We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fusion (if you like that sorta thing...)”
Review of Pubbelly

Pubbelly
Reserve with OpenTable
Pubbelly is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #166 of 1,087 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bayshore
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fusion (if you like that sorta thing...)”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is a great restaurant, but not my first selection for Asian in Miami - I prefer authentic rather than "fused".
The food is pretty good, but I defintiely think is is over-flavored (seasoned?). I always leave feeling waaay to heavy. If you order the brussel sprouts, make sure to ask them to go light on the miso. The kimchi friend rice is good, but a bit too...heavy (too much oil/sauce). Defintiely order the pork belly - it is so bad for you it can't not be good! But I wouldn't bother with the ramen soup or the desserts.
The beer selection is pretty decent - not outstanding. The staff are very knowledgeable. The service overall is pretty great.
I much prefer to eat somewhere that serves up non-fused Asain food.....but the Americanized version you'll find here is the best in Miami Beach.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JessZoladz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    74
    25
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Meal in South Beach”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is like the best of the tapas restaurants in Barcelona, but with even more interesting food. The vibe is fun, the wait staff is helpful and efficient, but it is all about the food. I started with the only beer on tap, Hoptical Illusion IPA from Blue Point Brewing. It is the perfect accompaniment to the food, malty, golden with a slightly bitter taste-delicious. My husband had the Gruner Vetliner an Austrian white wine that was dry, light, and had a flinty aftertaste. We began with fresh briny oysters followed by the fried snapper salad that was a tempura fried fresh fresh piece of fish in an asian salad. It was crunchy and refreshing. The highest points in our meal were the scallops Bourguigon that tasted the way you always hope escargots in France will taste but never do. They were buttery, garlicky, and totally satisfying. The chef has the foresight to include a lovely baguette to sop up the extra sauce. The other must-have dish was the smoked sturgeon. It was served with a caviar beurre blanc and topped with a deep-fried perfectly soft cooked egg. It was primal! Even my husband who doesn't usually like smoked fish loved it. The most ho hum dish of our evening was the pork belly I am sad to admit. The dish was almost room temperature and the pork belly was missing the caramelization that makes it so yummy and has a soggy, fatty consistency. The butterscotch sauce was pudding like and felt somewhat congealed. It was fine but not up to the standard of the other items. We finished with a bacon brownie served on a light and refreshing frozen yogurt. If you want to avoid the crowd, get there by 7:30pm, otherwise be prepared to wait. It was fun for a couple, but we wished that there were more of us so we could share more dishes (the dates and the dumplings looked amazing). This was a must if you are visiting South Beach. If you live here, it is another reason why you are among the fortunate.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pacyabags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Awesome Food, Great Ambiance and Good Prices”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Very good restaurant with great service and ambiance. Must try the duck dumplings and the Pubbelly. Great owners and Chefs. Must go if you are in the Miami Beach Area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C0nC0_240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Interesting”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This restaurant has a hip vibe. The food was very good. I especially liked the short rib dish. It is on the expensive side for serving small plates of food. Overall good and worth a try.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwmanningHoboken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Cool, hip restaurant but not crazy expensive. The food was excellent. The bacon wrapped dates were scrumptious (and I don't usually like dates) and the pork belly is just fabulous. Service was very good. Got one of the tables outside and it was really nice.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plu1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pubbelly also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Pubbelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing