We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot To Chill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Standard, Miami
Ranked #10 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2011

4th of July poolside at The Standard. Chef Ike and staff were gettin on with the best ribs I have had in a long time. My friends were equally pleased and we had a great time! The dock provided a nice place to sit and enjoy the view of the pool and bay.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
Thank RonBinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,368 - 1,374 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

We recently visited the Standard Hotel in Miami through the Travelzoo website. We were very disappointed with the hotel to say the least. Upon arrival at 5pm to a hotel well misrepresented on-line (appeared more like a youth hostel), we were told our room would be ready 'in a few minutes'. By 6:30pm we returned to the desk upset that we would be missing our dinner reservations.

We then realized they offer no parking- valet only which costs $40/night and takes about 45 minutes to retrieve the car each time. We finally were given room keys to a very small room with a 'spa on the patio' for our inconvenience. The spa on the patio literally was an old bath tub sitting on a small outdoor patio, privacy from your neighbor via shower-like curtains! The room was not located in the garden area but next to an alley way to the front of the hotel.

We had a wonderful dinner at an outside establishment and returned to our hostel-like room to attempt to sleep off a really bad start to our spa experience. We woke up and headed to our $50 valued breakfast. We asked the wait staff what was included and he kindly said whatever you would like- weren't we disappointed when we got the bill for $35 for the 2 meals we ordered (which were not that great anyhow.) We asked what the bill was and he kindly said 'oh the continental breakfast was the 2 pieces of toast and 1 croissant you received with the coffee, the rest is extra!' We were so frustrated we just gave him money and left.

The only plus to the hotel was the spa- but for $150/hour massage I would hope it would be great. The spa staff was completely different than the hotel staff, in a good way. Unfortunately, we will not recommend or return to this hotel. We learned a valuable lesson about on-line deals and were very disappointed by the on-line misrepresentation!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukkat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear ukkat7,
I would like to apologize for your recent experience at The Standard Spa. The promotions we set up are meant to ease travelers and treat them to the service they deserve. I apologize for the lack of communication you received with the promotion and assure you that we have rectified the situation with Travelzoo directly. We hope we see you again at our property soon and offer the service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This hotel's pool area is awesome. The service is not so great so be prepared. Rooms are a bit small but at an off season price who cares? Drinks and food are a bit pricey to make up for that cheap rate. Valet is fast and quick. Hotel staff is nice. Overall a great short nice stay in Miami!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherineiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Me and my husband stayed at this property for one night for my Birthday. I got a great package price over the internet that included some nice Spa credit, comp. breakfast and a late check out at 5pm. We really enjoyed it, but I don't think I would pay regular price for this place.
So the good things were:
The outside gardens with firepit, lounge chairs, ping pong tables and beautiful vegetation.
The pool area with a nice infiniti pool, with a jacuzzi and a cold water pool - all of them we had to ourselves in the middle of the night, which was great. During the day though the pool is really busy.
The spa is really relaxing. I enjoyed a 60 min massage and a 30min scrub in the Hammam - it was awesome and my massage therapist did a great job.
The location - this place is in walking distance of Lincoln Road which is perfect, and the location on one of the Venetian Isles gives the property great views.
Things that need improvement:
The rooms - whereas I don't mind that they are minimalisticly furnished, I do think they need some updating to be a room in a 4 star hotel. The floor looks old and worn out, the outside sitting area is nice, only that we did not have any chairs, all the other rooms had chairs, only our did not. The bathroom could also need a newer look. One of the bathrobes provided had a huge hole. The bed was comfi though. You can hear every time your neighbor closes the door.
The service - in general I think the service is not that of a 4 star hotel as I know it, they just need that little something.
Parking - $37/night - I know it is Miami and pretty much all hotels charge somewhere around the same price, I still think it is ridiculous.

All in all we enjoyed ourselves, and I would definately return to the Spa, probably not to the hotel though.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellalinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear bellalinchen,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay went. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spa and property in addition to spending your birthday with us. I would like to apologize for the condition of the floor in your room and the missing chairs. I promise you this is not a regular finding in our rooms and hope that you will stay with us again! We would love to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The stay at the standard is pleasant functional and peaceful. The grounds are well kept, the staff friendly, the food is excellent. I will return next time I'm in Miami.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebastianUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Because the property is beautiful and the rooms are well designed and decorated, I was willing to overlook the slow service in the restaurant, the small, virtually windowless gym and the room service that, after waiting for over an hour, simply never arrived.

However, that my watch and ring were taken from my room... both of which had significant monetary and, more importantly, sentimental value... there are no words.

I reported this to security and was told that they would look into it. It has been almost a week and I have not heard a word from anyone. I have called almost every day, twice a day since checking out and left messages. None of my calls have been returned.

This experience has been beyond disappointing. It's just heartbreaking.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kthrnmrgrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear kthrnmrgrt,
Thank you for your comments. We hope to rectify this with you as well as perform an investigation. Our Director of Guest Relations will be in contact soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We purchased a "special deal" through Travelzoo.
There were some charges they left out, or did not disclose, that my wife and I felt were very relevant to the overall cost/price. In addition, a couple other things were not what we were led to believe.

First, it said it included breakfast (a $40.00 value).
Nope.
They have a breakfast, but it wasn't "that" breakfast. It was the continental breakfast that was given to us on a plate. Toast and a another item of equal value.

Next, we were told, "no one under 14 is allowed".
Nope.
Children and babies were everywhere.

Next, the parking. Basically, $40.00 per night. We reserved an extra night at the time of booking. We were told that extra nights were $139.00.
Nope. Add the $40.00 for parking.

Both the manager and the desk "person" (at different times) agreed that the parking fees of over $37.00 per night, should have been disclosed in the advertizement/promotion.

Manager said he would have Travelzoo call us.
Nope.
Manger said he would called them again and they said they would call.
Nope.
Asked again to have them call. He said, "he would call them and he was sure they would call me".
Nope, never.

One last thing: They bill themselves as very "Zen" like.
However, we noticed no where to recycle a thing. Plastic, cans and everything else were piled up in the garbage cans. We're not nuts about recycling, but we do at home.
We just thought it was strange that they asked us to "reserve our water usage to protect the planet", but everything goes in the trash.

Be careful of a "wolf in sheep's clothing"

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank udocre82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear udocre82,
Thanks for letting us know your thoughts and concerns. We have addressed all of your comments and take everything sincerely. We apologize for any inconvenience with the special promotion and hope to see you back at the property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,445 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 212 in Miami Beach
327 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Miami Beach EDITION
#11 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,547 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,655 reviews
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 212 in Miami Beach
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Miami

Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £190 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach
The Standard, Miami Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing