We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jazz on the 4th worked out well” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jazz on South Beach Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Jazz on the 4th worked out well”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Good prices and location. It's easy to get to the beach and buses around town. Lunch & dinners were available at the hostel, very nice touch! It was clean and the staff helpful. I have no complaints. I would stay here again maybe next 4th of July too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j3dnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    126
    85
    44
    85
See reviews for
11
46
98
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Staying at this place wreaked havoc with our lives. We were bitten by bed bugs and ended up inadvertently taking them back to our NYC apartment. We ended up having to give up our apartment and find a new place! We had to pay the landlord for extermination and for vacating before the lease was up.

We lost hundreds of dollars in rugs, furniture, etc that we had to wrap in plastic and throw away. You may not think bed bugs are a big deal, but they are and your family and friends won't like it much when you infest them.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYRita2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

The management or friends of this hostel are responsible for any positive reviews in recent times. They are FALSE. My stay at Jazz on South Beach was the worst of my three months in the U.S.
I will cover the two positives of this hostel first so I can represent fairly.
1). It is close to the very south end of the beach. ( the other hostels are all close to the beach, so not really a positive)
2). The chef Joel. He creates tasty great value food for lunch or dinner for $5 bucks or less for lunch and dinner.

They are the only two positive things. DO NOT STAY HERE.
Stay at South Beach hostel or Miami International. Both are twenty thousand times better.

I tried to book through hostel world where the hostel represents itself as a party hostel. I wasn't looking for a party but looking to stay where my friends were staying. It is NOT a party hostel that is for sure. I could not book online and I chose to call them. After a kind of wierd interaction I was informed I could only book the twelve bed dorm on their web site. I was directed to their website. I booked.
BAD MOVE.

The moment I arrived I knew it was terrible. Stood at the desk for 2 minutes while the reception creature chatted on skype/facebook. I am patient and friendly so I waited. When she felt ready, and in the most hidious tone I received a "can I help you" After this vile representive had booked me in I felt very unsure of my decision in staying. I watched this greeting repeated everytime someone was checked in and every person I spoke to agreed that the staff here were awful and created a terrible vibe and mood in the hostel.

The hostel is filled with passive aggresive signs explaining rules and threating everyone with your one chance or instant removal from the hostel.
On the second day my in dorm the ensuit toilet broke and was filled with an extremely large poo, vomit and urine for 34 hrs. The note from staff was left on the door however for over 48 hrs. (picture included) The replacement restroom was on the first floor. No shower.

The dorm beds themselves were uncomfortable and of the worst cheapest plastic underlay creating loud sticky sheets.

The only social area/patio shuts at 9:30pm and then you can move into the lounge area until 11pm. All under the watchfull eye of the most rude and hateful staff I have ever met.

Expect to be yelled at and bossed around like children. Be told to vacate the hostel at eleven and move one hundred metres from the property or the police will be called and you will be thrown out. Do not break a rule or you will be chewed out by one of the representitives of Jazz on South Beach. The pot bellied assistant manager to the hidiously uphelpful, hatefilled monsters who ran the desk this place is truely hell for any traveller use to the normally hospitable american hostel crews.

Do NOT stay here. I am a reliable honest backpacker and through talking to people found out that jazz on South beach use to be a party hostel until there was trouble with the neighbours and things had to change. The hostel should do the responsible thing and change their adverstising which is clearly false. They need to fire the entire staff and replace them." Eddie" a guy from one of their New York hostels was the only friendly staff member. He left two days into my stay.

Shame on you Jazz on South Beach. Your terrible service, poor accomodation, and inconsiderate disinterested staff coloured my view of Miami. Lucky you have an amazing beach nearby or you would have nothing.
REMEMBER DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stayed here for two days and will never be back. Terribly unfriendly staff. If you try to stand in front of hostel, you are chases away like a criminal. Overall terrible experience. Dirty, unfriendly, impossible to sleep. Save your money and go up the street to the south beach hostel. So much better

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akronsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

This is a very clean hostel. All dorms have an ensuite and rooms are cleaned daily. Pillow, linen, towels and pancake breakfast is all included in the room rate. Add to the brilliant home cooked $4 lunches and $5 dinners and there'd be no reason to leave. Expect with Miami Beach only a block away it's hard not to. The only things I can fault about this hostel is the weak wi-fi. It is un-useable in some rooms. The other thing is it lacks a large common area so I was always standing around. But I'd recommend it and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ODoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

This one is a strange one. The facilities are not by far the best, small and hot rooms, noisy A/C, old bathrooms, not that clean and other minor nuisances.

However there is something about it that makes people get together and create some real bonding during the stay. Maybe it is the beach and/or the clubbing but overall we really get happy for being there.

They provide cheap access to some great parties and provide cheap meals that are good enough,

There was people from teenagers to 60s but it is clearly a hot-spot for younger people. So expect some crazy spontaneou behavior now and then.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuno_m_faria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinhedo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Went to Jazz South Beach Hostel in Feb/11. The staff and the people in the Hostel were very nice. The bedroom is average, but for me, the cleaniness is the most important.

They also offer discounted entrance to nightclubs, lunch ($4) and dinner ($5)

The location is amazing, there is a lot of restaurants, clubs and one Walgreens right in the next corner. But if you go with a car, the parking around the hostel is a little expensive (about U$ 15 / 12 hour)

We had a little problem on the checkout. They almost charged another night just because we´re 15 minutes late.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlsmith23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Century Hotel
#183 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
SoBe Hostel
#6 of 83 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Miami Hostel
#30 of 83 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Posh South Beach Hostel
#2 of 83 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
City Center
Beds & Drinks
Beds & Drinks
#15 of 83 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jazz on South Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jazz on South Beach Hostel

Property: Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Address: 321 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6902 (Formerly Atlantica Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Jazz on South Beach Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Jazz on South Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jazz On South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Jazz On South Beach Hostel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing