We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is not their priority!”
Review of Hotel Victor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Victor
Ranked #81 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service is not their priority!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I arrived with a one-night CONFIRMED reservation on 4/5. We were advised that our reservation was canceled without reason or notice to us! We flew in from NJ for a triathalon the next day.Their Manager, Cree was less than hospitable (down-right rude!) and completely useless. Offered no explanation or assistance in helping displaced guests find accommodations on a sold-out weekend!! Nobody could explain why our reservation was canceled. I emailed the reservations Director to which I received one phone call and never heard back. I left messages for the general manager and no call back either. Needless to say, they oversold the hotel (that is customary hotel procedure) and canceled our reservation (NOT CUSTOMARY). The service (or lack thereof) received at the hands of the "manager" Cree (I use the term "manager" loosely because she was rude, obnoxious and condescending and MANAGED NOTHING!). She was neither apologetic or empathetic! She pointed to the lobby computers and said she was helping us by letting us use the computer to find another room! She went as far as putting her computer screen on the desk several times to show us the canceled reservation. She couldn't understand our basic complaint--WE DID NOT CANCEL IT! Had a reservation confirmation, as well as confirmed via phone by my husband a few days prior.

Needless to say DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL IN PEAK SEASON! This must be their motto because I have not received an apologetic word FROM ANYONE in their organization.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    277
    107
    58
    77
See reviews for
125
486
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hotel Victor has the best location for any hotel in South Beach. Located directly next door to the Versace Mansion, Hotel Victor is on of a few hotels I visit when in Miami. This was my second visit to Hotel Victor. The updates to the property were done in great taste. The complimentary breakfast, wifi, bikes, etc. were all great perks to my stay, but they do come at a price. Beware you will have a $22 daily charge that is not discussed during the reservation process. Outside of that, I would recommend trying this beautiful property out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are glad that you were able to see our transformation post renovations six month ago. It was great having you here with us; we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed in the Victor for 6 nights great hotel on a perfect location on South Beach really did liked the rooms they were spacious and had some good daily breakfast with lots of food to choose, great pool with a great view also the spa/gym were really nice to visit.

Special thanks to Iala and Signe (staff at reception) for their excellent service during my stay - they were really nice and were true professionals i would definitely come back and recommend this hotel to all my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dynamicable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for recognizing Iala and Signe, two of our amazing associates. Our staff and the service they give sets the stage for a memorable stay. We cannot wait to welcome you back again on your next visit to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I picked this boutique hotel based on a great deal I scored on Jetsetter. Our room was to include two double beds and face the pool. Upon arriving with my two other girlfriends, we were very happy with the rustic chic interior - the hotel really is beautiful. You will also have access to iMacs in the center of the lobby as well as stationary. Check-in was prompt. I can't say that we were warmly greeted - in fact the same front desk receptionists were big on smirks - but we didn't let that kill our joy. When we arrived at our room we were pretty furious discovering that it was the size of a closet. It would have worked for two but definitely not three. We did make Jetsetter aware that there would be three guests so we didn't understand the screwup. We were directed to speak with Cree, the hotel manager, and although the conversation took some work for us to get on the same page, we were moved to a bigger suite. This one didn't have direct access to the pool but it was bigger, and we did have a balcony. Grateful that worked out. Our rate also included free breakfast which was a huge plus (side note: the OJ is ridiculously good) and of course free access to the pool and its cabanas. Cree made sure to say hello and check on us when she saw us around the hotel which I appreciated. We did get spa treatments and there was a huge malfunction with the shower (no hot water) that could not be fixed. I was given a discount on the treatments but considering what happened I felt that they should at least given me 40-50% off. It pretty unacceptable to shepard guests through a scrub treatment without water. You live and you learn. Check out was smooth with a cab waiting for me as soon as I stepped out of the hotel. Overall, I would recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahira N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
It was great having you here with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit overall and we hope to see you again on your next visit to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The hotel was a perfectly located botique hotel in South Beach. The accomodations are contemperary and very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoied the pool and walking on South Beach. Overall a fun experience for our first time in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morty1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your first visit to South Beach. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay; we would love to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a very lovely South Beach hotel. The facilities are incredible down to the small details. The staff members we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is great. It's a bit loud during the day and evening, but quited down by midnight. Beach access is very easy. I only wish they still had their contract with the beach chair/umbrella vendors across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you prefer less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Victor for 3 nights. Very stylish and very helpful charming staff. Our room a King Suite was not a suite and quite a small room with large open plan bathroom ( sliding opaque doors if you want privacy). Very comfortabel bed and large wardrobe. Had to ask for more hangers but they brought them straight away. Lovely pool area but could do without the piped music. Just be aware it is on Ocean Drive which is VERY noisy. Although in room fine as windows block out the noise and we faced the side of the building next door to loud gay bar!! Fun having a drink on outside terrace on the street people watching. If you want a bit more peace the upstairs terrace is great for lounging although the bar up there closes quite early. Borrowing the free bikes was a great way to explore South Beach. Beach just across the road is lovely but can get crowded at the weekends. We dumped the car and although had to go north for a party
(expensive taxi ride) we didn't need a car to stay in South Beach area. ALL the restaurants/bars on Ocean Drive have music blaring out but try restaurants on Espanola Way. Lovely Italian and bistro. Or The Tides Hotel on Ocean Drive 2 mins away which has a lovely terrace and is quiet! All in all I would certainly recommend this hotel especially as we got a great deal from Booking.com.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 197SophieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review it was great having you here with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Tides South Beach
#64 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,169 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#45 of 208 in Miami Beach
536 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,481 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,892 reviews
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#109 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor

Property: Hotel Victor
Address: 1144 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4609
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#59 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Victor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on South Beach’s famed Ocean Drive, Hotel Victor offers the ultimate in style and luxury to Miami’s traveling elite. Steps from beautiful Miami Beach, this iconic hotel originally opened in 1936 and was restored in 2013, by renowned designer Yabu Pushelberg. Hotel Victor’s lavish interior aesthetic artfully complements the architecture of its storied past, while providing guests’ their heart’s desire in state-of-the-art comforts. Hotel Victor’s labyrinth of facilities will tempt all to relax in true South Beach style, whether it be in the large, lofty lobby, on the two floors of sophisticated lounge space, or poolside, on the sunbathing deck. The hotel’s premium amenities include SpaV, a 6,000 square foot subterranean oasis of rejuvenation; open-air Vue Bar and Lounge, also designed by Jacques Garcia; as well as approximately 6,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor upscale meeting space. Hotel Victor is the perfect choice for any South Beach Miami leisure escape, event, or business destination. •Custom made furniture by Yabu Pushelberg•24 hour Concierge Service•On-site Spa•Year round access to 2nd floor Pool and lounge• 24 hours Business Centre• WiFi Access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Victor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Hotel Miami Beach
Hyatt Miami Beach
Hotel Victor Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing