We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay at the Loews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #62 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice Stay at the Loews”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We visited the Loews Miami Beach for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday. Chose this hotel based on its location in the middle of South Beach and amenities (pool and beach). Booked a luxury King room (partial oceanview). I suspect that we may have received a small upgrade as the room we were given was on an upper floor, had a balcony and a great ocean view (I was thanked for being part of the Loews reward program at the time of check in, so maybe that had something to do with the room assignment?). We were also able to check into our room several hours early--it was ready for us when we arrived at the hotel ~1pm. Front desk staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (some of the best service I've received at a hotel). Room itself was nothing to write home about; very basic. At the Loews, I think you're really paying for location and the pool scene. Pool is good sized and they cram a bunch of loungers in to accommodate people. The weather wasn't the best while we were there, so we didn't have a problem finding a chair, though I suspect in busy times if you weren't at the pool early, it would be harder to get a chair. The south end of the pool deck was in total shade by 1pm, so we moved to the beach after that. The Pool restaurant/bar is very convenient, and the food was surprisingly good, but pricey, which seems to the be keyword here. Another example: we had a friend pick us up at the airport and spend the first day with us at the pool and beach. $32 to valet her car for 4hrs.

Over all a nice trip. I would go back to this property, but only if I found a good deal for the room.

Room Tip: High floor room had a great ocean view. The balcony was nice: we sat out on our balcony for several...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,196
    1,804
    702
    264
    297
See reviews for
1,916
1,698
138
1,054
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (901)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I've stayed here probably a dozen times or so for business - I've worked at this hotel for conventions about 4 dozen times.... I'm pretty familiar with this property.

Make sure that when you make your reservation, you are staying in the Main Tower. There is a second tower - which houses the Spa. The building is much older. Even though the rooms are decorated the same as the Main Tower, they are much smaller. The windows are old and dirty. The ice machine (there is only one in the whole building) is on the Spa level. The hallways are very narrow. For me, it was a major inconvience having to lug my 40 pound computer case up and down several set of steps between the two towers - the ballroom is in the Main Tower.

The Main Tower.... The rooms are really nice. If you're staying on the street side, make sure you're above the 8th floor. Room numbers that end in the teens have no balcony and the windows don't open easily.

The beds are not my favorite.... Feels like your sleeping on hard mud. And it's time for the hotel to change out the pillows.... Westins have much better beds!

Lots of plugs for chargers around the room and next to the bed.

The staff is very nice and helpful.

The restaurants and bars are expensive. A burger and two beers cost $38. And that was the lunch price. It was a good burger though. If you are staying there because of a conference, grab some extra waters during your coffee break - bottled water in the room is $7 per. If you're there for vacation - there is a Walgreens several hundred feet north of the hotel (they're kinda a rude though)

Overall... Beautiful hotel.... Helpful staff.... Nice enough rooms....(but it's time for a deep clean - like the carpets, chairs, curtains, and lampshades, etc...)

Room Tip: It's in my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtleSouthFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Flew in from London and needed to stay overnight before travelling on to Sanibel. Our fiends chose Loews on Miami Beach. The hotel is of the highest standard with top quality facilities and service. We had a standard room which was sea facing with a balcony and the room was spacious as we're the en suite facilities. No need for a suite. Excellent quality restaurant and the usual array of buffet an a la carte at breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dwim1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband, teen daughter and I flew down to Miami Beach for a three-day weekend getaway, and we absolutely fell in love with the Loews. The ocean front room we booked was worth every penny, as it was comfy, lovely, and afforded us a breathtaking view!

The lobby was stunning, as was the pool area and all the grounds. On our first night, we checked in at 8 pm, and had dinner on the patio by the pool at Preston's...what a delicious dinner, and what lovely surroundings! We also enjoyed a delicious room service breakfast on our first morning (pineapple upside down pancakes with passion fruit maple syrup!), and Preston's buffet breakfast our next two days. Their juice bar, where various juice blends are made to order, was included and we enjoyed it very much (try the South Beach blend). SoBe Scoops, the ice cream/candy shop in the lobby, served up some very tasty ice cream cones, and the food served by the poolside restaurant was well-prepared and tasty. Yes, the food and drinks were pricey, but we expect that at a nice hotel.

Each and every staff member we encountered was friendly, courteous and helpful. Since the lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach are owned by, I don't know, some company that's not the Loews, you have to rent the chairs and umbrellas daily, $13 per chair and $15 per umbrella. We didn't mind, but there are only 3 of us. Because of this, the lounge chairs by the pool (free!) were claimed by 9 am, so plan accordingly if you'd like to spend the day by the pool. There are lots of daily activities by the pool, a kids' club, and the nightly "dive in" movie, usually a Disney film, so lots for kids to do, too.

We can't say enough about the Loews, and we will definitely return someday in the not-too-distant future.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms afford stunning views of the Atlantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phyllis1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I must admit....when I first walked into our (premium king) room, I was a little bit disappointed, which I NOW realize was misguided. The hotel is not flashy, and lacks that "sexy/edgy/hip" bling that you see in so many of the other new boutique south beach hotels. However, it did not take me long to realize the very high quality of this property, and to appreciate that the absence of flash is not nearly as important as the presence of quality, consistency, service and professionalism , all areas in which Loews excels. In fact, after staying at Loews for 4 nights, the flash and bling of other South Beach hotels actually seems somewhat garish to me and not that desirable at all. The service was superb--especially housekeeping. Not only was the room kept spotless, but our belongings were neatly and professionally arranged without any intrusiveness. Toiletries left out were neatly arranged on a towel, shoes neatly lined up in the closet, pajamas and stray clothes folded and left out where we could easily find them. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the linens luxurious. The showerhead was simple, no sprays or rains shower, yet the water pressure was uniquely wonderful making it tempting to take very long showers! The soap smelled wonderful. Housekeeping was generous and conscientious about stocking the room with plentiful and fluffy fresh towels. The pool was great, with lots of free samples (beer, Cuban coffee, etc.) being passed by wait staff. The pool bar food was delicious (hint: the Capresse Panini hasthe most incredible fresh mozzarella!). We did not eat in any of the other hotel restaurants but the cocktails were yummy. We enjoyed having our morning coffee (Thank you for in-room Keurrig Coffee maker) on our balcony which had much more of an ocean view than we had anticipated. The only two "con's" were the ugly carpeting (Loews, it is time to upgrade!) and the Enterprise Car Rental in the hotel (but that is for another review and not the fault of the hotel). Hint: if you book in advance on the hotel's website, keep checking the rates on the website every couple of days. Rates go up and down according to vacancies or anticipated vacancies and if the rate does go down, they are glad to apply the new rate to your reservation. We reserved a room at $560/night and when the same room went down to $419/night a couple of weeks later I called and easily changed to the lower rate. Unlike at some of the newer flashier hotels, the service is stellar in all departments, no snotty attitude and an obvious eagerness to please. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My friends and I went to Miami for girls weekend. We are in our late 30's; past the "stay anywhere, it's Miami" phase. Lowes was the perfect choice for us. We had a room with 2 beds and a pullout. The pool was amazing. We saw the Dallas Mavericks - including Mark Cuban at the pool hanging out! There was a steel drum band, great drinks, and plenty of chairs. Also, they supplied fruit flavored water and tanning lotion. We were close enough to go to Ocean Blvd at night and return to the luxuary of our hotel; when ready. I don't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monie_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Monie_W,
Thank you for your review of The Loews Miami Beach Hotel. We take pride in having such a dedicated, strong and caring team and we are elated to know that you experienced just that.We hope you revisit us soon for an even better experience! We have also opened up Lure Fish Bar, please come back to experience it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a short getaway over new years eve. It was fantastic, we had such a great time eating at all the local restaraunts along Ocean ave, shopping, and of course going on on NYE. Not to mention Emeralds located inside the hotel is AMAZING! The pool service was fantastic, we literally lounged by the pool all day and was waited on hand and foot. the hotel staff were good. The rooms, were very nice and clean, which comfortable mattresses and linens. I would stay at a lowes again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Christa L,
Thank you for your review of The Loews Miami Beach Hotel. We take pride in having such a dedicated, strong and caring team and we are elated to know that you experienced just that.We hope you revisit us soon for an even better experience! We have also opened up Lure Fish Bar, please come back to experience it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#33 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing