We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Birthday Bash!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Standard, Miami
Ranked #10 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special Birthday Bash!”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This was a pit stop to the Keys for a special gathering of family for a special birthday! As I entered the lobby the calm happened immediatley. The front desk was very friendly and expedited my arrival very quick. The grounds were incredible, I was escorted to my room and then it was a wow!!! The room was more than I expected after reading the reviews, I guess eveyone expected the glitz of Miami, this is a SPA, NOT A CLUB IN MIAMI. The room was very serene,clean and fully stocked as any spa hotels are anywhere in the US. After going back on the reviews, I still can't understand how anyone can complain about the service, especially the staff, friendly and very informative about the location and hotel. The staff is exceptional!! I would highly recommend The Standard to all my friends and business associates. Looking forward to my next trip to Miami and The Standard for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postiano11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    371
    142
    99
    83
See reviews for
87
646
214
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I just returned from a 4 night 5 day stay at the Standard and now I don't ever want to stay anywhere else in Miami ever again. The hotel/spa is located on the bay side of Miami Beach and away from the strip (yet not too far if you want to go). The rooms are either on the ground floor or the second and you never feel like you are at some giant, commercial resort. the pool and deck/yard area are quiet with a lot of little nooks to chill out in, plus the restaurant has a nice, healthy menu. the pool itself is my new favorite and with it being on the bay side, sunsets are incredible. the spa has everything you need and is open to all guests. i did not take advantage of any of the treatments (this time). the place is entirely low key, quiet, and generally affordable. the staff leave you alone and if you need something, they bring it right to you with a smile. highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okpdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had planned on seeing a bit more of Miami Beach, but instead we checked in and didn't leave! Loved the Hammam! Spent the late afternoon at the pool, with the best mojitos ever. All you need for the weekend is your bathing suit, robes are provided. Food is great, fresh and organic. It is perfectly fine to wear your robe to dinner, it's actually expected. My kind of vacation! And no cell phone usage on the grounds, a great place to detox from your electronics. The room we stayed in was small but very well designed and sufficient. Mattress could have been softer, but the pillows were fine. The party crowd returned about 2:30 a.m. and there was some brief noise outside on the walkway. We were in an upstairs room facing the courtyard, so foot traffic was right outside our door. The ground floor has a small patio area with with outdoor drapes that would probably buffer some noise.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms would be those facing the opposite of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Bright, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I have stayed at "The Standard Miami" several times and it is truly an oasis in South Beach. My only reluctance in writing this review is that others will find it and spoil the secret. The Standard is truly a secret, one which reveals itself to you in layers, much like a fine piece of art or a classic bottle of wine. First there is the nondescript facade of the property which is unassuming, in fact you might pass by it, but once you find it, you will you be greeted by a private and secluded entry by some of Miami's friendliest and attentive valet and bell staff. This as you will learn is a foundational theme of the property - friendly and attentive.

As you enter the lobby, you may find yourself having to adjust to the minimalist nature of the lobby and lounge areas. Again another secret revealed, The Standard is not pretentious or overbearing, it lets you be you and unlike many other properties in South Beach (many of which I have stayed at) this property feels like home - like your home from the moment you arrive.

As you traverse the double glass doors to the back yard, you are quickly surrounded by tropical fauna that reminds you of a jungle island, miles from anything. Continue to walk and find your room or checkout the pool and awesome views of the bay or Miami's city skyline and cruise ships. By the way the pool is open 24 hours a day...another well kept secret.

If you have a "wet" room you have access to a secluded outdoor tube where you can take long baths with your significant other - or just melt away the hours listening to your tunes on your iPod. I could go on and on, but it would take a novel - the Spa is unbelievable, the gym is top notch for a hotel gym and the food is great. If you really want to go some place that is sexy, erotic and allows you to forget your life this is the place. On second thought, strike that this is too good a place to share...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Gem of a place. Excellent relaxing potential. Great yoga classes too.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zephyrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I would not book a room here ever again, the staff are a bunch of kids that don't speak english, the lobby is a joke, one table and some rocking chairs, the windows were dirty upon arrival, the parking siutaion is terrible, $37 per day to park your car, and it took over an hour to get it back to drive into town and have dinner, they park them off the the premisies. The rooms ,well , they gave us an upgrade because our room wasn't ready, and said that there was a tub on the patio, well, there was a bathtub sitting on some raw cedar deck that was our patio, no nightstands in the roo, , tney use picnic baskets on the floor. The property is very ,very , very run down, an absolutley deplorable situation....The location was horrible, not walking distance to anything, and not even near the beach.... Do not stay here, EVER.. I was shocked at the condition of the property, and level of service.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bsoriano, Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Alexis070,

Thank you for your feedback,
We will use it constructively as we strive to provide optimal service to each and every guest. Please accept my apologies for our inability to provide a memorable and lasting experience. We value your opinion and hope you will return and view us in a different light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

First things first, this is not your typical hotel. So if you enjoy luxury, design service, private hideaways, tranquil surroundings and great views - read on. But if you're someone who doesn't 'get' boutique living then this is not the place for you.

The moment we checked in we were greeted by JC who was basically our private concierge for the entire stay. He knew everything we needed and made it easy to navigate the sometimes over crowded and annoying south beach. Our room wasn't ready 3 hours prior to check-in but he assured us not to worry as he upgraded us to the 'full spread' room which boasts amazing bay views a soaking tub and a private balcony.

The food was divine. With a fusion of spa fare and Mediterranean treats we enjoyed everything from a flower pot of fries and a turkey burger pool side to some of the best Branzino and mussels I've ever had at Lido.

The spa is complimentary with your stay and we enjoyed the warm surface of the hamamam after we relaxed in a soaking tub. The sauna and steam rooms are so relaxing that you literally walk out moving slowly. Once you arrive its important to embrace the sheer romance of standard Miami and let go of the stress of the outside world. My blackberry was locked in a safe for all of the trip and both couples recall this as a trip that did not disappoint.

The Standard is spread out on a spacious part of the island and we'd spend our days lounging by the pools jumping from the water fall hot tub to icy cold plunge pool and then swimming in the main pool which mimics walking into the ocean. We MUST mention that NO CHILDREN and NO CHLORINE (softer salt cleanses pool) made this a pool vacation without screaming children and garbage. Our evenings were spent watching sunset and gathering around the fire pit in well designed lounge beds. One night my girlfriend was the winner of a hula hoop contest.

The staff were all extremely friendly and stopped to have conversations and make sure we were always enjoying our stay.

For the cost I'm over the moon with how great the standard was to us. I've stayed at all of the big hotels on SOBE and still have my favorites but the standard spa offered me an Island retreat that we are happy to come back to. We slept late - ate great food - felt very relaxed and did not break the bank. I've traveled the globe and still think the standard brand knows what they're doing.

Room Tip: Ask for a wet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RasheedjDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,387 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,003 reviews
City Center
No photo provided
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,397 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,100 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Miami

Property: The Standard, Miami
Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Standard, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach
The Standard, Miami Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing