We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff made it great”
Review of Ocean Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Five Hotel
Ranked #110 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Eugene, OR
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The staff made it great”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

For South Beach, this was a great place to stay.

The room was ok, the location was central, all things that others have written about. The part that is worth raving about is the staff. They made my trip here. There had been some confusion about my reservation due to Expedia. Joshua (sp?) put a lot of energy into sorting it out including following up with me to make sure that I got my refund. Each time that I went to the desk, Andy and Lewis had smiles and were ready to assist me with whatever my needs were. As was the woman whose name I don't know. Their friendliness helped a rainy visit to the beach become a positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEYA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    300
    217
    97
    73
See reviews for
160
371
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. The ONLY good thing about this place is the location. Everything else is absolutely horrible. The staff are rude. You have to walk through a restaurant to get to the rooms. The bed CREAKS HORRIBLY. You couldn't even make one move without it making a massive noise. It was literally the worst sleep me and my fiancé have had in America. If anyone is over 5ft tall then good luck with the shower. It is mounted to a child size height! They also charge $25 for parking on top of the horrible stay. I don't recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micaela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Ocean Five hotel is very well located, right on the ocean drive, but not on the noisy part of it, and right near the beach. you can walk everywhere and enjoy everything Miami Beach has to offer.
Staff at the hotel and restaurant are very friendly and helpful. the rooms have comfortable beds and wooden shades, but the isolation is poorly made. your hear any single person talking next door or in the hall.
Rooms could need some TLC, especially in the bathroom. I visited 2 rooms as I was staying with my friends first and then with my husband: we had first a room in the main building of the hotel on the 2nd floor (205), and then in the restaurant building on the 1rst floor (124).
Room 205: not much space around the beds, good closet, small bathroom with poor shower. view onto the parking lot, which was appreciable because of no vis-a-vis.
Room 124: slightly bigger, smaller closet, looks more renovated, new shower, view onto next door building, so not really possible to let shades wide open.
breakfast is included and was ok but could be more "healthy" with a better choice of breads like whole wheat, multi-grain, and cereals like granolas and all brans flakes.
Also we had dinner once at the restaurant and it was delicious ( nothing to compare with the breakfast!). a must try is their Sardinian Fish Soup!

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms in the restaurant building as the one we had there looked renovated comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofitastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a twin room (2 beds) in all the hotels we pre-booked with Trailfinders on our third world trip.
Our last leg was here & Hotel Five's definition of 'twin' is 'a room with 'one bed for two people'.
So if you DO NOT wish to share a bed with your 'companion', but ok sharing a room, DO check this out first.
The 2 men on the front desk were very helpful & courteous & great fun.
At the quieter end of Ocean drive, away from the street restaurants thankfully.

Room Tip: Room 120 is on the open landing at the top of about 8 steps from the restaurant. It turns out to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wherenext222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwieberdingen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Good location for a fair price. Don't expect anything from the breakfast, but the rate is cheap therefore I don't mind toast with butter
Rooms are really big and clean. Try to stay on the second floor - unfortunately you can hear every step above you.
Andy at the front desk is really nice and always very helpful if we had questions.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank T3UF37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We had the misfortune of staying here twice during our holiday in Miami and the Florida Keys. Virgin described it as 3 star but I'd be surprised if it could muster 1.
The breakfast was derisory, plain white bread, cornflakes, and some old fruit if you are lucky, all served on polystyrene plates with disposable cutlery and cups.

Most of the guests I saw looked like they were going to cry, fortunately the news cafe down the street served a much better breakfast, at a cost but trust me it's worth it just to pick up the spirits if you stayed at Ocean 5!

In our second room the cold water tap didn't work and the shower head had pink mould (the kind that has been proven to cause eczema) all round it.

Be warned about the parking which is a total rip off. It would cost you $10 to park there if you were not staying at the hotel, but because you are you are forced to pay $25 plus tax per night.

It's been a while since I've stayed in such a terrible hotel, Virgin holidays should be ashamed they even offer it. Everyone else be warned, there are do many other hotels to enjoy in SoBe, you could do so much better.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheDrDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very good place.i'm sure that my next time in Miami i will back in Ocean Five hotel.The location is wonderful across the street and you can stay on the beach.Only parking is very espansive but in Miami it's like that

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#79 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#109 of 208 in Miami Beach
856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#182 of 208 in Miami Beach
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Augustine
Hotel St. Augustine
#94 of 208 in Miami Beach
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Five Hotel

Property: Ocean Five Hotel
Address: 436 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6614
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Five Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent Miami Beach location on Ocean Drive, in the Art Deco District, we are steps away from the ocean and South Beach shopping, gourmet dining, a chic nightlife, and miles of golden Atlantic sand beaches. At the same time, here is the surprisingly tranquil area of well-known Ocean Drive, SoFi - South of Fifth. Within our Art Deco setting (origin, 1936) we welcome guests seeking an unpretentious, uncomplicated boutique hotel with attentive service. An Authentic Experience... the Essence of South Beach! Italian travertine marble floors,modern decor. Friendly and professional staff is ready to please our guests, We offer complimentary continental breakfast and WiFi Internet. Conveniently located just 20 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and 15 minutes from the Port of Miami. Italian Restaurant on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 5 Hotel
Ocean Five Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean Five
Ocean Five Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing