We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #17 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2011

An excellent value. Small boutique hotel with great location, service and amenities. Very comfortable rooms that are relatively quiet for South Beach. Rooftop pool with ocean view is awesome. The free beach chairs and umbrellas are easily a $40 savings per couple; short walk to beach and directly across the street from great shopping. Gym is small but bright and includes good selection of free weights and tread mills. Housekeeping staff is very thorough and friendly. Some small signs of wear and tear but generally well maintained. Free Internet also saves money.  If you don't care for monster resorts and large price tags, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roybardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,301 - 1,307 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2011

The Hotel needs a complete refurbishing and cleaning. Service is very poor and it is difficult to get the management to assist with problems like overflowing toilets. Would not recommend it

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acplegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We loved the location - right in the middle of all the action. Close to the beach. Nice hotel, but rooms are very, very small. The safe was in a very bad spot. The bathroom is extremely small with only a shower no tub.We did enjoy the turndown service and that the rooms were cleaned very quickly. We did not use the restaurant but it did look busy. The pool/bar was very nice. There is valet pkg for $25 or self park for $15. The self park is sufficient. The savings is worth it. We would likely stay at this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKCanada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Stayed here for 3 days with my 3 business associates. Had a strategy meeting and wanted to get away from the cold and chose this hotel. The staff could not have been any more accomodating. Front desk and all staff were great! The rooms were nicely appointed (small, nice art deco with cool showers). Location was great on Collins Ave- one block to the beach and right in the heart of many restaurants on ocean drive. The rooftop pool was terrific - great view of the palm trees and beach. We met in our suite one day when it was cool and met outside at the tables and at the rooftop pool. Great stay! We'll be back! Thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The hotel was clean, welcoming, and comfortable. The concierge was so helpful with tours and restaurants. The location is perfect. It's a bit of walk to Lincoln Street Mall, but we enjoyed it. The room was nice and spacious; the bathroom was small, but has everything you need. The walls are thin, but it wasn't an issue. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler156003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Its one block back from the ocean. This was not a problem because there's a great roof top pool with ocean views. Room are nicely appointed - the standard rooms back onto an alleyway and have frosted glass, but you don't go to South Beach to sit inside and look out of the window, do you?

Location is good - a minute to walk to the news cafe and handy for shopping. Its a bit of a walk up to Lincoln Road, but along Ocean Drive so great views and great people watching as you go there.

The only minor criticism was that the standard of cleaning in the rooms wasn't great - carpets in particular were a bit grubby. That said, the bed was fine and lots of clean towels, so don't let this put you off.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_JM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

I'd say the very best thing about this hotel is the staff, gracious, unpretenious, very service-oriented. Richard, the concierge and do-it-all man, is the only person who has made me laugh out loud in a long time--a very precious quality. Really, each and every one, no matter his/her job, was helpful and friendly. The room while not very large was adequate with clever storage. (There are larger rooms.) but we had been upgraded from the basic level to a middle grade room and we were pleased. We had asked for more towel set-ups, pillows and hangers and all were in our room when we arrived, along with a great free fruit plate. (The only thing in the hotel that was free. Coffee in the room costs $3,50 + tax and tip [included]). The bed is super-comfy. The handicap shower was very commodious with a great center tile medallion and a handicap bench, along with 2 shower heads. There are 3 glass shelves in the bathroom to hold your stuff like cosmetics, etc. In fact the tile work in the bathroom was a great modern note that made the room very appealing. Other designs by Todd Oldham are modern and clever. Amazingly, there is twice daily room cleaning with sparkling white linens. The only quibble I had was that the carpeting was spotted--not icky grubby stains--and needed a good shampooing. It would be wise to ask if the carpets had been recently shampooed, otherwise bring socks. Our room was on the Collins Ave. side so there was no noise, esp. since there was a roman-style sound blanket over a roll-up suncreen. (I can't speak to the rooms on Ocean Dr.) The top deck is terrific with a great unobstructed view of the beach and ocean. It was a great place to have breakfast. When it was too cold but sunny, we went up top and sunbathed in our sweatshirts and jeans. Also, free chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Good breakfasts w/ strong caf/decaf coffee. I'd say that most of the guests were in their 20s, 30s and 40s but there was a good spread of ages (including us "mature" ones). Parking is available on the street if you are patient; valet parking at the hotel also available. It seem like South Beach and Lincoln Mall as glamorous destinations are over but there's enough shopping and great beaches to keep it going.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SIDSKID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 212 in Miami Beach
569 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,420 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#6 of 212 in Miami Beach
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dream South Beach
#46 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,382 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#29 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,731 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £133 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing