We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room for reasonable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good room for reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I think this is the best choice if you choose the hotel with low prices and good location. I stayed in this hotel for 1 week and my budget was limited, it looks quite old inside, but clean and nice for this price. My Macedonian friend advised me to stay here when she heard I was planning to go to Miami. She told me that I would not find anything better for this low price. I totally agree with her. The hotel is just 5 minutes walking to Ocean drive and Miami beach, I liked our room. The bed-linen was clean and fresh, same like the room, the tv was working, we had a small kitchen too. There is a pool in the hotel, which we couldn't even expect for this price. My friends and I enjoyed our time there. I will recommend for the people that are not looking for a luxury hotel and want to save their money and enjoy their time at the same time.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Кристина Л
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    220
    169
    60
    46
See reviews for
66
195
105
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I visit South Beach twice each year and almost always plan my stay at The Tropics. I find the hotel to be clean, basic and comfortable and includes a nice pool for the money. The hotel is close to everything including the beach only a block away! I find the staff friendly andI enjoy meeting them each time I visit South Beach! I will return to this good value for the dollar in Miami!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank StevePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I love the staff, they were so easygoing and friendly. Rooms are decent but people were great. Bathrooms are nice. The building is great and i like the location of that hostel very much! You can walk 3 minutes to Miami beach!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grzesio84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The room:
We booked a double room with private bath & toilet. It was a good choice. The size was great compared to European rooms, but standard to American sizes. The bed was comfy and the room was quite basic but cozy. It would be a great improvement if they installed a refrigerator in the room.

The room had a bedroom, and a small walk inn closet. The bathroom/toilet was quite basic and quite old but still ok. It had what you needed and compared to the price and location it was great value.

Location:
The location was superb. You had everything at South Beach in walking distance. The lovely beaches, the gay bars/discos, lots of lovely restaurants and a cinema.

Cleaning/reception:
The cleaning staff did a great job and the room was cleaned everyday and they did a good job. The two receptionist a female and a male was both very friendly and helpsome! :) Thanks for a great service!


Will we come back?
If we come back to Miami this hotel/hostel will be in our mind when booking up again. It is basic but great value for the money and the location was awesome. The customers at the hotel are of all types from the biker to the banker who just want a simple hotel with a pool and great location. So if you don't use that much time at the hotel normally and just use it for a sleep it is definitely worth it. If you are the type who like to hang around at the hotel for a lot of the vacation then you should take something of higher standard.

A special thanks to the guy at the reception for his brilliant service through our vacation!

We give it four stars total for the great service level and price compared to value. It is not a four star quality but compared to the price it is in the good end of the scale :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vendelbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

When I searched for hotels for my trip to Miami in November 2013, I realized it’s best to stay in South Beach as this is were all the action takes place. Unfortunately, most hotels in or near the Art Deco district proved to be very expensive and all other decent accommodation was definitely too far away for my taste. The Tropics seemed to be ideal, combining a great location (on Collins Ave, just 1 block from Ocean Drv) with low prices. As also most reviews in the internet were positive, I decided to book this hotel. A great mistake!!
When I entered the hotel after a long journey, it did not look too bad. Although I expected a little more, the lobby and reception area were clean and proper, even if a little old fashioned.
Soon after I had received my room key, I started to change my mind. The corridor leading to my room on the groud floor looked so run down and intimidating with its dark walls, bad lightning and torn carpet floor. Unfortunately, my room was in the same condition. I immediately took a look on the bed linen which thankfully was clean and fresh. Otherwise, I would have walked out and searched for an other hotel (although I prepaid my entire stay).
All furniture looked so old and run down, the carpet floor was dirty and torn and the windows have probably not be cleaned for ages. The bathroom was even worse: the washbasin and bath tub were on their way to change their colour into black, the toilet was far from being sanitary and there was hair on the (nearly black) floor. I did not even dare to enter the bath tub shoeless. Although my room faced the inner courtyard, there was noise from outside at night, caused by drunken European tourists. Given the condition of my room, I spent as little time as possible in the hotel and refrained from eating breakfast or visiting the small and shabby pool.
As mentioned above, the only advantage of the Tropics is it’s favourable location: it takes only minutes to walk to Ocean Drv and there are dozens of nice restaurants and bars as well as several bus lines in its immediate surroundings. But location did not make up for all those weak points.
I did not expect a 5 star property and I am not nitpicking at all. Still I believe that the Tropics lacked of basic cleanliness and this is unaccaptable. It was absolutely not up to American standards and I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: there is no good room at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WAW-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Old hotel with character! Friendly staff and quick check in. Location is right in the middle of all the action, one block from a walgreens, rooms were small, simple, and clean. Wish there was more outlets, but clear signal to Wifi. Price is great, almost a cant beat. Recommend if your wanting to spend a weekend close to the beach. and you dont want boring

Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I knew this was a low cost hotel when I booked and I was fine with that. The room was basic but nice with plenty of space. There's a very nice pool and the overall vibe is good. HOWEVER, neither the wifi nor the AC worked properly throughout our entire stay. We repeatedly told the staff at the front desk of our problems and they repeatedly seemed annoyed with us and told us there was nothing they could do. So we were left with a very warm room and no internet and just had to deal. It's a shame because otherwise this would be a great budget place to stay in Miami Beach. But when promised amenities aren't working the least you can do is apologize. Beyond that, I'd expect to be offered SOMETHING; a partial refund or a different room would have been great. Instead, they gave me an attitude and acted as if I was bothering them.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 3rd floor appear to have individual AC units. They might actually work if you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#193 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
City Center
HI - Miami Beach
HI - Miami Beach
#25 of 83 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
City Center
Beds & Drinks
Beds & Drinks
#15 of 83 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoBe Hostel
#6 of 83 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Freehand Miami
#5 of 83 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Property: Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Address: 1550 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3111
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel And Hostel
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach
Tropics Hotel & Hostel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing