We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Eve on the beach”
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #118 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed with family at this fabulous South beach hotel. Timeshare owners, you will love this place; it's probably as close to an apartment like feel as you will get in this area. Full kitchen, *huge* 1 Bedroom suites that can easily fit 6 (not the max 4 as listed) adults. The room also comes with two bottles of complimentary wine, and free wifi Internet. I love the noon check out time, and the staff went to great lengths to accomodate us. The bathrooms were fully stocked with sundry items and housekeeping went to great lengths to keep it that way! Also there is great room service that will deliver at any time of night.

One thing about this locale (Miami Beach): it is a well organized, well run beach. Despite the ungodly hotel resort fee (from which my wallet still has scars from the burn) it is worth it as it allows for the duration of the stay rental of beach chairs and umbrellas (which are well organized by hotel). Also, having a cafe hut right on the beach and runners to actually serve you on the beach is genius.

The only down side (if there was one) was that our keys kept needing to be remagnitized. Also, the laundry facility was one loney washer & dryer in a forgotten open alcove in a corner next to the pool. I understand that the demand might not be that high, but it would be great to have a unit inside the rooms or for security to have the laundry facility in an enclosed room.

Other than that, for the price, it is a wonderful place to stay and we are in the midst of planning our next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vtpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We booked the basic room for a few nights as a get away with two of our college kids. We ran into a few snags- parking, a broken window, etc. Just a string of bad luck. The staff was top notch in responding to our calamities and went over and beyond to ensure that our stay was pleasant. Chris, the manager, was outstanding and took the time to ensure we were comfortable even giving us his cell phone in case we needed it. Great location, well kept. The caliber of an operation is best measured when things don't go quite as planned and Dorchester's staff was just top notch. Thanks for making our stay more than memorable.

Room Tip: I would recommend not getting the smallest room for four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanbGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is just one block from the beach and two blocks from Lincoln st with all its shops and eateries. Good position. It's other advantage is the noon checkout time. The hotel rooms are a little tired. The room is not large by American standards, but adequate. The bathroom is small with minimal space for personal items. It would have been difficult for a longer stay but we were only there one night. The room was very clean. The air conditioning is effective. Although we were pleased to be given complimentary wifi we were told that it is not usually free so beware. Internet was frustrating as you had to log in again after a 5 or 10 minute break. Internet did not access any Australian sites and therefore may be a problem with other countries too. Breakfast is available in the hotel cafe at varying prices depending on choice. There was no information on happy hour either written or by reception staff so only discovered this by reading a tripadvisor post after we had left. Staff did their best to help. We asked for a later checkout as we were doing a morning walking tour and they were able to make it 12.30 which was perfect. When told that poached eggs would take 20 mins we were surprised and unhappy as it was offered as eggs of your choice on the menu. Our unhappiness must have been obvious as the chef himself came out and agreed to make them straight away. And they were very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_addict13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to
give us your feedback on your stay at the
Dorchester Hotel.

Let me first of all apologize to you for not
giving you 100% satisfaction: it's always
our intention the give all our guest a wonderful
experience while staying with us. We do have
different types of rooms, and some are larger
than others. We generally assign rooms to our
guest based on the type of room they reserve:
if they reserve larger rooms, we assignt those
room types to them. He are happy that you find
your room to be clean and with adequate A/C.
Your comments about our helpful staff is very
encouraging, and it motivates us to go the extra mile
to ensure maximum satisfaction. With regards to
informing our guest about our happy hour, there
is a sign at the front desk as well as wirtten
information on our key card regarding the schedule
for our happy hours. Our reception staff are trained
to inform arriving guest about our happy hours, and
we do apologize if the person who had checked you
in, failed to inform you. Nevertheless, we are very
pleased that you appreciated the late check out we
extended to you.

Thanks for choosing us, and we hope that you will
stay with us again during you next visit to Miami Beach.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

When I first approached the Dorchester its looks good from the outside and is nice inside aswel, for the price and location this is a really good hotel and the staff are really helpful and sorted us out for a few day trips to see the gators and a shopping trip. The beach is just a 5 minute walk away and other things are just a sort taxi ride or a long walk. The breakfast is nice but you have to pay for but isn't to much the rooms were always cleaned by the cleaners everyday and were well presented. Some things are dated in the hotel but for the price you can't complain would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Let me first of all thank you for choosing
to stay at our property and also thank you
for taking the time to comment on your stay.

Yes, we are very pleased to know that you appreciated
the good looks of the interior and exterior of our
property. Along with your comments about our
helpful staff, we note that you spoke a lot about
our good and reasonable price for the location.
We want you to know that we take special care
to make sure that we give added value to all
our guest who stay with us.

Thanks again, and thanks for letting us know
that you would stay with us again: it means a lot
to us.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

On arriving by taxi, I asked the driver if he was sure it was the correct hotel, entered from a side street which is the door to reception. Looks a bit rundown from outside but pleasantly surprised once inside. Stayed for 2 nights in a suite which was really nice. Fully equipped kitchen, dining area and lounge with flat screen TV. Separate bedroom and bathroom with bath and shower. As we arrived very early our bags were stored at reception to allow us to check out the area. Across the road and down the side street you are right on South Beach. As we had a kitchen we bought provisions from the local shop for breakfast and had lunch across the road at a small restaurant. Weather wasn't great so didn't use the pool. There is a menu for room service but did not use it. Staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had a short stay in this lovely , restored, Art Deco hotel in the wonderful South Beach area of Miami.
Located on Collins Avanue, it has a perfect location for beach and nightlife lovers, and has many hip bars and restaurants close by, a few small cafés and the Lincoln road restaurant and cafe street is very close. The gorgeous Atlantic Ocean beaches are just a stroll away, and guests at the hotel use the beach facilities of the pleasant Marseiles sister hotel which faces the ocean. ( incidentally the Marseiles offers free wifi in its bar and lobby, a big bonus when travelling.
Rooms at the Dorchester are large,with gorgeous wooden floors, well lit, nicely furnished and have very comfortable beds, though we felt that the bathrooms, whilst retaining certain original features, are rather in need of some attention.
The lobby has lovely deco style furniture , very helpful staff, and a breakfast room offering a decent breakfast menu. Outside there's a lovely pool, surrounded by rattan loungers and chairs, a bar( being renovated during our stay) and an amazing teepee shaped floating bed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here between the 5th October and the 12th October.

The hotel is in an excellent location right on South Beach, a few minutes walk from Lincoln Road and across the road from the beach.

The hotel itself isn't perfect it could do with a refurb but it was clean and we were hardly there so it didn't matter much. The staff there were friendly especially Cynthia one of the receptionist, she helped us out on our last day when our "SuperShuttle" bus failed to turn up - I wouldn't recommend you use Super shuttle, if there are two or more of you book a taxi it works out cheaper.

Every day between 7-8 the hotel bar has a happy hour, where the lovely barmaid makes up a different cocktail everyday for $1, I highly recommend this.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Honeybabez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time
to let us know about your stay at the Diorchester.

We are very pleased that you find our location to
be an excellent spot in South Beach. Most of all,
we are also very happy that you find our property
to be clean and with a friendly staff.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the
event you return to Miami Beach, and best wishes
to you during this holiday season.

Yours,
E, Hewitt
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#82 of 212 in Miami Beach
525 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#133 of 212 in Miami Beach
179 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#134 of 212 in Miami Beach
428 reviews
Collins Hotel
#99 of 212 in Miami Beach
990 reviews
City Center
Greenview Hotel
Greenview Hotel
#164 of 212 in Miami Beach
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: £104 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing