We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue to host an event!”
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #116 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 5 November 2013

On 10/27/13 I attended this year's Pancreatic Cancer Action Network's Purple lights event hosted at the Dorchester Hotel! Just like last year the venue for this event was fantastic!!! Event took place in the front outside garden. The place is very spacious and cozy! It fit a little over 100 people very comfortably!

Staff members were all nice and friendly especially the bartender Maria. She was very courteous and multitasked very well!

I highly recommend this place for an outdoor event! And, if it happens to rain there is space on the lobby to possibly move it inside ;)

If after an event you want to take a walk on the beach you just need to cross the street and the beach is right there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our property.

We are happy that you attended the Pancreatic Cancer
Network event at our property. We always live up to
our social responsibilities and give back to our
community and mankind: this is motivated by our
employees' passion for people in general, and this
you noted in you comments when said our staff is
nice and friendly. As you also noted, we are fortunate
to have a spacious and cozy property that is just steps
away from the beach.

We do hope that you will continue the spread the good
news about our property and visit us again.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Dorchester Hotel in South Beach. We came from the cruise in the morning and we did not get the room before 2 pm. We could leave our luggage in the reception which was great. The check-in receptionists were friendly. We stayed in 3rd floor. The room was clean and comfortable.

There was a hotel bar under our window which played music until 2-3 am. We could not sleep at all. We didn't complain about it because we figured it was only noisy on Saturday night and the next night we could sleep well. We were wrong. The hotel bar was playing the music loud on the next night as well. Also the guests in the bar kept singing very loudly like there was a karaoke. At 2 am I went to reception to complain. The receptionist promised to call the hotel bar to put the music down and told us that the bar is playing the music every night. It did not help and we could not sleep properly. In the morning we went to reception and another receptionist promised we could change the room at 2 pm. So we needed to pack our bags and leave them to reception again. We got a bigger room but there was a construction site opposite of the building. In the new room we could not sleep in the morning. We were really disappointed in how the staff handled this situation. We spoke to three different receptionists and no one apologized us for the noise and that we had to change the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkaisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for letting us know about your stay.

On behalf of the management and entire staff, I would like
to take this opportunity apologize for any inconvenience you
had while staying with us. Here at the Dorchester, it's all about
our guest, and as you rightly noted we generally attemp to
make provisions to ensure satisfaction, and if there are cases
where the inconvenience is not caused by our hotel, once we
are notified, we will go the extra mile to please our guest.

Once again please accept our apology, and we do hope that you
will give us another chance to show you why we are one of the most
favourite hotels among travelers in South Beach, Florida.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The stay at the Dorchester was great! The rooms are very nice and clean and the installments very cozy.. The location is great because it is walking distance to all the action and the beach. The service was also great specially from the ladies at the front desk Cynthia and Laura. I definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest:

Thanks for all your kind words about our property.
We are very pleased that you said that you had a great stay,
and that you find our rooms to be nice, clean, and cozy.

We appreciate you recommending us to other travelers.

Thanks again and hope to see you during your next visit
to Miami Beach.

Yours.
E. Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed October 2013 9 nights room only party of 8 20 something girls. Picked this time of year to coincide with Carnival (we didn't make it to the stadium unfortunately). Chose the hotel for location, close to beach, shops and short taxi distance to clubs and bars. This allowed us to have some quiet time away from the hustle and bustle.
Taxi for 8 dropped us from the airport right outside the entrance ($68) where a helpful bell boy assisted with baggage. Unfortunately he was alone so couldn't manage the gazillion bags we had for the whole party. Upon entering the lobby we walked through a lovely outdoor bar area with lovely lighting and seating. Very easy check in and we found our rooms easily. We booked through Dial a flight and unfortunately the rooms were not suitable. We had two standard rooms that consisted of two double beds for 4 people. Double meaning 3 quarter size to us British. After deliberating we decided 9 nights sharing a rather small bed in a small room would not be very pleasant so took ourselves to reception to discuss our options. The receptionist could not really help and called the manager from their sister hotel who was with us in half an hour. Due to the busy carnival weekend they were only able to upgrade 1 room as a goodwill gesture due to it being dial a flights error. The rest of us were promised an upgrade after the weekenders had checked out. As I ended up in the standard room I can only comment on the facilities for this type of room. Iron and ironing board GREAT! No tea and coffee facilities :-( daily servicing with complimentary soaps and shower gels etc... Wifi came at a $15 charge for our entire stay but there is a free desktop in the lobby to access the web although you may struggle to get on as in popular demand. Its a shame they do not give free wifi as you can access free wifi hotspots throughout SOBE. They have a cute bar that has happy hour but with one server you will be lucky if you can get to it during peak times.

So far so good.....until it came to problems with room key activation, poor customer service from 1 receptionist and lack of communication amongst the management team crossed with delegation issues. Not gonna go into too much detail on the negatives as we could have been unlucky but the hotel definitely has its pitfalls. Upon requesting the key to our new room (upgrade) after checking the day before it was still going ahead we were advised there was nothing in the book and yet again they would need to call the manager who agreed it. He was off duty and they couldn't contact him so we had to wait to wait until the following day. On the next day the manager who was supposed to be on duty and wasn't, we became disgruntled so they asked the other manager to call us to discuss. There was no discussion to be had they had no rooms available and apologised, they said when the other manager comes in they will let us know. They didn't let us know and we didn't speak to reception after this as we didn't want to ruin our holiday by arguing with a hotel where there was no delegated authority and no emphasis on customer service. I was going to leave the rude receptionist unnamed but feel it unfair to tar all of the hotel staff with this brush as the others were polite, professional, empathetic and helpful. Laura on the other hand was quite the opposite and left a bad taste in my mouth, I have never been treated with such disrespect and disregard by a member of the hospitality industry. One does think Laura is in the wrong line of work and has single handedly ensured I would not recommend nor stay at the Dorchester hotel on my next visit.

You will see comments on here about the smell in the corridors, although not permanent there was frequently a smell of wet dog/damp was very pungent!

Other than that South Beach was amazing, would recommend tours to malls, key west and Bahamas just be prepared for a lot of waiting and early morning pick ups!

Thumbs up Miami but with an array of choice for accommodation I would suggest you try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniellesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Let me first of all thank you for taking the time to let us
know about you stay and to apologize for any negative
experience you had while staying with us.

We are paying close attention to your comments because
we want to make sure that all our guest leave here with the
greatest impression, we will definitely make all necessary
correstions surrounding the areas of your major concerns.

Nevertheless, thanks for choosing and hope that you will
give us another chance to show you why most of our guest
are excited about our property.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Booked the hotel through a travel agent as part of our honeymoon. Spent 3 nights here. The room we stayed in (126) was basic but comfortable. Two double beds, wardrobe, safe, fridge, drawers, bedside cabinets and desk. The bathroom was small and dated. Shower was okay but nothing special.

Hotel lobby etc was always clean and fresh. The pool is Art Deco and dated but this adds to the style of the area that you are staying in. The hotel is ideally situated for the beach ($15 for two beds and umbrella via sister hotel Marseilles) and the shops on Lincoln Road/Washington Avenue.

The bus tour picks up and drops off near by. There are a few 24hr shops within a couple of mins walk. The room service is from a local restaurant!! Wifi is $5 a day but a desktop and printer are available for guests to use in the lobby.

Overall a pleasant stay and as long as you are not expecting luxury you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballyh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your
stay at our property.

We are very pleased that pointed out the many
ammenities we offer in the rooms and our
unique pool.

Overall, we are pleased that you had a pleasant
stay and hope you will return again.

Regards,
E. Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

In the summer of 2013 we were 8 days at the Dorchester Hotel with our family. 4 adults ( kids 19 and 22). The first night we stayed at the hotel. The room and the beds are to small for 4 adults. After one night we asked for another room. We did get the suite, also because it was our 25 wedding anniverary. It was a pleasure to stay at the suite. Everything is available, much space and clean. 2 televisions, a kitchen and a nice bathroom.
The Dorchester is in the neighberhood of Ocean drive, South Beach and the Shopping centre.
Next to the Hotel is a nice place to have breakfast en diner "Maxim"! Great service and we loved the food!

Fanny and Rosa from the Dorchester helped us very good. Thank you very much for our pleasure stay and we will meet again!
Wim and Helene Zwaneveld

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for your excellent feedback.

We are very happy that we could upgrade
you to one of our spacious suites, especially
that it was during your wedding anniversary.
Yes breakfast in our restaurant is out of this
world. Feedback like your is a confermation
that we are on the right track, and encourage us
to do even better.

Thanks again and hope to see you again.

Regards,
E. Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Carlos was the first and last person we saw during our stay at the Dorchester hotel. Best bellhop and serviceman I have ever come across. He welcomed us with a big smile and open arms. When we left he was the same. Thank you Carlos for making our stay at the Dorchester a pleasant experience. Justin W.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustinFreyLisaBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us
and the world know that you had a great experience
at the Doechester Hotel.

Yes, we tend to highlight an Oasis like tropical
setting, and like you, mostof our guest enjoy it.
As you mentioned, our friendly staff always greet our
guest with a friendly smile and always go above and beyond
to ensure a great stay.

Thanks again for your kind words and hope to see again
during your next stay in Miami Beach.

Yours truly,
E. Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#84 of 212 in Miami Beach
510 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#89 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,785 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#133 of 212 in Miami Beach
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Collins Hotel
#100 of 212 in Miami Beach
985 reviews
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#138 of 212 in Miami Beach
421 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: £83 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing