We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option if you want a cheap and quiet place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Good option if you want a cheap and quiet place in Miami beach. I stay in a dorm, so I can only write about the dorms. However, they also have private rooms. The dorms are nice because they have a good size and most of them are shared only by 4 people. So, you don't feel that you are sharing with too many people. Another positive feature: it has a swimming pool and a nice common area around it, where you can relax, read a book or just take the sun.
Negative: the staff is totally unfriendly. The beds and furniture in general a bit dated.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephCartaphilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for Tropics Hotel & Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

only if you are a student on a low budget or are a bunch of guys or girls that are hanging for a weekend and do not care. The older you are the less energy you have for this kind of place. It is quite loud, needs updating, and the staff is not friendly, more unfriendly. The rooms are clean but so shappy they feel dirty. No hairdryer, no ice machine, no fridge, nothing. We were only in Miami for 3 days and 2 nights so we thought this would be ok.
Wrong..
Go on and put out the bucks and enjoy Miami which is fantastic.
The tropics is a good location but as I wrote, put out the bucks and stay in a nicer place.

Room Tip: Eat at the Peruvian resturant around the corner, great place.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeeBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel has a good location, close to Lincoln road and the beach. Good value for money but don't expect a great standard. The rooms are in good sizes and beds are ok, but the bathroom is a bit scabby. Covenient with a parking garage just around the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Resigenochigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Tropics Hotel during the 2nd week of April. The location of the hotel is perfect! Heart of South Beach and, as a result, within walking distance to Lincoln and Ocean. The rooms are dated but functional, cleaned daily and timely, front desk help most kind and helpful, the pool is quite nice and the value can't be beat!

Will return,

M/M D. Greve

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRGVEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I fully agree with every word of Borinski. We had been travelling from Washington DC to Florida for 17 days in end of March/beginning of April 2012 and saw many hotels. Tropics belongs to the worst we met not because of a lack of hairdrayer, coffe making facilities or fridge in the room but because of unfrendliness of its front desk staff. They simply do not want to help you. I had been asking for 3 days for a hairdryer and never got one. checkin-out we asked for a full and formal invoice, not just a receipt, for our more than 500 dollars spent there and we were refused. Writing emails to the manager is a futile effort - he never answers. I wonder if anyone of that sort exists. The place is probably not managed at all. They just change towels and bed linen and do not bother for the rest. As long as the walls stay where they were built.

Room Tip: Do not ever accept room No 310. Generally 2nd floor rooms are better.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Best for those comfortable with a basic hostel environment, close to everything in South Beach.

The first thing you should know about accommodation in Miami is that it’s Very expensive. Take your cheapest two-star small town motel, quadruple the price, halve your expectations and you should be okay. Add the fundamental rule of the better the location, the more expensive it will be.

The Tropics Hotel was our 33rd hotel stay in seventeen weeks travel across North America. It ranks as expensive, and probably least value for money stay compared to all other hotels we’ve stayed in, but therein lies the problem. To not feel aggrieved here, don’t compare this place and its price to any other place you’ve stayed. Except perhaps New York and London. If you expect a 2 star experience here, you’ll be disappointed.

We sweated over Tripadvisor comments and discount hotel booking sites, forums and travel guides forever, trying to get something reasonable in Miami that would not bust our credit card limit. We didn’t want a filthy, flea-pit party hotel experience so often reflected in some of the cheaper Miami hotel Tripadvisor comments. Neither did we want the sell-a-kidney-on-ebay, four star plus experience.

The Tropics Hotel met our criteria. We stayed five nights (from Mon – Thurs) for an average of $110/night (incl. tax).

In general: It’s very basically furnished, and is an average size room in an old art-deco motel. There’s nothing fancy going on here. It’s a fantastic location just a block from the beach and has a nice-sized pool, casual outdoor lounge area and outdoor (but undercover) cooking facilty. It’s more like a hostel with private bathrooms, than a motel.

What’s good: It’s in an absolutely top spot – within a short one block walk to Miami beach, its opposite fancy hotels four times the price, and right in the middle of plenty of great restaurants, shops and bars. If you want a basic Miami Beach experience for a lower price than other places, this is probably it.

The outdoor area near the pool is a relaxing place to check emails, have a few drinks or meet others.

The shower was good and hot, and the air-con unit was fairly modern and kept us cool. The white noise from the fan also drowned out most other noise during the evenings.

While our room faced the pool area, most nights the collective noise from there quietened down by 11pm and we had no problems with noise from that area. We had a third floor room facing the pool, towards the end of the corridor.

The motel offers their internal laundry for guest use for a small fee from 5-10pm (washing powder $1.00). There’s a guest computer in the foyer, a few board games and a drinks machine.

The small colour tv (it’s not a flatscreen) with a selection of cable tv channels.

Bath towels were coloured (brown & striped), and in good condition – made a nice change from the usual crunchy, worn through, hankerchief-sized white ones in other motels.

Potential showstopper: Cleanliness wasn’t the best – it’s an older motel with a lack of deep cleaning. We both experienced bed bug bites eight days after we arrived although we can’t guarantee the bites were from here. We did a limited inspection of our mattress and furnishings/fittings on check-in and couldn’t find any evidence of them but noted plenty of cobwebs, hair and general dirt on the box mattress and around the bed in general.

Minor annoyances: Our room had timber blinds only (no curtains), so the room gets very bright in the mornings, even with the blinds closed. Be an early riser here and this won’t bother you.

Housemaids have been raised in tents, and are don’t know how to close room doors quietly - expect some door banging from staff commencing around 7:30am, and constant on-the-phone chatter and yelling while they work during the day.

Wifi is free, but only accessible in the foyer or by the pool area. There are no in-room appliances (no coffee machine, fridge, microwave or iron), and hairdryers may occasionally be available at reception, if they’ve been returned. There’s a guest refrigerator and outdoor gas stove (& microwave) downstairs, and your grocery items can left in a brown paper bag. If you label your bag with a warning ‘items contain medication’, you’ll hopefully avoid other guests ‘accidentally borrowing’ your food. You can’t make local (or other) phone calls from your room, but there are three payphones in the reception area.

Whilst we had no problems, security is not the best – anyone can walk in off the street up to rooms, and room doors are left open whilst housemaids clean, room keys in a pigeon hole are observable from the front desk (can see who’s in and who’s not), and we observed room keys left within reach on the reception desk. If you go out, I’d recommend you take the key with you (minus the massive keyring with room number) There’s an in-room safe, which has had default safe passwords changed. On the plus side, (some) door locks have anti-jimmy plates fitted (although in some cases, the plates don’t cover both locks) and there are deadlocks on most doors.

After staying at 32 hotels across North America, this was the first to charge a refundable cash deposit for a key and tv remote, but I guess they’ve had problems in the past with this. We had no problems with our deposit being returned, just be aware of the policy.

Reception staff were polite, but a bit too cool for school. Being friendly, humble and stroking egos will more likely get you better service. Don’t use the ‘I’m the paying guest and where’s the customer service attitude” – it’s unlikely to work here. It’s a hostel run by young people, with a visible absence of senior management/ownership.

There’s a mixed group of visitors including families, young travelers and oldies so you’ll likely feel comfortable whatever your age group.

Transport: We caught three buses (it’s a two hour trip with $1.75 and $1.50 fares respectively – exact change needed) from Ft Lauderdale Intl. Airport to South Beach. From the airport, catch the (free) Rental Car Bus and turn right on exiting the bus, walking about 100m up to stop number 7 (it’s a little traffic island sitting by itself). Take Bus 22 (Northbound to Aluvera Mall), and change to Bus S to South Beach (the stop after 16th Ave, just around the corner on Lincoln).

For something unusual/different: Try the food a few blocks up at the very funky, restored shiny silver Diner on 11th street. Reasonable prices, great food and service in a unique environment.

Unsure if I’d stay again.

Room Tip: ]Avoid ground floor rooms, especially facing the pool (everyone can see into your room with the ligh...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I was completely appalled by this accomodation. I have stayed in my fair share (possibly more so) of dodgy hostels all over Europe, Asia and the United States and never have I experienced worse customer service. The desk staff are rude, stubborn and extremely unhelpful. Not only do they provide the service they are there to with an unpleasant air, but they are downright obstinate when it comes to giving assistance. My friend left her phone at the hotel by accident during our stay, and not only did they flatly refuse to mail it to her even when offered a cash reward, but they refused to cooperate with her when she attempted to get it FedExed by claiming the front desk staff had no access to a printer. It took her over two weeks to retrieve the phone via a mail service. I have never come across hostel staff so insistent on providing such unbelivably poor service. I will absolutely not be recommending this accomodation to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller6696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#185 of 210 in Miami Beach
103 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#142 of 210 in Miami Beach
140 reviews
City Center
HI - Miami Beach
HI - Miami Beach
#27 of 85 in Miami Beach
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Posh South Beach Hostel
#2 of 85 in Miami Beach
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Address: 1550 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3111
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range: £66 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel And Hostel
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach
Tropics Hotel & Hostel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing