We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sense of vintage but full of comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Standard, Miami
Ranked #10 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Distrito Federal
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A sense of vintage but full of comfort”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Everything in this hotel is made for your relaxation, from the quiet rooms incluiding an outdoor tube, to the delicious-natural-organic-fresh food served in the restaurants, and all the open-door areas. Take a yoga class, get a natural smoothie from the juice bar, eat delicious seafood.
The hotel is located a little far away from the main attractions in Miami, but features a nice view to the beach. Service is prompt and friendly.
Rooms are small, clean, and feature a nice bathroom. Everything in this place seems to have been built 40 years ago, but still modern, very clean and comfy. If you look for busy, vibrant Miami go stay somewhere else. If you're looking for a nice retreat full of relaxation, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tza2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    371
    142
    99
    83
See reviews for
87
647
214
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Standard for three nights and two days. We had a wonderful time, to say the least! We used the spa for massages, a pilates class, and the amazing hydrotherapy amenities. I can not say enough good things about the spa. I only wish we had had more time to play there! The hotel was also wonderful and the staff was friendly and accommodating the entire time we were there. The spa/hotel felt like a resort without all of the annoyances of a resort. We loved that we never had to leave the hotel for food, drinks, or even ice cream. It really added to the relaxing nature of the trip.
The only reason I gave the hotel a "Very Good" and not "Excellent" is because the weekend was so crowded. It was difficult to get a seat at the pool and dinner required a reservation. When we go back, we will probably only visit on the weekdays. Regardless of this, we had the most amazing stay and we're looking forward to making it an annual event!

Room Tip: Rooms on the center courtyard are louder. The smallest room available fit two people perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

There are many great hotels on Miami Beach but many of them have the same look and feel. The Standard has taken an 'old' 1950s motel and transformed it into a special place.

It starts with attention to detail at the front desk. The reception group is attentive and offer to escort you to your room. From the outside the rooms seem a bit 1950 ish but inside they are nicely appointed and clean. It is spacious enough and private. The bathrooms have been outfitted with new updated fixtures, there is a well stocked bar and Frig.

The great part of the property is a very large pool located on the intercoastal way. The pool also has a waterfall hot tub. After taking a few laps, you can move over to the bar/restaurant. The bartender will mix up the usual and some unusual drinks as well while you watch the sunset. The pool is open 24 hours so it is great for a midnight or early morning dip.

I missed out and understand the SPA area is great. That is located on the third floor.

Breakfast is great as well which can be served in the restaurant or just outside the lobby. A nice change from the standard Miami Beach hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobmobilelime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I had such a great time. The entire staff is friendly. Especially Joana, from day one of my trip I felt like she really took the time to take care of me. She was so attentive and made delicious recommendations about both the food and what drinks I should try. I looked for her every day to take care of me. She really made a difference in my overall stay at the Standard.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lopez3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The Standard Miami is a beautiful hotel. The facilities are top notch and I have never stayed anywhere with such good service. The staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was relaxing. The view from the pool is stunning and the rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. I will definitely be staying here again I had a fantastic trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JadeH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

As all Standard hotel, the room are very simple, almost too much... But still, great ambiance, cool pool, amazing seafront restaurant.
The location is perfect as not really in the crowd of Miami Beach but still closed from everything
Nice spa/gym

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on second floor (more intimacy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have stayed at The Standard a number of times recently for business, and a little fun too. It all begins at the Front Desk with Taryn. She is an exceptional, positive and unique member of The Standard staff. Her lovely wit and personality, her attention to detail and her great attitude are why The Standard is our first hotel of choice in Miami. Thank you Taryn and all the staff for making The Standard so amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filmmaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,387 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,010 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,399 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#7 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,102 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Miami

Property: The Standard, Miami
Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Standard, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach
The Standard, Miami Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing