the bathroom, funky drawer pulls, and the overall relaxed, easy feel of the place. The roof top pool and spire lounge are must see! Our room was a little small and hallways a bit dark...but that's the price you pay to stay in a historic art deco space. The location is fantastic, a few steps will take you to the scene on Ocean, high end shopping or the beach. Service was super accommodating, and Wish restaurant is a tasty choice for sophisticated outside dining in a more intimate setting. Overall a great value!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Based solely on TripAdvisor reviews, I booked a weekend for R&R at THE HOTEL after doing business in Miami this week. Nara at the front desk as well as the concierge and valet were incredibly pleasant, efficient and clearly wanted to make my stay a pleasant one. Nara started by upgrading me to a partial ocean view room in the new building on Ocean Ave instead of Collins. The room was incredible. New, well appointed and comfortable. The 4th floor pool has an incredible view and incredible vibe! And I was right across the street from the famous South Beach itself and right in the middle of the restaurants, shops and bars of South Beach. (SoBe... I never knew where that beverage name came from till this trip...)

I usually do not pay this much for a hotel, but decided to treat myself this trip. Afraid of being disappointed, I took a chance and the place and the people were fabulous! I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HendersonCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Our start at this hotel could not have been better – we were upgraded to a suite free of charge simply because there was one available for the 2 nights we were staying there. I’m not sure that I’ve ever had that type of service from a hotel – even in Las Vegas the suite upgrades are never free! Mojitos by the rooftop pool were the next port of call and we were not disappointed here either – excellently made and with a view of the ocean while you’re sipping them, what more could you want from a hotel??

Well, the answer to that, because we are no longer in our twenties unfortunately, is “A good night’s sleep”. We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the main street and Friday and Saturday nights in Miami Beach are lively enough to keep you awake into the early hours of the morning, if you’re a light sleeper. If this is something that’s important to you when staying at a hotel, then it would be advisable to ask for a room in a quiet area of the hotel (I’m not sure that there is one, but you never know?).

On the other hand, if you’re the type of traveler who will be partying into the wee hours of the morning, then this hotel cannot be faulted. Great location, good value for the area, excellent service and the bonus of a rooftop pool with great mojitos! Welcome to Miami!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

The Hotel really should be called THE hotel. It's location is perfect - seconds from the sea, seconds from Collins and Washington and an easy stroll to Lincoln. We stayed in the annex above the uber trendy News Cafe right in the heart of South Beach with a terrace and sea view and a great place to sit and watch the madness that is Ocean Drive below. The hotel itself has a wonderful roof top pool for the day and a deliciously lit and furnished bar at night. Dinner at the Wish Restaurant was amazing - perfect fusion food is a flood lit garden n- mmmmmmmm! The staff are all so friendly and attentive, helpful and full of good ideas of things to do and places to go. A special mention goes to Richard who made our stay all the more enjoyable! Thank you

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReillyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#9 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing