We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amateur hour”
Review of Colony Theater

Colony Theater
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amateur hour”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Most of the shows we have seen here have been like an Amateur Hour performance, low budget and low talent. A French revue had 4 or 5 performers of dubitable quality. An opera performance featured a motley chorus that was mostly offkey. Of course, it's inexpensive, so I guess you get what you pay for.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ABClady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a treasure on the beach”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

if you have a chance to catch a show here, go for it. Iconic theatre of SoBe, this is 300-400 seat beautiful theatre. Next to Segafredo so either before or after you can enjoy great cocktails, music and beautiful people. A great way to spend a night on Lincoln Road.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Saw "At Midnight" Live”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The theater is located right on Lincoln Rd which allowed us to enjoy all of the things that has to offer. We watched a show which was great!! I was expecting more Art Deco on the inside, but the theater was small and intimate which I enjoyed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LasolasGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Viva Paris International Show”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Viva Paris Show returns to the Colony Theater during Valentine's Week-end. Producer Erika Moon brings evolution in the production. Can`t wait to attend for this special week-end !
Of course it is not a broadway type of show, it's more like a sneek-Peek of Parisian Moulin Rouge type of show, something new in Miami. I will recommend if you want to have an entertaining evening.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Viva Paris”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We went to see the Paris Review for Valentine's Day. The show was interesting and entertaining, but a bit amateurish. The venue kept seating people for more than 1/2 hour after the production started!! This was very disruptive to the performance!! It was as if they were pulling people in off the street after the show started. They should have had the latecomers wait until one number ended and before the next one started!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank onesweetgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colony Theater also viewed

 

Been to Colony Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing