We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Advertised. Save your money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clinton Hotel South Beach
Ranked #155 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not As Advertised. Save your money.”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I will start by saying that My friends and I were staying here for a Bachelorette party. In terms of its location, the Clinton Hotel is located within walking distance of the the beach, and many other popular South Beach hotspots. That is the best thing about it...so if that is what you are looking for book here. However, if you would like good service, a clean and well kept hotel, and want your money's worth...go somewhere else. This place should be charging $89 a night, not $224/night. We booked three rooms with 2 double beds in each back in December. When we arrived to check in were were told that only two rooms were available as booked, the third room would have to be be a King Bed since the hotel was booked for the weekend. This is NOT what we paid for AND NOT what we booked. It was the first of many not as advertised promises. They claimed the room was an upgrade to a King Suite, but if that was an upgrade then I can't even imagine what the regular rooms are like. There was a strong smell of bleach in the room. It had no alarm clock, the lighting was horrible, and the bathroom had a large window in it that opened into the rest of the room. The window had a curtain you could close for privacy, only in our case the curtain wasn't long enough our wide enough to cover anything. Great if your staying with your significant other...not so great when your there with your friends and want some privacy.

Here is a rundown of what the Clinton's website purports to offer and what the Clinton really has: Swimming Pool - its more of a small wading pool that no one even goes in because it looks dirty and has junk floating in it. Room Service - horrible. It took 3 calls just to get one pillow and a blanket. On the third call I was told I would have to wait at least 15 minutes because the person "responsible for that" wasn't there. Complete on site fitness center - Its really Three old treadmills that look like they may have been donated to the hotel. Business Center - A small table with a computer in a hallway that doesn't even have a printer. Lobby Bar/Lounge - they got rid of it, you have to sit at the bar in the restaurant, which by the way has a funny musty smell. Website states "Espresso/Gelateria- Designer shops on site" - These did not exist. Yes, There are shops on the street by the hotel, but not "on site." Beach towel and chairs - on two separate days we requested beach towels. The first day we were told they ran out. The second day we were given three mismatched raggy towels from Walmart. When I got to the beach and actually opened the towel...it was child sized.

The website states the hotel was renovated in 2004 (8 years ago), it appears that since then the management has done little to upkeep the hotel and has put in the bare minimum. In fact they looked a little rundown, and in all three rooms the safety latch you lock from the inside, standard in most US hotel rooms had been partially removed and rendered useless. Also, the walls are thin. In the mornings we could here housekeeping cleaning and vacuuming the rooms around ours. We were also entertained with the arguing followed by sex of the couple in the room next to ours. The walls were so thin we were able to make out exactly what they were saying. All in all, It is just not worth the $224 dollars the Clinton hotel charges. For that money I could have stayed at a much better hotel that actually has what it advertises, has better service, and maintains the hotel well.

Here is my straight answer about who this hotel is ok for: If your a college kid on spring break or if your someone who usually stays at hostels. Everyone else...you can find much better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mspr1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltase, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear MSPR1968,

We thank you for taking the time to review the Clinton Hotel South Beach and we appreciate your feedback. Our goal is to exceed everyone's expectations so we apologize that this wasn't possible in your case. We make every effort to accommodate guests and we take pride in our job. Sometimes it's difficult to make everyone happy especially as South Beach itself is a very unconventional place. Some people are not used to the this type of decor or how boutique hotels operate. We're an individually operated boutique hotel which tries to improve itself everyday by doing such things as adding individual routers in every room, updated flat screen televisions, new carpets, drop-off airport shuttle, and full mini-bar and amenities in the every room- even during these tough economic times when many large hotel chains are cutting back on these amenities. We always keep standards and quality of service high because our main business always has been and will continue to be our return guests. The reason why we are going on with this response is that we want to make sure readers understand that this property is being updated more than any other property in the area so that we continue to satisfy every guest, even if this is sometimes very difficult. About the pool, we never claim to have a large pool...we do have a splash, refresher pool surrounded by cabanas designed for guest relaxation. In regards to the stores in the hotel, their main entrance is through the front of the hotel, not our lobby ( only the coffee shop and restaurant have lobby access). We always try to use guest feedback as a tool for improvement but in this case it seems hard because sometimes liking or disliking something is a personal matter. We will continue to improve the quality of the hotel and will continue to follow up all complaints with our housekeeping and engineering departments and making improvements wherever necessary. We receive so many praises from our past guests especially the ones who visit South Beach frequently because they know that we work as a team and we make sure that we work to make every guest happy. We hope you visit South Beach again in the future but please be aware that the design and theme of the hotels here are different from the rest of the country and that every hotel on South Beach has their own personality and vibe such as the Clinton with it's blue lights, silhouettes on the door, and the window glass in the bathrooms (which most guest love), the all white linen, etc... Thanks again for having chosen the Clinton Hotel and we appreciate your business.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    394
    267
    198
    170
See reviews for
136
527
100
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Landover, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The hotel was nice not what I expected but it wasnt bad at all. The rooms were clean, staff pleasant and accessible. My only concern was the pool area that needed attention and in my opinion cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charron327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltase, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Hello Charron327,

Thanks for having chosen the Clinton Hotel South Beach and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thanks as well for your compliments regarding our rooms, staff, and location. In regards to our pool, I can assure you that we try our best to keep it sparkling clean. Thanks again and we appreciate your business.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel is not at all what you would expect by looking at the website.. and i dont mean that in a good way...
On my confirmation email from them, it says i was booked for a king loft jacuzzi suite. when i got to the hotel, it said i was booked for a king suite. i took the key and went up to the room anyway thinking that the rooms would be similar. there was NO balcony in this room. i went downstairs to complain and mentioned i booked so that could have a balcony and they said there was nothing they could do about it. i booked ~$480/night for a king bed with a jacuzzi tub. i expected a balcony. i booked the most expensive type room available, and didnt even get a balcony.
first entered the room, tried the safe and it didnt work. no sound, no noise, no nothing. called and someone came up to change the battery i guess. took about 45 minutes! thats 45 extra minutes that i could have been at the beach! you need to check these things BEFORE the guests come!
throughout our ONE NIGHT hotel stay we found SIX bugs in our bathroom. spider-looking things and beetle looking things. small and didnt bother us, but seriously?! do you clean your rooms. called to complain and someone came up to see them but no apology or explanation was issued. it was pretty disgusting.
the hotel lighting is poor. they call it modern and boutique, but i call it a cover-up for their poor maintenance. i literally could not see in purse to get my room key upon returning to the room *IN DAYLIGHT* it was SOOOO DARK in the hallway.
the ONLY thing that this hotel has going for them is their location. put this exact hotel in another location and it WILL NOT do well.

Room Tip: if you book the most expensive room you still dont even get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLa_Smith014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltase, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear LalaSmith014,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Clinton Hotel & Spa South Beach. We're sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and can assure you that guests' feedback is very important to us. Out of over 2,500 nights per month, we get less than 10 complaints - that's over a 99% satisfaction rate. Unfortunately, it seems that you were in the 1% but I can personally guarantee you that our main focus to improve every aspect of our hotel based on the feedback we get from you (the one percent). Please contact me personally via phone at (305) 938-4040 ext. 4037 or via email at aruiz@clintonsouthbeach.com to discuss the details of your reservation and I will be more than happy to help you. Thank you for having chosen the Clinton Hotel and we appreciate your business.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We did a fun, one night stay at the Clinton. Rooms are somewhat small, typical of hotels built on SB in that era. Room was well appointed, with ultra-modern fixtures, good lighting, and very clean. Pool area was small and needing attention. Adjacent restaurant adequate for a light bite, but the surrounding area contains so many good choices, I can't honestly recommend it. Two blocks to the beach access and park along Ocean Drive, and a lot of other restaurants and "watering holes". People watching? You won't be disappointed. We would stay at the Clinton again....staff treated us very well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltase, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear GLman08,

We're very delighted to hear that you were pleased with the Clinton Hotel & Spa South Beach. We know we're not the biggest, fanciest hotel on South Beach but our great location, friendly staff, well appointed rooms, and generous amenities (at affordable rates) more than make up for that. Our mission is to continually improve our guests' experience so that every time our guests return to South Beach they think of us. Thanks again for having chosen the Clinton Hotel and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We actually ended up here after Hotel Astor was overbooked and sent us to their 'sister' hotel. From the looks of the 2 lobbies I think it was for the better. We were pleasantly surprised at the condition of the hotel since we got such a great deal on Priceline and it was 2 blocks from the beach. It is very modern inside although the decor does not appear to be higher end. There are some obvious signs of wear & tear on the furnishings but overall it appeared to be a clean hotel. However, the bathroom did have a 'water'/clorox smell but I did not see any mold but I wore flip flops in the shower anyways.

The staff was friendly but it did take them awhile to get us our missing TV remote and a do not disturb sign. Another selling point was the free airport shuttle which was punctual if not early.

This hotel is an awesome deal considering it is basically in the heart of South Beach. Next door is Dash (the Kardashian) store & a few doors away is a local fave, Pizzeria Rustica. The next street over is Collins (tons of shopping) & then the next street is Ocean Drive. So many places were within walking distance especially if you had a drink or two on Ocean Dr. Can't wait to return to this place!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GottaTravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltase, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear GottaTravel13,

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Clinton Hotel and Spa South Beach. We take guests' feedback very seriously and use these to improve every area of our hotel's operations. Complaints are processed thru our various departments and compliments reinforce the work we are doing to provide every guest with the best, most affordable South Beach experience possible. We're very happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and we look forward to hosting you again next time you're in beautiful South Beach.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The location was excellent right in the middle of everything the room was very clean and beautiful. Service was excellent, front desk and concierge very caring, they helped me out with everything. Loved the fact that they have happy hour every night as well, the restaurant is also a hooka bar. The hotel has a nice pool area where you can sit at night and enjoy the nice weather.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lau0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltase, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Lau0419,

We are very delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations here at the Clinton Hotel & Spa South Beach. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your honest feedback. Our free happy hour, guest services, and our location are only a few of the reasons why guests love our hotel. Thanks again for choosing the The Clinton Hotel and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is the perfect boutique hotel set in art deco South Beach.
I've been a guest at this hotel 3 times and each time the place gets better. South Beach is one of the best places in the U.S. to party!!! This hotel was able to advise and get me into the best clubs and restaurants in town, not to mention being surrounded by every designer store on the face of the earth and a few steps to the hottest beach in Florida. I don't like to experiment too much, this hotel treats me right and I'm sticking with it. I would advise a balcony room...so when you stumble in after some gourmet dining and clubbing at 3 am you jump in your private hot tub and then sack out on the comfortable egyptian cotton sheets.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in a balcony room with your own hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sspersonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltase, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear SSPersonel,

We thank you for taking the time to review the Clinton Hotel & Spa South Beach. We're very happy to hear that you were happy with your accommodations and that you appreciate our hotel's locations, amenities, and service. Please let us know next time you're in town because we love our return guests. Again, thanks for choosing the Clinton Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#109 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#53 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,850 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#117 of 208 in Miami Beach
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#138 of 208 in Miami Beach
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#86 of 208 in Miami Beach
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clinton Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clinton Hotel South Beach

Property: Clinton Hotel South Beach
Address: 825 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5802 (Formerly The New Clinton Hotel & Spa Miami)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clinton Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your escape to one of the world's most extraordinary destinations. Set right in the middle of Miami's legendary South Beach, mere moments from an abundance of top-flight shopping, attractions, and entertainment, Clinton Hotel South Beach welcomes you with a seamless blend of hip refinement and warm, gracious service - all for terrific value. Whether you're kicking back in your tasteful room or suite, lounging in one of the cabanas by our private pool, or hosting a relaxed gathering in our modern on-site event venue, you'll find yourself captivated by our hotel's laid-back appeal and comfortable charm. And our prime Washington Avenuelocation encourages discovery - from the galleries and boutiques that line the nearby streets to the one-of-a-kind nightlife that simply cannot be missed. Let Clinton Hotel South Beach make your Miami visit truly special. Join us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clinton Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Clinton Hotel And Spa Miami
Clinton Hotel Miami Beach
Clinton Hotel South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing