We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Boulan South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boulan South Beach
Ranked #126 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location, nice accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My friends and I were looking for place that was not right in the middle of all of the nightlife but within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the beach. The Boulan was perfect for us. The property used to be apartments and is now run as a hotel but the units are privately owned. Our only complaint was my friend wanted coffee each morning and although the description online listed a coffee maker in the amenities provided there was not one. After asking a few times they did finally provide one but we had to get filters. There were no utensils, dishes etc. but the rooms were very large which is very hard to find in South Beach and it was very clean with exceptional staff and housekeeping and we will definitely be back. The pool is on the roof and there was an attendant which was very nice and chairs with umbrella are provided on the nearby beach. There were some issues with the elevator which was annoying, but we did really enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the street side would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

I am sorry to read about the inconvenience you had with the elevator, but we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, including an espresso machine in the room.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    122
    46
    34
    39
See reviews for
165
69
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I initially made a reservation for this beautiful property; however, after reading several reviews I noted that there were several complaints regarding their customer service. I decided to take my business elsewhere based on these reviews. A week after I canceled the reservation I found that I was still charged $584. When I contacted the hotel to discuss this the lady placed me on hold, honestly, for 15 min only to return by saying that "This is just the front desk, I can't help you, you need to email reservations@thinkhotelgrp.com and someone will get back to you." Not excited about this I informed her that I wanted to speak to a representative and a contact phone number. She quickly stated that this wasn't possible and the only option I have is to email "thinkhotelgrp". If this is any indication of their idea of customer service, I'm glad I will not be staying at the hotel. Now I wait to hear back from my email and who knows how long until I see my charges corrected.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
I apologize for the inconveninces you endured during your booking and cancellation process.

We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during the time you were going to stay with us, and hope you will re-book in the future to enjoy them.

We look forward to hosting you.

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Hotel 3 years old, large condo style rooms. Beautiful deluxe rooms are massive (great for families). Only staff in uniforms are house keeping and pool attendant. Front office staff in street clothes...really should be in uniform so you know who they are and provide a professional look. Great location to access W Hotel- Bar ($700 a night hotel) with a great bar, Shore Club Hotel has Nobu Restaurant amazing food/service but pricey...(all walking distance). Walk to Lincoln Ave about 5 min from Boulan Hotel - great restaurants - "Nexxt "is a must try (casual, huge portions, great service and very reasonable). Hotel currently does not have their own restaurant and restaurant associated with them St. Charles has horrible service. (don't buy breakfast included with your room) go eat down the street at Catalina...fabulous food, casual and great service. Room service does not open until 8am so if you want coffee no go (rooms do not have coffee makers). Beach access -need to get towels and card from front desk - complimentary but chairs are back from ocean (front section of beach is another hotel). Hotel provides no food and beverage at the beach but you can buy from the Setai hotel beach attendants ($1000 a night hotel!) (good food/drink but not cheap). Roof top pool is nice and staff are great up there. Hotel seem to have an issue daily of running out of towels. They need to buy more. No nightly turn down service. (if you care to know). Rooms also have washer and dryer and 2 bathrooms (large bathroom and one two piece). AGain nice benefit for families.

Room Tip: Ocean Deluxe rooms fabulous.(while not right on the beach this hotel provides great value room/space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPineo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, including in-room espresso machines. We hope you will return to enjoy the added amenities.


Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I've been staying regularly at the Boulan since they opened roughly 4+ years ago. It's been a year since the last time. But this time, I noticed absolutely no maintenance is going into the property. My most recent room had paint stained bathroom floor, a couple ripped towels and a tub faucet missing. This was in addition to a stained bottom sheet for the bed. The shower lacks a place for soap and management never seems to put bar soap in the shower or bathroom. The pool area appears nice, but with closer inspection, I noticed dirty canopies, wood decking that requires treatment and lounge chairs that are stained & filthy. We covered them with the stained pool towels they provided. It was mid February, and the pool was not heated (pool probably 70 degrees). Maybe they are trying to save a few bucks? Lastly, when asked to stay a few extra hours as we had an evening flight, management was less then accommodating. Historically, they were willing to offer a few extra hours complimentary, but no longer. 11am check out. It was a fight to even get a noon checkout. Most other hotels on South Beach will work with a guest if there are available rooms and a good customer. There were at least 4 rooms available on this sunday when we were checking out. The lack of accommodating was noticeable.

Room Tip: Construction seems to be consistent in the area and ground floor. Try to find the least noisy opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rsmithson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

I apologize for the set backs you endured while staying with us. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit- we hope you will return and enjoy them.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Boulan apartments are well situated on Collins Avenue for getting around in Miami beach.The apartment was large & clean,well furnished & equipped.There is a small supermarket just a short stroll away where all the basics for your stay are available.The beach is across the street although we did not use it as January was a bit windy.We did enjoy the heated rooftop pool area which has great views over the Miami Beach area.
We used the Big Bus hop on hop off tour together with their boat trip, booked before we left the UK, & that stops across the road from the apartments so you can start & finish your tour from there. You can walk to Lincoln Road Mall for shopping & eating, or Espanola way for eating.If your fit you can even walk to Ocean Drive to see all the Art Deco buildings,or catch the bus or a cab. The staff were all helpful & pleasant & will give you advice on the area.
We enjoyed our stay at the Boulan.I think the price reflects the location,& facilities.We didn't use the complimentary breakfast but i was advised it has been improved as a result of previous customer comments.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a balcony overlooking Collins avenue which was sunny in the morning.No Balcony f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mondovac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location, and that our staff exceeded your expectations. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and hope you will return to enjoy them!

We look forward to hosting you again!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Went down to Miami for vacation with some friends and decided to stay at the Boulan. Overall, I had a really positive experience there. Decor was pretty cool, the room was spacious, easy access to the beach. Also, everyone within the group commented on how nice and helpful the staff was throughout our stay. No issues to get in the way of enjoying the vacation - just as it should be. I would recommend the hotel to others and definitely could see another stay in my future!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAB211212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to have you return to enjoy them.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Beach seats and umbrellas advertised on the website do not exists, you get rusty old seats far away from the sea front on the beach behind other hotel seats!Not the nice seats they show on the website.
2) Cleanliness was an extremely bad standard as there was diarrhea splashed all over the walls and rubbish bin in the toilet from previous guest. Floors haven't been swept or mopped for 4 days while we were there as we spilt a bag of chips on the floor and they hadn't been removed.The bottom sheets on the bed were not changed for 3 days and the cutlery and plates were not cleaned as there was still food stuck on them.The dining/coffee table was not cleaned for the first 5 days.The tumble dryer when we arrived had chewing gum all over the drum which my wife spent 3 hrs trying to remove after the cleaner failed to remove it after we complained.
3) There were 6 lights not working and on the 3rd day of our stay they fixed 3 of them and after many complaints the further 3 were fixed halfway into our stay.
4) This apartment was advertised as fully kitted kitchen. WHAT a joke as there wasn't even a kettle or plates for cereal, 2 pans with burnt bottoms,no knives no chopping boards the list goes on. To say this apartment has a fully fitted kitchen is a understatement!
Breakfast was meant to be included in the price but found out we had to pay for it when we got to the restaurant which is detached from the hotel!!!!
5) Spa pool by the main pool wasn't working the whole time we were there and was never any towels available by the pool as there was never any staff around for longer than 5 minutes to help out.
6) We paid $850 per night including tax for 2 adults and a 10 month baby. We have stayed in alot of luxury hotels and accommodations around the world and this one i can only give 3 stars and the value should only be $400 per night maximum.
By advertising this hotel and accommodation on your website you are miss leading clients into believing they are getting luxury accommodation but this far from the truth. In the future we will not be booking through the booking.com and will not be recommending your website to anyone else.

Room Tip: There are way better hotels out there for $850 per night and cant believe we paid this for something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stupaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

I apologize for the circumstances you endured while staying with us. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
City Center
SBH South Beach Hotel
SBH South Beach Hotel
#107 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shelborne South Beach
#61 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Sagamore
#76 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulan South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulan South Beach

Property: Boulan South Beach
Address: 220 21st St, 220 21st Street and 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boulan South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulan South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of the Collins Park neighborhood, the cultural and social epicenter of Miami Beach. The Collins Park neighborhood features the best dining, nightlife and the arts that Miami Beach has to offer. Within walking distance of Boulan South Beach are the hottest restaurant and bars, most fashionable shopping, and celebrated cultural establishments in Miami. All this, set amidst the gleaming backdrop of sandy beaches and the shimmering waters of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulan South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulan South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing