We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect "staycation"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Standard, Miami
Ranked #10 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I live in Miami and booked this hotel as a surprise staycation with my boyfriend. It exceeded my expectations in every way. We didn't leave the hotel, enjoyed the spa, and ate every meal there. I have to say that the service is excellent. This is one of the few places in Miami where everyone is friendly. From the pool staff to Shane, our awesome bartender, to the wait staff in the restaurant and front desk, everyone was super friendly. I can't wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: I preferred the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strevisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Through work relationships I have had the fortunate chance of staying here at least once a year for the last seven years. This past weekend got a chance to finally be here for a personal stay (even though all my work trips here were made to be enjoyed at this property!), as well as to introduce my wife to the scene. So great to see so many of the same friendly faces year after year; the property is a vacation on its on right for being on vacation in Miami. I can, and have, and did, spend all day at the pool, alternating between ordering their specialty cocktails, taking a swim (or listening to the underwater speakers) in their ocean style pool, taking a dip in their 57F Plunge Pool (a quick sober up) or their Roman Bath fountain, and of course their delicious grill menu. Oh, may I add that it is 17 or older to be in the pool areal, so no crying babies or kids running around (not a parent yet)! the rooms are great for what they are, cabana style if you will - but its the environment that they create that keeps you out of the room and outdoors on site. I've said it over and over, this is my favorite hotel in my Miami.

Room Tip: get an outdoor soak tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I love the Standard in South Beach! I have been "treating myself" for the past few years for my birthday, a perfect excuse to get down to the beach! The over all experience is so chill and calming! The room is clean and relaxing, the gardens are beautiful and sunset at the pool with a cocktail is amazing! I have to admit I love the "no kids" policy, it works for me :) The staff is nice and friendly. The spa is totally chill & the coed factor is very sexy! I'll be back in October for another relaxing weekend at the Standard South Beach :)

Room Tip: I like the king size rooms on the 2nd floor with the garden view the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had the best time staying here!! The property and rooms are very well maintained and beautiful. The setting is relaxed and quiet, away from more of the crazy club scene of South Beach. The staff was all wonderful and very friendly. Food and drink options were bountiful and very well executed. I would highly recommend the Standard to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaBrown313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Okay I love Miami and South Beach but the Standard gives you the best of both worlds. It's like a sanctuary from the craziness and crowds of South Beach....but SOBE is just a five minute walk away and downtown is an easy five minute drive. This was the first time I'd actually stayed at this hotel (even though it had been recommended to me many times). It will definitely not be my last.

I love the garden setting. I had one of the least expensive garden-level rooms and it was fabulous. It's a little on the small side but so are most of the historic hotels in Miami. And I had a great little patio with my two chairs and a wrap around curtain for privacy. The gardens are lovely -- lots of hidden areas and cool places to sit -- and the huge pool is gorgeous, right on Biscayne Bay. Most of the Miami Beach hotel pools are set back from the beach and have no view but this pool has an amazing view. I had just stayed at an expensive high-rise hotel on the beach and the pool was claustrophobic and the house music never stopped pumping. This was the opposite but it was still a Miami experience-- beautiful people, great style, fabulous amenities.

I participated in a yoga class and got the Sonic massage and a facial in the spa but didn't have enough time to enjoy the various amenities of the spa beyond that. I will definitely leave time for that next visit. Also next visit will be a meal at the Lido restaurant which has that same Biscayne Bay view. Gorgeous.

The staff were all wonderful from the valet to the front desk to the bellman who took time to give me a tour of the property. The spa staff were also amazing. I never got that feeling, like I sometimes get in other hotel spas, that they don't really care about giving you good service, they'll never see you again anyway. Everyone at the Standard spa treated me like I was a regular longterm client.

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Come here for a completely magical Miami experience.

Room Tip: I loved the garden level rooms with the small outdoor patio. Don't miss the sunrise yoga!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonRoseFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I just returned from my 2nd stay at the Standard Hotel in Miami Beach
The hotel, the staff and the location makes you feel like you are on an amazing retreat, its a true vacation. The hotel itself is very clean, the common areas are wonderful, pool is super relaxing, outside bar very laid back chic, and the staff is so sweet and accommodating
especially Alex at the front desk. We first met Alex when he brought our bags to the room and he had such a warm smile. Then we met him down in the lobby many times after that and he was very nice and also very helpful. He gave us some wonderful tips.
also, Crispy was very helpful before i even checked in. We emailed back and forth a couple of times. We are planning another trip to Miami in September and will sure book the Standard for our stay. Our only complaint if i must give one is the restaurant. We really wish the menu had more options (for dinner).
We were here from June 12 to the 16, 2014

Room Tip: dont stay on the walkway to the pool -- too much action try to stay upstairs (2nd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at the Standard this past week with a friend. The staff could not have been friendlier and more accommodating throughout our stay, including letting us use the pool and spa area/locker room after check out due to our evening flight departure. The amenities of the hotel including the pool, spa, fitness center and steam room were impressive and had a very relaxing vibe. My only complaint is the price of the juice shop - $14 for a small green juice, eek! Either way, will definitely be staying at the Standard Miami for all future trips down to Miami Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,443 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 212 in Miami Beach
325 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,670 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,649 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 212 in Miami Beach
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Miami

Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £188 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Standard, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach
The Standard, Miami Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing