We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #64 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

I stayed at the Loews Miam Beach Hotel from July 9th to July 12th. This was my second time visiting this hotel and this time my sister and I took my mother along for the trip. After traveling to Miami we hit the beach. We purchased three chairs and an umbrella for $45. Ate dinner on Collins Ave and the food was great. That night as soon as we all fell asleep for some reason the fire alarm went off and continued to go off for another hour. My mother went downstairs and gave them our name and to our surpise the next day they gave us a hand written apology and $25 credit we used at the Nautilius resturant.
The food at the hotel is great, but expensive. The pool is the best. Get down to the pool early to get your seats and when you leave for the beach make sure to tell them so they can hold you chairs for an hour. The second day we got up early and bought breakfast at Starbucks and purchased sandwhiches there also to save some money. Took the food and ate poolside. Then ate Italian for dinner at the shopping center. The staff is friendly and the other guest were great to be around. Oh and even though there was construction going on we barely noticed it. Alot of guest had their pets and that was no probelm. They showed a movie poolside on Saturday night and that was alot of fun. The hotel is close enough to everything so that you can walk in either direction and find great stores and restuarants.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delorise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,153
    1,783
    696
    260
    291
See reviews for
1,898
1,678
132
1,039
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

I am just returning from the Loews with my 12 year old daughter after a 10 day stay. I can only say wonderful things about this hotel and the staff. The service is impeccable. The attention to every fine detail makes your stay that much more enjoyable. The are not only organized and efficient, but add a little extra touch with the awesome communication and concern over your any request. They check with you by telephone, message left, or by remembering when they see you , if your needs have been met.
The pool and grounds are beautiful as usual.
The construction is barely noticeable. I did not hear any noise and noted only that they had blocked off the old lobby drive way and registration area. It is not a problem at all.
I'm going back and will keep going back. It's wonderful!!!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank levanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

We went Miami Beach this June, at we were so glad that we chose Loews. Everything was so perfect. we had a great room on the 11. floor with a spacious balcony. The room was great. The view was so beautiful, with the pool area and Miami Beach. We hope to go back next summer and bring some friends.

The only negative is the valet parking is a little pricy, $34/day, but the service was absolutly wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roskilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH CAROLINA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed at the Loews for a girl's weekend over 4th of July holiday. First of all, I agree with the other reviews that you feel as though you are expected to tip...when we stepped out of our car the bell boy grabbed our bags before we had a chance to react or protest...then he rolled his eyes when we didn't tip (we later tracked him down and gave him a couple of bucks).

But the bigger issue was the room quality - upon walking into our room we were greeted with a foul sour odor. After several conversations with the front desk and housekeeping we got the situation resolved (a moldy shower curtain was the culprit). Had we not insisted upon a new curtain they were going to "freshen up" the bathroom with those anemic cleaners that they have. We had several other room issues...most were resolved quickly...but the ongoing dialogue with maintenance/front desk/housekeeping grew tiresome. Another thing...the walls are paper thin so you can hear your next door neighbor sneeze at night. And we were awakened to drunken girls running down the hall screaming at 4:35am.

And the pool is SUPER crowded...if you don't get there by 9am or so you won't get a chair, and by the afternoon the noise is unbearable. The pool has the feel of a Miley Sirus concert combined with a rap video shoot by 5pm. Overwhelming.

There are some positive aspects to this hotel...it is very centrally located, the amenities (free smoothies, ice water, tanning lotion, frozen grapes) are a nice touch. Also - the poolside restaurant has tasty food and is delivered super quickly. And like the other reviewers we took advantage of the "refurb rate" but never heard any construction noise.

If I go back to South Beach I will pay a couple of extra dollars and head down to the Raleigh or W for assured good room quality and a less crowded scene.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUV2TRAVEL1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

When we first arrived at the Loews, we were very impressed by the stature of the grounds.. especially the walk way leading down to the pool/beach. We arrived a bit early and were informed that our room was not ready (technically check in wasn't until 4 pm and we got there about 1). We decided to walk to get some lunch nearby and were called about 30 minutes later to be informed that our room was ready. That was music to our ears. I requested an upgrade from city to ocean view and we were sort of accomodated in that we were given a "partial ocean view" with a balcony which was not bad at all! The room itself was blah, nothing to write home about by any means but definitely acceptable.

Great touches:

The pool was great with complimentary fruit infused waters, Evian refreshing spray mist, great service for food and drinks, wonderful "Miami" music serving as the background

Complimentary lemonade in the lobby during the day

Friendly concierge and accomodating hotel staff

Having doors held open for you as you enter and exit the lobby

Great beach area

Location

Cons:

Price of drinks/food at bar

A/C barely seemed to work (somewhat sticky/muggy in room)

Overall, it was a great stay and even better at a GREAT rate!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msdecember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

room - small but nice, bathroom could be bigger and nicer, robes & slippers nice
bars - said initially they allowed dogs but wouldnt even let me hold my small dog downstairs or outside by the bar, drinks low on alcohol
pool - pretty small, need to turn the music down, ice water nice, allow dogs on pool lawn
beach - nice right outside
staff - friendly, attentitive (especially door openers)
food - impressed with room service, breakfast place right down the street
location - fabulous, near all the bars and clubs and main strip
checkin/out - took 3 faxes and 2 hours to get extra person/credit card put on room so friend could checkin early - they upgraded us which was nice but checkout the person couldnt find my friend had paid in full for 1/2 the room and kept saying he didnt pay
gym - pretty small - they use most of the space for the spa and locker rooms

Overall very nice hotel but they just need to work on the front desk staff - some looked so young and inexperienced and really didnt know how to talk to guests

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanadaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Just spent 6 nights aw Loews in Miami Beach with my 12-yr daughter's volleyball team during Nationals tourney. It is a beautiful, spacious lobby. Grounds also lovely and well-kept. Pool is awesome, open 24hrs, plenty of chairs and nice bar. Say hi to Camilo bartender! Free cold fruit-flavored water, sunblock & frozen grapes poolside, and free lemonade in lobby. All staff was very friendly (especially liked girls at the door!) and accommodating. Loved having direct access to the beach. Beach nice, pretty clean, with optional service from hotel (chair, umbrella drinks) if desired, we just used free towels. (I had read other reviews stating everyone at hotel had their hand out but we did not find this at all, but elected to tip when appropriate). Also did parasailing; signed up right on beach under red umbrellas. Three girls got stung by jellyfish--never saw them, but not too bad. Lifeguard station had vinegar to spray on it. NOTE: Local security officer partrolling sidewalk in front of beach on bike warned us to NOT go to the beach after dark and stay at our pool behind the fence, which hotel had not told us. Would've appreciated hearing that from hotel staff--guess bad PR. We did not encounter any problems on beach or walking to/from convention center, dinner, etc. Rooms a little small, but very clean, comfortable and attractive. We even had beautiful view of ocean from balcony. We got a large group discount rate so don't know how price ($139/night) compares for private parties. Only negatives were no free breakfast and no refrig in room (can request for $30/week but not enough available). Never ate at Loews; too pricey for families, but good inexpensive pizza, french bakery/cafe next door, subway and McDonalds nearby, and several reasonable restaurants within walking distance (recommend "Back Porch"--great service & reasonable food/drink prices). Walgreens on the corner had everything we needed. Construction noise woke us up at 9am first morning (only time it happened). Their work during day very minimal and not at all disruptive. Free internet access to check flights and print boarding passes. Miami Beach the city kind of dirty and run down; too bad--could be really cool if they cleaned it up. Would definitely stay at Loews again if we ever get a chance to return to Miami Beach!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,400 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing