We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL”
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #118 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Had an eleven night stay at the Dorchester great location for wandering round
fantastic staff very clean hotel clean towels everyday. Can get extra towels for
pool or beach no charge. The hotel do a nice breakfast if required as do Sultans across
the street, (typically we went on the last day!!) as people have stated drinks are expensive at the hotel there is a Walgreens close by or a tiny on the next block to the left of the main entrance which sell beers etc. or a much larger liquor store about a block and half to the right of the main entrance. The room was perhaps a little dated but very clean and a fantastically comfortable bed. Fantastic restaurant round the corner El Bodegon 1925 Liberty Ave (literally 2 mins walk from side entrance) recommend by the
staff at the hotel and a great recommend it was, we went at least six times very
good value around $40 with wine and beer we tried steaks, chicken and pasta.
and all was superb. Loved Miami Loved The Dorchester cant wait to come back

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scoobz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2009

Overall this hotel was brilliant value. The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff were fantastic. Shannon and Silvana went out of there way to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay and this was very much appreciated. I would definitely recommend and visit again.

R

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RallyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

My husband and I checked into The Dorchester on Friday, June 19th. I've been researching hotels since January! We are on a budget and this hotel fit our pockets perfectly. The staff is super friendly, the lobby is very chic and the room was very clean. I will say that the pool is small and you definitely have to get there early to get a lounge chair. The bartender was so cool. She bought around small samples of "the drink" of the day which happened to be a pink mojito. It was delicious. The bar is open for happy hour from 7p to 8p but if you're looking to save on alcohol there is a liquor store that is a block away and all of the drug stores have beer, wine, etc. We had a great time! Enjoy...

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasteofjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

The Dorchester suites hotel is ideally located and its staff is very friendly. Unfortunately though having been refurbished recently, we did not find it very clean. The bathroom was very old and noisy, We could heard when the neighbours next rooms were opening the taps somehow like a plane taking off.. Our room was quickly made up, in order words, bed were done, towels were folded but the floors weren't cleaned at all. They charged me a lot of taxes though the hotel was booked by a tour operator (Safe (!), energy, local taxes and 25 USD per day for the parking). I would therefore recommend to park at nearby Convention Center Parking(15 USD a day). For the evenings we went to Lincoln street and Hispanola ways to have supper.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Had a great stay! was there June 4-7, 2009. VERY friendly staff! Rooms very clean. Location is great. If any suggestion, the TVs and bathrooms could use some modernization, but I would recommend this hotel to anyone! My buddies stayed at the Shelley and had the worst stay possible!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japan2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Found this hotel by accident because we were staying in another place across the street that wasn t very good. However wanted to stay in this area in south beach. Staff treated us well. Breakfast buffet was fresh and not too expensive, cozy like a bed and breakfast. Room was cool and very modern, wood floors and lots of white and even a cool leather rocking chair
The was just a tube tv but I saw that they were installing flat screens in other rooms as part of their redesign of the place. Room seemed a bit larger than in other boutique hotels in Miami that i ve seen.
The bar was slick. See the barman, cute., Very entertaining...and loads of free drinks!!! The lucky thing was when l forgot my purse at the pool they returned it to me.....with money still in it!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

I was surprised at the cleanliness of our room. we stayed 4 nights and did not have a problem with towel replacements, not once did we have to ask for clean towels. Nice big pool with shady palm trees and comfortable chaise lounges. The best was the beach across the street and the beach towels they give you. the 4 dollar surcharge for energy was not that big a deal. I felt that a nice touch would be fresh morning coffee and tea, there was none in the room. The refrigerator that comes with the room is fine, just tell them to take out the snacks and drinks and you can store your yogurts, juice and cheese. Oh go to Ali's turkish gyro on 11th street and washington, good food for not too much money. you can feed 2 people with one entree. tell him Mohammed from the dorchester sent you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seagirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#81 of 212 in Miami Beach
525 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#133 of 212 in Miami Beach
177 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#137 of 212 in Miami Beach
428 reviews
Collins Hotel
#99 of 212 in Miami Beach
989 reviews
City Center
Greenview Hotel
Greenview Hotel
#163 of 212 in Miami Beach
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: £104 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing