We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SBH South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SBH South Beach Hotel
Ranked #103 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Denton, Maryland
1 review
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We travel with our friends (group of "old" school friends) quite a bit, and I must say I was very impressed with the overall stay and the overall service we got, young lady there Maryrose Bird, excellent young lady, very friendly, knows what she is talking about and very, very friendly and likeable...We will be back....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for being our guest recently and for the review!

I will pass along your compliments to the entire team, especially to Maryrose.

We hope to welcome you home again soon.

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    155
    78
    29
    33
See reviews for
99
141
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at the SBH for one night. Then property is located across from the Bass Museum of Art and few blocks away from Lincoln mall. The property is very nice, recently renovated. The staff was very friendly at the time of check in/out. There is not restaurant on-site, but I was given a voucher to eat breakfast a restaurant called “Orange Blossom” around the corner. The rooms are very nice and clean. Very spacious compared to other boutique hotel s in the area. All the amenities and snacks in the room have a price. WI-FI is included with your stay, but the connection is not the greatest in the room. The property has limited views.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the property have limited view but are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hernan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for being our guest recently and taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review.

I am glad to hear that our Newly Renovated Rooms, Friendly Staff and Location played a huge role in your overall Miami Beach experience!

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon. Feel free to contact me personally for your next booking.

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
jimmy@thinkhotelgrp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This cozy, clean, and updated hotel fit all of my needs and more! Perfect location- next to beach, shops, restaurants. Close walk to Lincoln Road. Mary Rose and the entire staff provided excellent and friendly customer service. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaMaria328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

I am thrilled to hear that our Newly Renovated Rooms, Friendly Staff and Location exceeded your expectations. We have sent Maryrose your compliments on her excelled customer service and she says Thank You!

We take pride with our team members and appreciate you for taking the time to recognize them.

We hope to welcome you home again soon!

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

While the rooms were nice and the hotel is fine overall, the housekeeping was inadequate. They failed to empty trash, vacuum, and only made the beds half the time. We had to repeatedly ask for more toilet paper and enough towels. And when we checked out, we were charged $45 for "room damage", which turned out to be "make up on the towels". We think they just targeted several young women in a room and took advantage of our seeming youth.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebwp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

I apologize for the challenges that you faced regarding housekeeping while being our guest, but happy to hear you were pleased with our room and product quality.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Respectfully,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just got back from my stay at SBH. I will adnit I was a bit scared before my trip because I had read the hotel was under construction. I was so glad to find out they were done by the time I arrived. Rooms were very modern, clean and spacious with an awesome "rain" type showerhead in the bathroom with plenty of hot water (I read some complaints about very little hot water down the thread) and plenty of space to keep toiletries. Beds were very comfy and the linens were soft. Got plenty of towels too. The hotel itself is only 2 floors but it's kept well and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I read some people complain that the hotel doesn't really have a pool (because they give guests access to the Boulan pool next door) but to me that was a non-issue. I thought it was great that the hotels shared the rooftop pool which was also very nice and relaxing. SBH also gives complimentary breakfast vouchers for the Charles St restaurant around the corner (though the menu for the voucher is limited) and the grounds are very well cared for. Its location is in a much more relaxed area away from all the annoying spring breakers and noise of Ocean Drive and Collins below 19th st. You also got vouchers for beach chairs to enjoy the sun and surf. All in all, my experience was positive. If I had to pick one negative, it is that the overhead light did not work. Tried the switch more than a few times and still nothing. Still, it wasn't a big deal enough for me to fuss about or call for maintenance. The room got plenty of light during the day and the table lamps and lamp over the desk area gave off plenty of light during the evenings.

Room Tip: One block from beach in a location that is excellent for anyone who enjoys a more mature and relaxin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarkPhoenix15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your kind words!

We are delighted to hear that our room quality satisfied your needs, along with our staff going above and beyond to make your stay a joyful one. We are also pleased to announce that we now offer 2 complimentary espressos per day, and valet service at the entrance of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Hotel room was great clean and spacious but the staff were not helpful and our room was rivht by recption that the staff didnt seem to u dersta d we could hear everything esp at 5am in the morning! Needs help

Will not be repeating

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcentric103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear our room product met your expectations, and apologize for the challenges regarding noise that you faced while being our guest.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again.


Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Apparently, we were at the SBH during its soft opening even though we did not get a break on the rate. Do not be fooled by the online photos. The rooms and lobby are small.

The pros: great staff and comfortable bed. Since we are not clubbers, we enjoyed the quiet location with plenty of restaurants nearby and beach service a block away.

Cons: No in room or lobby coffee, no newspapers, erratic housekeeping, flat screen does not articulate, ventilation not connected in bath, no hand towels, very small closet, no tissue, and a very uncomfortable chair. The mini bar selection does take up a lot of space. We had ours removed. As noted in earlier reviews, there is very little space to put personal items and the pool is not conveniently located.

The room was not comfortable If you plan to stay in the room any time except to sleep.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay at the SBH be sure to get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fancyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

I apologize for the challenges that you faced while being our guest. Since you last stayed with us we have added 2 complimentary espressos per day, and are looking forward to our on-site restaurant opening.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Boulan South Beach
#119 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#1 of 206 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#59 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
South Seas Hotel
#100 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH South Beach Hotel

Property: SBH South Beach Hotel
Address: 236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#62 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SBH South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique contemporary boutique hotel is located in the heart of South Beach's Art deco District. Walking distance to world famous Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd Mall restaurants, nightlife and sandy beaches. Renovated in a contemporary style that provides all the conveniences required by today's travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your SBH South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Beach
South Beach Hotel Miami
Miami Beach South
SBH South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing