We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dorchester Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$532
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$421
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
US$495
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$471
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
thepalmshotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$404
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,401)
Filter reviews
1,401 results
Traveller rating
226
547
359
150
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
547
359
150
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelsouth beachhappy hourlincoln roadocean driveupgraded to a suitechecking instandard roomnice poolpool area isbeach accessan umbrellafree drinksbeach towelsart decoworcestermarseille
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 1,401 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our recent trip to Florida. The hotel is only average and any extras come at an expensive option - car parking is $29 a night wifi is also an expensive extra. The hotel 'dining room' is only open for breakfast from 7.30 to 11.00 and there are no tea or coffee makers in the bedrooms. The small swimming pool is dirty and there are cigarette ends in the drains around the pool. The cushions on the sun beds are dirty and badly need to be replaced.Overall we were glad to be moving on from this hotel and we will not be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FourCrazyIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron G, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It saddens me to hear that your stay at our hotel was not up to your standards and I would like to personally apologize to you. I understand that the extra $29 may be a lot for parking however many of the neighboring hotels in the area charge more than we do. Also there are other public parking garages and lots in the area that our staff can direct you to that may be better suitable for you. As far as our pool and the area around it, I would also like to apologize to you about it not being anything but exceptional for you and your family.

Sincerely,
Aaron Gusky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our 3 day stay here was pleasant. It is convenient walking distance to much of Miami Beach. The room was pleasantly updated with nice furniture and an A/C that almost worked too well! Parking was never full, and very convenient to the front door of the hotel. The maids did an excellent job of cleaning the room each day.

Even though the beach is across the street, it was no big deal, and they were ready to prepare beach chairs for us and offer us drinks. We did not use the pool, it looked OK. We also did not eat breakfast there, but it also looked to be OK.

There is nothing special about this hotel. We stayed there because it was a less expensive option and we were in MB with a larger group for a wedding. I will say that upon arrival while we waited to check in it was a bit intimidating as the two groups in front of us had their reservations jacked up (by their travel agent, not the hotel) and it was a dramatic scene as they tried to sort it out with the hotel staff in a flurry of high volume Spanish, Arabic, and a couple other languages we did not recognize. Our reservation was ok, but they were oddly strict that I go over to the lobby computer and actually print out my confirmation page for our reservation.

Overall, it was an adequate option, just not the upscale, flashy, brand new look I'd expect from a hotel on the strip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is in a good location for South Beach and a nice stroll to the shopping and restaurant area, the staff are helpful and friendly the room we had was very dated and could have done with a bit of a refurbishment would have asked to be moved if we where there longer than 3 days.
The pool on the other had was disgusting looked as if it had never been cleaned quickly changed my mind and headed for the beach.
We had continental breakfast with coffee nice enough but there did seem a good choice if you wanted to upgrade.
All in all you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinkerbell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron G, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to South Beach. It is awesome to hear that the location of our hotel was a great fit for you. I would also like to add that it is extremely satisfying to hear that the staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful which is something we pride our hotel on. However, it is unfortunate to hear about the pool not being suitable for you as we do have our pool cleaned on a regular basis. We appreciate you staying with us as well as your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.

Best regards,
Aaron Gusky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We only stayed one night, so got a very limited look at the Dorchester. It was very nice aesthetically with a modern reception area/lobby, and our room was very modern, clean, and comfortable. The bed was very comfy and the other furniture and décor of the room was great. The only thing I would say is that the room was not the most spacious, which was fine for us for 1 night, but for a longer stay it might feel a bit cramped. We were located towards the front of the hotel on the Collins Ave side, but we didn't have any issues with noise which had been suggested in previous reviews.
The location is fantastic and is a 5 minute walk to the beach, and around 10 minutes to the bars and restaurants on Ocean Drive. If you want to be close to the centre of all the action of Collins Ave and Ocean Drive then this hotel is a great choice, and is perhaps just far enough towards the quieter end that it doesn't feel like a noisy, party hotel.
The staff were fairly friendly and helpful, although the service at the reception desk could be a little slow and they didn't seem to hurry themselves even when a queue was building. We were expecting to pay a resort fee, however we were not charged one; we were just told on check-in that Wi-Fi cost $15, which we didn't opt for. This may have been as our stay was just the 1 night and wouldn't be surprised if we would have had to pay the fee had we been staying longer.
Parking was available on site which was around $30 for the 24 hours we were there, and we were happy to pay it for one day, but it would become expensive for longer stays. The parking lot isn't too big though, and we were lucky there was an available space.
We didn't use the pool, the bar area or have breakfast there.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and it was convenient for us being able to see South Beach in a limited time. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron G, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to South Beach. We are very pleased to hear all the wonderful things you had to say about our hotel even with the amount of time you stayed with us. It is also fantastic to hear that you would stay with us again in the future. As far as more spacious rooms, we do offer suites which I do recommend for guests with longer stays. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Aaron Gusky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here with my cousins during Memorial Day weekend and everything was great!!! The staff were friendly and very pleasent. The rooms were very modern and clean. I love the fact that my room had a large wall mirror. The front of the hotel is beautiful . I loved it!! And I would deff stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nyasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews