We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would rather be homeless that stay in this inhumane place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I would rather be homeless that stay in this inhumane place!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

As we drove up our first sign of disgust to hell Was a dingy Tropics sign. There were cigarette butts on the entry carpet & several people drinking beer in the shabby lobby. While the desk host was ok, when he handed me a dinosaur key, tv remote & charged me $20 for it, I knew there would be problems. As we entered the 2 person elevator with 4 pieces of luggage - REALLY! I stumbled over the dirty pink carpet. Walking down the hallway of doom to my room, I dreaded what I would see on the opposite side of the door. We could not believe the sight! Smelly old carpet, an ancient bathroom that looked as if it belong to my great great grandma on a plantation. There was only 1 outlet in the room & 1 washcloth in the bathroom for 2 people. The bedspread had stains on it & I could only imagine what was underneath on the sheets. I could hear peopple talking clearly next door and in the dark & gloomy hallways. I also heard every step that was taken above my head. At that point we immediately left this dump with no place to go. We checked in at 12:30am & we were out by 1:00am! Never in my life have I ever nor would I ever pay to sleep in those conditions! After calling around, we checked into a downtown class act hotel. The price could not make up for the poor quality. The location could not camoflague the despicable horrific conditions at Tropics!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misschannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    225
    172
    61
    47
See reviews for
67
199
106
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Plata, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

In general my staying was good at Tropics Hostel & Hostel. 2 days in Miami
The room was big and clean as well as the bathroom. For those that do not like carpets, forget going to this Hostel&Hotel. It does not smell very well. It is a old hotel but it seems they are all the same age in that zone.
You do not have free parking.
It is near ocean drive street and the beach. In 15 minutes I was at the airport by car, Very good!
Guys it's hostel/hotel, the ratio quality-price is ok! you are in Miami!

Improvements:
Add breakfast to the rate. it would give you competitivity.
Change the carpet!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Good option if you want a cheap and quiet place in Miami beach. I stay in a dorm, so I can only write about the dorms. However, they also have private rooms. The dorms are nice because they have a good size and most of them are shared only by 4 people. So, you don't feel that you are sharing with too many people. Another positive feature: it has a swimming pool and a nice common area around it, where you can relax, read a book or just take the sun.
Negative: the staff is totally unfriendly. The beds and furniture in general a bit dated.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephCartaphilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

only if you are a student on a low budget or are a bunch of guys or girls that are hanging for a weekend and do not care. The older you are the less energy you have for this kind of place. It is quite loud, needs updating, and the staff is not friendly, more unfriendly. The rooms are clean but so shappy they feel dirty. No hairdryer, no ice machine, no fridge, nothing. We were only in Miami for 3 days and 2 nights so we thought this would be ok.
Wrong..
Go on and put out the bucks and enjoy Miami which is fantastic.
The tropics is a good location but as I wrote, put out the bucks and stay in a nicer place.

Room Tip: Eat at the Peruvian resturant around the corner, great place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel has a good location, close to Lincoln road and the beach. Good value for money but don't expect a great standard. The rooms are in good sizes and beds are ok, but the bathroom is a bit scabby. Covenient with a parking garage just around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resigenochigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Tropics Hotel during the 2nd week of April. The location of the hotel is perfect! Heart of South Beach and, as a result, within walking distance to Lincoln and Ocean. The rooms are dated but functional, cleaned daily and timely, front desk help most kind and helpful, the pool is quite nice and the value can't be beat!

Will return,

M/M D. Greve

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRGVEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I fully agree with every word of Borinski. We had been travelling from Washington DC to Florida for 17 days in end of March/beginning of April 2012 and saw many hotels. Tropics belongs to the worst we met not because of a lack of hairdrayer, coffe making facilities or fridge in the room but because of unfrendliness of its front desk staff. They simply do not want to help you. I had been asking for 3 days for a hairdryer and never got one. checkin-out we asked for a full and formal invoice, not just a receipt, for our more than 500 dollars spent there and we were refused. Writing emails to the manager is a futile effort - he never answers. I wonder if anyone of that sort exists. The place is probably not managed at all. They just change towels and bed linen and do not bother for the rest. As long as the walls stay where they were built.

Room Tip: Do not ever accept room No 310. Generally 2nd floor rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#191 of 208 in Miami Beach
93 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#145 of 208 in Miami Beach
131 reviews
City Center
HI - Miami Beach
HI - Miami Beach
#26 of 85 in Miami Beach
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Posh South Beach Hostel
#2 of 85 in Miami Beach
577 reviews
City Center
Beds & Drinks
Beds & Drinks
#17 of 85 in Miami Beach
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Property: Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Address: 1550 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3111
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel And Hostel
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach
Tropics Hotel & Hostel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing