We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Miami -- luxurious spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard, Miami
Ranked #11 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed for three nights and took full advantage of the spa services... great workout room, great steam room, great sauna, great pool. The room was nice, with good AC and a comfy bed, a great shower and wonderful soap/lotion/products in the bathroom. There was noise, though, a lot for a spa... noise outside from people "playing" and noise inside from next door and overhead. Too bad.
The food in the restaurant is quite good, with options for healthy as well as indulgent options. The service is not good. They are polite and nice, but given how many of them there are, it was slooooow. Also, they should step up and correct behavior more. The spa has lots of "rules" which would make it a nice place (like no kids, quiet voices, clean up spaces) but these aren't enforced. The steam room was covered in towels. There were kids pretty much everywhere and the pool area was smoky and noisy.
Overall, a good place. Overpriced, but with good features.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Memo-lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
There are newer reviews for The Standard, Miami
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,286 - 1,292 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

My friend and I booked this hotel on hotwire.com. We were so excited, being that we knew about the "standard" reputation in other cities. Hotwire rated this hotel a 4 star hotel . I ask you on what planet do you have to pull the table off the wall in order to eat in a 4 star hotel??. As stated by numerous other reviews the rooms are small and meet the minimal cleaniness standards. It is NOT a four star!!, may be two1/2. We felt we were seriously misled. I called hotwire, whom of course was no help and told me to talk to the hotel in regards to my issues.

The next morning my friend answered the hotel phone at 8:00am, in which they had informed
her that her car had been in an accident at 4:00am. WE HAD CHECKED into the hotel around 12:30 - 1:00 am!! Keep in mind two valet drivers were in the car?? So many questions, why
didn't they call us at 4:00am when the accident happened, why was two people in the car.???
The good thing is they stepped up and we had a rental by 10am, but after they found out a
loophole in the Florida law, they insisted that my girl friend return the rental, before she could
find another car(she had to wait and see if the insurance was going to total the car, if so then
she had to shop for another) all of which takes time. By the way she is in sales, so she is
dependent on Transportation for her livelihood.
I felt the need to write about this months later because so many of the negative reviews are not being addressed. Answer the questions general manager!! WHY ARE THERE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS OF THEFT OUT OF CUSTOMERS ROOM AND EVEN OUT OF THE SAFE?
Have the in house thieves been caught? Why is the staff still rude and unengaged? Why are
the rooms dingy?(how dare you insult Turkish decor or Scandinavian modernism). These are
the complainants that have been consistently written. In my opinion there are better places to
stay, some of which also have fantastic pools.

Room Tip: There is nothing In the world that I could say to help you pick a good room in this hotel
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pander71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear pander71,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts. We take all comments and concerns seriously and apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are committed in providing a safe, clean and welcoming environment for all. I assure you that each of our guest rooms undergo a thorough inspection before having our guests arrive in their rooms. I truly apologize for the unfortunate situation with regards to the car incident and promise you that our guest needs come before our own. We have addressed your experience with our valet company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Whether you are into natural wellbeing or not, you leave the Standard renewed. A serene setting, an amazing spa and hamam, idyllic pool and service; I was not left wanting for one moment. The location lets you enjoy Miami's best, but keeps you tucked away from the crowds.

Room Tip: Ground units have an open front porch, while upstairs units do not.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroberry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The Standard is a beautiful facility and the perfect place to stay if you want to be close to SoBe but don't want the crowds. Fabulous facilities and food and lovely location.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the bar/restaurant area. We moved as the first room we had was a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micaeljohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We've stayed here a few times and every time it's been a highlight of the holiday. As soon as we walk in the relaxing calm atmosphere is amazing. The rooms are simple but well designed and very comfortable, I'd recommend the ones on the first floor as they tend to be a bit quieter than those on the ground floor.
The pool and surrounding area are great as is the huge spa with Hamman, steam, sauna, and rain showers.
The restaurante is also fantastic, the setting is beautiful on the waters edge and the food whilst not cheap is some of the best we've had.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjohn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Tucked onto Belle Isle (once the JC Penny Estate), the Standard is an oasis just blocks from Lincoln Road and the hustle of South Beach, but with the serenity of a more remote island.

Here, the vibe is relaxed, tropical chic. The hotel is luxurious but low key - offering one of the best pools in south beach, one of the only outdoor restaurants and boasting a spa that has to be seen to be believed. But it's also relaxed: the hotel offers ping-pong and tether ball!

A yoga and health focused spa menu features fresh, organic ingredients throughout. The rooms are on the small side, but are mostly in bungalows which is quite cool. Very comfortable beds and the bathrooms are well appointed. A great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McAliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Where to begin.
I already changed my departure date to get out of here early and cancelled my holiday stay here with the wife.

Came here for a week while we were shooting a commercial nearby. Initially I was excited because of the pool and amenities but besides the pool, there is no reason to come here.

Here are some reasons why.....

1) Caterpillars in the rooms. They know about it and yet they cannot do anything about they say. We are not talking about little ones. We are talking about 2 inch long red things. Pretty embarrassing when two clients check in and find them in their rooms.

2) Valet attendants are horrible. Not all of them but when I call for my car, i expect it to be there in 15 minutes. i don't think that is asking for much. Half of the time they either forgot or miscommunication or something. Of course those were the times that I had an important meeting to attend and the attendants just looked at me like "oops".
We had an urgent meeting to get to so I called well in advance to make sure my car was ready. Of course I walked out and no car. When I angrily asked for my car, the valet attendant didn't apologize but said "give me 4 minutes". When he came back, he honked the car and gave me a look liek he wanted to fight me. Never apologized, didn't hold the door open and he wanted to pick a fight. Seriously? I have eye witnesses because i was with two colleagues. Beware of the angry valet guy with dark hair that works at 530am. How ridiculous is that?


3) Overall, the service at the front desk is snotty. Maybe that is part of their image. For example, I checked in at 5:30 pm on a Sunday. They did not have my room ready. They tried to offer me a free drink until I was ready. After traveling across the country, I expected my room to be ready. AND to top it off, I asked the front desk person "When will it be ready?" and he said "I don't know." Wow. Really? Why is this guy working at the front desk. I could even hear a woman in Spanish complaining to him about his attitude (I understand Spanish) so it wasn't just me.


--------
I will end on a lighter note. There is a manager there named Ben who helped out on some of these instances but it was not enough. I am glad to be leaving this hotel. I am from South Florida originally and it is a shame that they hire people who don't know customer service as well as Ben does.

As for the valet guy who stared me down, good luck to him and to you if you upset him.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AAMurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear AAMurillo,
I am saddened to hear about your recent experience at The Standard Miami. We always listen and value our guest’s feedback as we strive to learn and improve each day. I would like to sincerely apologize for the caterpillars found in your room, I assure you we inspect our rooms thoroughly and these critters are not often found in our rooms. I would also like to apologize for the level of service you received from the valet and front desk team. We will address accordingly and hope you will visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,411 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,479 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 210 in Miami Beach
296 reviews
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 210 in Miami Beach
241 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Miami

Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £163 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Standard, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach
The Standard, Miami Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing