We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome location & price/quality!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #122 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome location & price/quality!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the hotel. Lincoln Road, the beach and Walgreens are 2 blocks near it, so the location is great.
The rooms are big, typical size in the USA but much bigger than in Europe. Two Queen size beds, a wardrobe, desk and nice view towards Collins Ave. We didn't take the breakfast but for the same prices you can walk to Crema on Washington Ave and have a nice Greek breakfast!!!
The pool is nice, even though it's not heated ( its all so humid that is not necessary!). It has a nice bar where you can take drinks for 1 usd from 19 to 20 hs.
And WiFi works fine all day long!
Nice hotel in a great location!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dru_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for letting us and other travelers know
that you find our our property to be "Awesome" in
terms of location, price, and quality.

We are very pleased that you give a detailed
description about our big rooms along with their
various furnitures to satisfy our guest needs.
We are also very happy that you enjoyed our pool
and bar.

Thanks again for you response and hope you will stay
with us again during you next visit to South Beach: here
at the Dorchester, it's all about you.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    506
    326
    126
    110
See reviews for
406
391
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Good hard bed, decent shower, clean towels, nice service in the front desk. This isn't hip or luxurious by any means but for the price it is ok. I didn't stay long enough to test other areas of the hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jal0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest:

Let me first of all thank you for choosing to
stay at our property, and to take the time to
let us know about your stay.

We are pleased you enjoyed our bed and
appreciate the quality of our bathroom. Your
comment about our Front Desk service is
definitely an encouragement to the staff.

Thanks again, and hope you will stay with us
in the future.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at this hotel. The room was quite small but clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was very tiny though and the door couldn't be closed properly (probably due to 5 layers of paint on it). I missed the coffee-making facility! There was an awful, damp smell in the corridors and staircase. Pool is basic but nice and the chairs are very comfy. Ok hotel for a few nights, mostly for it's location!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaS31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for you review about our property.

We would like to apologize for not pleasing
you 100% and thank you for your remarks about our
clean and nicely decorated hotel with its nice pool.

We are also pleased that you find our location
to be good. Rest assure that we will do everything
necessary to address you concerns and hope to see
you during you next visit to Miami Beach.

Thanks again.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Dorchester Hotel is situated just outside of the madness of SoBe but close enough to taste it. Lincoln Rd is a quick five min walk, as is the beach and Ocean Drive. Pick a direction and you will find something for everyone. Also, the sister resort is across the street so you can get loungers and sit on the beach comfortably. I stayed in one of the normal rooms, it was spacious even with two beds. The tub in the room was a bit dated and felt like it was coming undone, but who comes to SoBe to take baths?! Happy Hour was nice, there are $1 specials each night. The resort fee wasn't explained properly, so it was a surprise when I saw it as a separate charge after checkout. However, a quick email resolved any confusion I had. No Shuttle but MDT has an Airport Express Rt 150 that stops at the corner just feet from the hotel, so problem solved! The hotel staff, to include housekeeping were all really nice! Second time at this hotel and will def stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the timeto give a response on
your stay.

As you rightly noted, we are very fortunate to be
at a location close to Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive
and all the activities in South Beach. We are very
pleased that you find our staff to be nice and that you
will definitely stay with us again.

Thanks again for your review and hope to see you
again.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the Dorchester hotel first for one night before going on our cruise, We were put in a room on the outside of the main hotel in the courtyard, after reading the reviews about noise and traffic I thought this was going to be very noisy, but this was not so. The room was big clean and tidy and we could not find fault. We returned back to the Dorchester for a few more nights at the end of the cruise, this time we were in the main hotel, again the room was clean and tidy and was cleaned every day. The staff were friendly and we found them to be polite [which is a big thing for me] As for the noise aspect this was not an issue for us and we slept soundly enough, If you are looking for nice clean hotel in Florida's Art Deco district next to the beach and shopping areas i would certainly recommend the Dorchester Hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback
about our property: it tells us we are on the right track..

Yes, on a whole, our property is not noisy, and most our
guest often comment on having a good night's sleep.
We are very pleased that you find our rooms to be big
and clean, and could not find any fault.

Thanks a lot for recommending us to other travelers, and
hope you will stay with us again during your next visit to
South Beach.

Your truly,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Upon arriving to the hotel, you walk through a gorgeous outdoor space with beatiful landscaping and lighting and a great breaze.. it's a great spot to hang out, have a drink at the bar, and relax. The outdoor area seems like a hidden gem on the bustling Sobe strip. Staff is friendly. The location is GREAT! Walking distance to great restaurants and night-life, and of course just a hop into a cab away from anything a little further.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AECLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about
your great appreciation for the Dorchester Hotel.

We are very pleased that you find our outdoor
landscaping and lighting to be great and beautiful
and that our property is like a hidden gem to you.
Our friendly staff, as you noted, are among the
best in South Beach and are always ready to serve
you with the highest degree of professionalism.

We are also pleased that you fin our location to be great
with the walking distance from great restaurants and night
life.

He hope that you will stay with us again during your next
visit to Miami Beach.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Managemenr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

On 10/27/13 I attended this year's Pancreatic Cancer Action Network's Purple lights event hosted at the Dorchester Hotel! Just like last year the venue for this event was fantastic!!! Event took place in the front outside garden. The place is very spacious and cozy! It fit a little over 100 people very comfortably!

Staff members were all nice and friendly especially the bartender Maria. She was very courteous and multitasked very well!

I highly recommend this place for an outdoor event! And, if it happens to rain there is space on the lobby to possibly move it inside ;)

If after an event you want to take a walk on the beach you just need to cross the street and the beach is right there!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our property.

We are happy that you attended the Pancreatic Cancer
Network event at our property. We always live up to
our social responsibilities and give back to our
community and mankind: this is motivated by our
employees' passion for people in general, and this
you noted in you comments when said our staff is
nice and friendly. As you also noted, we are fortunate
to have a spacious and cozy property that is just steps
away from the beach.

We do hope that you will continue the spread the good
news about our property and visit us again.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#82 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#83 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,397 reviews
City Center
Suites of Dorchester
Suites of Dorchester
#141 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#66 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#86 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Property: Dorchester Hotel
Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing