We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Standard, Miami
Ranked #10 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We went here because it was a unique hotel from the pictures, and when we got there at 230am the service was awesome. Even though we stayed there for just one night, the room was huge, it had the view of the water, and the bed was so comfortable! Overall me and my wife had an amazing time, really recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    371
    143
    99
    83
See reviews for
89
652
215
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is an OK hotel in a residential area with rooms somewhat reminiscent of some French autoroute hotels - minimalist decor, foldaway tables etc.
The front desk staff seem to rely on a couple of v e r y slow laptops for check in and out, which can be frustrating. Restaurant food was excellent, if not a bit pricey.
Rather surprised to have to pay $37 per night for the pleasure of having the car moved 50 feet into a nearby residential parking lot. But if I park it there myself, then I would get a ticket!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rich1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Although this hotel has gorgeous views and a chic ambience, some of the front desk staff are not very competent.
The dining staff is a ten! The food is very good.
They do not allow children here, however, the walls are so thin you can hear everything going on out your door.
The rooms are comfortable but small for the price, but the views are worth every penny!
Very Boutique-y......not so "spa-like"
Would return

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank food_lover0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Needs renovation. Spa bare bones. Not sure why there is a lot of hype surrounding this place… though there were "beautiful people" and good eats at the outdoor restaurant. Would def prefer to stay on the beach!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelisaSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed for three nights and took full advantage of the spa services... great workout room, great steam room, great sauna, great pool. The room was nice, with good AC and a comfy bed, a great shower and wonderful soap/lotion/products in the bathroom. There was noise, though, a lot for a spa... noise outside from people "playing" and noise inside from next door and overhead. Too bad.
The food in the restaurant is quite good, with options for healthy as well as indulgent options. The service is not good. They are polite and nice, but given how many of them there are, it was slooooow. Also, they should step up and correct behavior more. The spa has lots of "rules" which would make it a nice place (like no kids, quiet voices, clean up spaces) but these aren't enforced. The steam room was covered in towels. There were kids pretty much everywhere and the pool area was smoky and noisy.
Overall, a good place. Overpriced, but with good features.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Memo-lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, tx
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My friend and I booked this hotel on hotwire.com. We were so excited, being that we knew about the "standard" reputation in other cities. Hotwire rated this hotel a 4 star hotel . I ask you on what planet do you have to pull the table off the wall in order to eat in a 4 star hotel??. As stated by numerous other reviews the rooms are small and meet the minimal cleaniness standards. It is NOT a four star!!, may be two1/2. We felt we were seriously misled. I called hotwire, whom of course was no help and told me to talk to the hotel in regards to my issues.

The next morning my friend answered the hotel phone at 8:00am, in which they had informed
her that her car had been in an accident at 4:00am. WE HAD CHECKED into the hotel around 12:30 - 1:00 am!! Keep in mind two valet drivers were in the car?? So many questions, why
didn't they call us at 4:00am when the accident happened, why was two people in the car.???
The good thing is they stepped up and we had a rental by 10am, but after they found out a
loophole in the Florida law, they insisted that my girl friend return the rental, before she could
find another car(she had to wait and see if the insurance was going to total the car, if so then
she had to shop for another) all of which takes time. By the way she is in sales, so she is
dependent on Transportation for her livelihood.
I felt the need to write about this months later because so many of the negative reviews are not being addressed. Answer the questions general manager!! WHY ARE THERE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS OF THEFT OUT OF CUSTOMERS ROOM AND EVEN OUT OF THE SAFE?
Have the in house thieves been caught? Why is the staff still rude and unengaged? Why are
the rooms dingy?(how dare you insult Turkish decor or Scandinavian modernism). These are
the complainants that have been consistently written. In my opinion there are better places to
stay, some of which also have fantastic pools.

Room Tip: There is nothing In the world that I could say to help you pick a good room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pander71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard, Miami, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear pander71,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts. We take all comments and concerns seriously and apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are committed in providing a safe, clean and welcoming environment for all. I assure you that each of our guest rooms undergo a thorough inspection before having our guests arrive in their rooms. I truly apologize for the unfortunate situation with regards to the car incident and promise you that our guest needs come before our own. We have addressed your experience with our valet company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Whether you are into natural wellbeing or not, you leave the Standard renewed. A serene setting, an amazing spa and hamam, idyllic pool and service; I was not left wanting for one moment. The location lets you enjoy Miami's best, but keeps you tucked away from the crowds.

Room Tip: Ground units have an open front porch, while upstairs units do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroberry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,400 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,439 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
287 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#38 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,620 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Miami

Property: The Standard, Miami
Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Standard, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach
The Standard, Miami Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing