We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value for young people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“great value for young people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in the hotel side of The Tropics, and loved it! Sure the rooms are tacky art deco, the hall ways dim and hot, but it's an incredible value for the location. The hotel has a hostel vibe to it: lots of young people hanging out in the common areas.

My favorite part was the pool, it was huge, warm, well landscaped with lots of lounge chairs and open until midnight! Next to the pool is a communal outdoor kitchen where people hang out (and a friendly hotel cat.) I was pleasantly surprised by the room, too. It was clean, comfortable, had individual AC control, and the lobby wi-fi even reached our room.

This isn't the place to hold your next business meeting, but for young people looking to get away on a budget, I couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor has individual room A/C controls, the first and second floors don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tr4velc4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    220
    169
    60
    46
See reviews for
66
195
105
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a full week during a 3 month roadtrip of the US. We booked a private room.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's minutes from the beach, and is close to restaurants and shops. The staff were all really friendly, welcoming and helpful. There is a laundry facility for guest use from 5-10pm, and a full communal kitchen and fridge. The pool area was really nice, and clean. The wifi both in room, and in public areas worked with no issues. The rooms were massive, overlooking the pool and we had no issues with noise despite being directly above the kitchen.

The only negatives are that the kitchen doesn't have that many utensils, so you are a bit limited as to what you can cook. We didn't have a car for this stay, as we were picking up a different one after our week here so parking wasn't an issue but if you do, there is no parking here, you have to use the public car park on 16th St, just around the corner.

For the price and location, there is no question, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraherbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

i stay in Tropics hotel, South beach Miami for 5 nights. It is the best hotel for any travellers in Miami South beach.
For $20 you can have a comfatable clean bed with 3 another new friends. You can prepare for your breakfast, lunch, dinner any times from 8am to 10pm to save you budget. You just need 2 minites to go to the beach. And 2 minutes to Art Deco center or shopping rows.
It is very easy to take any tours to Key west, Everglades, Downtown...
Everything you need for the trip to Miami.

Room Tip: Any rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tranan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is more like a youth hostel. We stayed in a three-single-bed room. The hotel is pretty basic, but okay for a short stay. Short walk to the beach and to the South Miami Beach promenade. If I am on my own or with friends I would stay there again. If I am with children then I will look for something else.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mijas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Want to see youreself as Miami Vice crew member?
This is a great vintage place for 3a reasonable price.
The location is great- about 50m from the beach.
Fine kitchen and pool. You can also watch the Kardashians on cable tv :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaciejNawrotek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelotas, RS
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

FIrst of all, yes, it is a hostel AND hotel, so, it's a hostel with private rooms (with private bathrooms!)...there are, in the common area, a kitchen and a pool (very good, both of them, but, of course, COMMON).

There are renewed and non renewed rooms...the first ones are ok, the latter, not so much. Shower is from bad to ok...cleaning is not perfect also...the carpets are old. Well, it's an old hotel...like all the other ones in South Beach (except the over 300 usd ones, maybe).

Location is fabulous - 100m from the ocean, 200m from lincoln road mall, 200m from espanola way, 30m from the cheapest public parking in miami beach. So, fantastic.

If what you're looking for is a honest, good priced hotel (and hostel), on a fantastic location, you've found it...

Stayed there about 4 times and will be back. In Miami, for me, only tropics. Unbeatable cost effectiveness...

Room Tip: Rooms on the front area are really noisy! Ask for a renewed room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moises L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed on the 2nd floor, which STUNK of mold. There were creepy old guys hanging out in the hallway, which made me very uncomfortable as a single female traveler, and the hallway was extremely dark and filthy (as was the clunky old elevator). The room had been cleaned, but was still very dirty (carpet stains, very old and worn bedding) plus it had extremely dated furniture and bathroom, and very odd photos on the walls of semi-naked couples. After 24 hours I had bug bites on my legs, and noticed house keeping did not change my bedding or towels, they just made the bed and folded everything up. The provided wi-fi did not work in my room at all, so I could only get access in the lobby. My colleagues stayed on the 3rd floor, which fortunately did not smell as bad, but the A/C was very loud and did not cool down the rooms at all. The laundry for guests was also the laundry used by housekeeping, so it was only available for a very short time at the end of the day (and there are no laundromats close by). The staff on the front desk were generally quite rude and unhelpful. I checked out and went somewhere else after 2 nights, they do not offer any kind of refund. If you have to stay in Miami and absolutely cannot afford something else, then this place is in a great location, but if you have the money then just go somewhere else. If you have children, PLEASE do not stay here.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emmaline1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#193 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
City Center
HI - Miami Beach
HI - Miami Beach
#25 of 83 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
City Center
Beds & Drinks
Beds & Drinks
#15 of 83 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoBe Hostel
#7 of 83 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
South Pointe
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
#66 of 83 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Property: Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Address: 1550 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3111
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel And Hostel
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach
Tropics Hotel & Hostel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing