We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa V - Spa review only, not hotel guest”
Review of Hotel Victor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Victor
Ranked #81 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
aaronlife
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spa V - Spa review only, not hotel guest”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I decided to try the groupon for the couples massage. This was our first time to Spa V. We arrived about 30-45 minutes early so we could relax in the steam room. The front desk person was very nice, as was the booking person over the phone. The lights were dim and she raised the lights without even being asked to help my wife see to fill in the guest form.

The groupon was supposed to include two glasses of prosecco, but they were out of that, so the front desk person told us the manager was giving us an extra 15 minutes of massage, which was great...

Perhaps because we arrived a little after 5PM, we had the steam room to ourselves. It was nice that the steam room was clothing optional, like in Europe, it is much for comfortable and hygienic. The only thing missing was a shower, you have to take a short walk back to the locker room if you want to take a cold shower, before returning to the steam room, but they are limited on space, and I can't see where they could install a shower where it wouldn't cause issues.

The couples massage was excellent. I had Martina. I haven't had many massages, but I have to say this was the best massage I have had. She used a variety of techniques, some of which I was familiar with, others I wasn't, and the variety was nice, and they were all effective. The pressure was perfect, and highly effective, I felt very relaxed afterwards, and noticed walking that my hips were much more limber. My wife had Ramon and said he was very good as well, using different techniques.

I would say my only wish would have been for more time, so I could have had more massage, to really get into the areas that needed more attention, and areas that there wasn't time for, or aren't a part of the normal routine (upper pecs, abdominals, etc.). I think 2 hours would have been good.

Another reviewer mentioned there weren't sheets. We had heavy sheets that we crawled under when we first got into the room, and then we remained covered and draped the entire time, except for the area being worked on. It was all very conservative. I suppose this keeps the client's modesty secure, but at first I was too hot from being in the steam room to go right under a sheet. Later I didn't mind it, though I think I would prefer a large towel for draping, so my skin could breathe more.

Everything seemed clean. The cool down room had water, tea, and apples. They have an interesting spa menu. I would return...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for visiting our Spa; it is a great hideaway with amazing services and ambience. I am glad that you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    271
    107
    58
    76
See reviews for
125
473
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Recently stayed 3 nights with friends at the Victor. The level of service was exceptional, particularly the pool attendants and Marcelis, the Meeter and Greeter who went the extra mile to help us all.
The only downside being the lack of restaurant and bar, which was being refurbished during our stay. Also unlike most of the beachfront hotels, the Victor does not offer complimentary beach loungers! We were not aware of these before our stay.
Apart from this great fun hotel.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms by the pool are great if you are with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas722013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review and recognition of Marcelis and our pool attendants. As you have mentioned, we are about to open a new restaurant, “Sugar Factory” within the coming weeks. We are very excited as this will be a great addition not just to our hotel but the entire area here on Ocean Drive. We hope that you will return soon! to see the amazing transformation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is located right on the beach. The view was amazing. The restaurants below made the place lively and it was very entertaining. Could be a little noisy at night as it is on such a busy street but overall it was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nish1484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write a review. It was great having you here with us we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have stayed in this hotel 4 times over the past 3 years and each time we watch it decline, the only reason we returned was the fabulous bar and live music from the South American duo, however, they are not there, nor is the bar, restaurant or anything that is worth staying here for. When we arrived, despite booking 6 months ago, the hotel didn't have our reservation and when we produced a copy of the confirmation they still didn't believe us. We had booked a suite and the receptionist said she couldn't believe the rate we had $525 and we'd have to start with a new booking, we asked what this rate would be and she said more like $750. We settled at $525 and we're made to feel grateful, so imagine how we felt when we got to our room and found out the rate on the hotels own website was $405! After many calls when we were continually told the manager wasn't available they finally agreed on $405. Breakfast is in edible and bordering on unsafe, rancid butter, bacon overlooked and swimming in oil and scrambled egg so rubbery you could play football with it. The ambiance is gone, no bar no restaurant no movie channel. It is 3 star with 5 star prices and to top it all, we we're told check out was 11am and after much bartering finally agreed at 1pm and the hotel was virtually empty. There is little to no service in this hotel and the owners need to seriously evaluate where they are going or hand over the franchise to travel lodge. The bar next door thumps out loud music very late but on a one positive note the bedding is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizcunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and observations, it is important to us. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you encountered during your visit with us. I looked into your booking issue and learned that we accepted the confirmation that you presented at check-in, for a booking that was made over six months ago, at a rate of $512.10 per night. After check-in, I understand that you discovered a lower rate, on a website and then asked to have your rate changed. Your request was brought to my attention and was honored immediately. I am sorry that we were unable to provide a later check-out to you; it is only out of consideration for arriving guests, especially at 100% occupancy. Hotel Victor has undergone some major changes from your last visit 3 years ago. We renovated a little over six months ago and is about to open two restaurants here on property. These new additions will give our hotel that atmosphere that you have mentioned that you’ve missed, as well as great dining options for our guests. We have made some amazing changes! and trust that you will return to experience this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for 1 week at the Hotel Victor and had a great stay..Wonderful view of ocean from our Balcony Room,excellant friendly helpful stay (namely Signe and Marcelis)..
Great location to enjoy the Night life of Miami Beach..

Room Tip: Worth the extra to have a Balcony Room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recognizing Singe and Marcelis, two of our amazing associates. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us, we cannot wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Spent 4 nights at Hotel Victor and had a overall GREAT stay. The staff in all areas were very friendly and helpful. Since our flight was not until later that evening, when checking out, Marcelis took care of myself and my husband. He made sure even though we were officially checked out of the hotel, he still made us feel comfortable with holding our bags, arranging a cab to pick us up that evening, and allowing us to change into our "flying" clothes in the spa changing rooms for our flight back to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recognizing Marcelis, one of our amazing! Bellman. It was great having you here with us, I am glad that you enjoyed your visit, we can’t wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Last week we spent 4 nites in Hotel Victor... great place .. absolutely renovated property ... eveything is in mint condition ...loved the new European contemporary style ...Central location of this hotel also makes it a hotel of your choice. I have to admit we did have a very good Travelzoo promotion ... that gave us discounted rate and waived all additional daily charges .
The staff was very helpful and friendly ... the response time as practically minutes and you do not need to ask again and again for any service.
Absolutely will stay in this hotel again...

Room Tip: I think all the rooms very renovated .. u can ask for a room that specifically has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen06_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was great having you here with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and all the great amenities that we have to offer. Yes, our hotel underwent renovations a little over six months ago; we are excited about the changes especially our new restaurant “Sugar Factory” which is scheduled to open within the coming weeks. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Tides South Beach
#69 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Dream South Beach
#58 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor

Property: Hotel Victor
Address: 1144 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4609
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#59 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Victor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on South Beach’s famed Ocean Drive, Hotel Victor offers the ultimate in style and luxury to Miami’s traveling elite. Steps from beautiful Miami Beach, this iconic hotel originally opened in 1936 and was restored in 2013, by renowned designer Yabu Pushelberg. Hotel Victor’s lavish interior aesthetic artfully complements the architecture of its storied past, while providing guests’ their heart’s desire in state-of-the-art comforts. Hotel Victor’s labyrinth of facilities will tempt all to relax in true South Beach style, whether it be in the large, lofty lobby, on the two floors of sophisticated lounge space, or poolside, on the sunbathing deck. The hotel’s premium amenities include SpaV, a 6,000 square foot subterranean oasis of rejuvenation; open-air Vue Bar and Lounge, also designed by Jacques Garcia; as well as approximately 6,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor upscale meeting space. Hotel Victor is the perfect choice for any South Beach Miami leisure escape, event, or business destination. •Custom made furniture by Yabu Pushelberg•24 hour Concierge Service•On-site Spa•Year round access to 2nd floor Pool and lounge• 24 hours Business Centre• WiFi Access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Hotel Miami Beach
Hyatt Miami Beach
Hotel Victor Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing