We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very rude service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very rude service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

When I checked in I asked for a receipt as I needed it for my accounting. They told me that I had to ask for a receipt in the morning. So the morning when I checked out I asked for it. They told me they can only give receipt at check in... I insisted a bit, they were very rude and unfriendly. Ok for a jail, not for an hotel in Sobe. The rooms are shabby, there is a problem with hot water, wifi only available in public area and often not working. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    220
    170
    60
    46
See reviews for
66
196
105
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Average Hotel in Prime South Beach location.
If Youre the type of Traveler that puts location over accommodation
The type of Person that rather spend your money doing sightseeing rather than stay at your hotel,Then the Tropics Hotel might work for you.
This worn down hotel offers the basics you would expect at a budget motel type of place. An Ok bed in a room with TV,AirCon,Telephone and Bathtub Bathroom.
Average size Lobby with public phones, free Computers for guest use,Pool Table,Kitchen to heat up food and a Small swimming pool.The Staff is fairly friendly/helpful & usually has someone at the front desk 24 hours.
The Hotel Attracts all sorts of guests from the urban Backpacker to Partiers to families to couples.

The best thing about the tropics Hotel is the LOCATION...its on good south beach locale. Beach & Ocean Drive are about 2 blocks away. You will find all sorts of Restaurants,Shops,Hotels,Clubs within walking distance and honestly I doubt you would find anything remotely affordable in this neighborhood.

The Tropics is not for travelers in need of room service,swim up bars or spotless rooms.
If you want Good location and dont mind having just the basics then the tropics hotel is your kind of place.

Room Tip: if youre a light sleeper ask for interior rooms vs those that face the street therefore quite noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jc22ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Basic hotel, close to the beach, nightclubs and restaurants, clean room, good TV, clean bathroom, hot water, safe in room, friendly receptionist Jonathon. Great value for money. Would recommend this hotel if your on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

pay a few bucks more and avoid this dungeon. i would have given it half a star, or maybe a fraction of that, but tripadvisor doesn't provide that option.
dirty, smelly, ugly, poor service, unfriendly.... the list goes on.

only plus - location is pretty decent.

Room Tip: avoid the smelly noisey one.. oh wait, that's ALL OF THEM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank puertovallartapotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I know the title of this review makes it seem as though this hotel is the worst, but it's not a bad hotel if you're on a tight bugdet. Miami, and especially Miami Beach, is one the most expensive places in the USA so booking a good hotel at a good price is going to be tricky. Considering we only had 2 nights left in the USA by this point we decided to keep it cheap.

The hotel was not easy to find and even our taxi driver didn't know where it was, he had to radio in to his colleague. The reception was fine, we got to the hotel at 11am when we were told check in started only to be turned away because our room wasn't ready. Most hotels have a check in time somewhere in the afternoon and one of the reasons why we chose this hotel is because of the early check in time. However, the response of "check in STARTS at 11am" got them off on technicalities.

The hotel is very dingy and seemed very popular with young adults, partying in South Beach. It didn't look clean, but it looked really old and dated. The room wasn't anything to write home about and the bathroom even worse with a dirty bathtub and shower. The beds were horrible, the pillows were a waste of time and it just seemed like we were being punished. So we headed out.

The location of the hotel, however, is fantastic. It's on one of the main roads in South Beach and is just a 2 minute walk to the beach. Perfect.

On one day we were locked out of our safe. This was at about 1pm when we wanted to go out but our money was in the safe. We went to reception and told them and they said someone will be out to fix it soon. After an hour we asked again. They said the same thing. After a couple of hours we went down AGAIN to ask, the woman behind the desk said she was the only one on and had to wait for the handyman. The time was 7pm before we FINALLY got her to come and fix it. We had been waiting 6 HOURS for someone to open the malfunctioning safe. All of our money was in there so we couldn't get any food. We explained this to the girl several times but she didn't care.

Needless to say, we didn't let this below mediocre hotel destroy our experience of South Beach and Miami but we were glad to be checked out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed for two nights with my fiancé (26 and 27) while "road tripping" around Florida in February 2012.

This place is cheap, and we were on a budget, so we took a chance having read the reviews on here. It was pretty much as we expected: basic, tired and a little bit creepy (the corridors conjured up images of the little boy on his tricycle in The Shining), but it was perfectly clean, pretty quiet and in a great location.

Our room was big, with a TV and an unexpected (and slightly bizarre) walk in cupboard. I was pleased to see a big mirror above a dresing table, and a socket within hairdryer cable distance of both. Believe it or not, I have stayed at 5* hotels that haven't managed that! Reception staff were friendly.

It was OK for a couple of nights. We hardly spent much time in the room in any case. Those below who arrived and checked out in an instant are either incredibly dramatic, or missed the fact that this place is a "hostel" when booking.

There is a huge car park just around the corner, so it's really convenient if you've rented a car like we did.

If you're on a budget and just looking for a place to rest your head, you'll be fine here (but maybe leave your Stephen King at home!).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ach85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Good value.
Lacks the vibe of a hostel.
Lacks the service/ services of a hotel.
Good if looking for a cheap hotel option, but bad if looking to meet others etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#191 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
City Center
HI - Miami Beach
HI - Miami Beach
#29 of 82 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
City Center
Beds & Drinks
Beds & Drinks
#18 of 82 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoBe Hostel
#7 of 82 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
South Pointe
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
#63 of 82 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Property: Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Address: 1550 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3111
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel And Hostel
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach
Tropics Hotel & Hostel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing